Robin M. (robinmy) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 1328 - Page:
22 Indigo Place
22 Indigo Place
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 4/6/2008


This book was almost painful for me to read. I usually like Sandra Brown's books, but the heroine was just too unbelievably dumb and naive. I'll chalk this up to being early in Sandra Brown's career. Her later books are definitely better.


24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 344
Review Date: 8/28/2005


Dr. Will Jennings is attending the annual physician's conference when he is approached by a woman with a gun. She tells him that his six-year-old daughter has been kidnapped and his wife is being held at their home by Joe Hickey. Joe wants money and has a plan to get that money that has not failed him yet. He will check in with the woman every half hour. If Will or his wife, Karen, do not cooperate, their daughter will be killed. Joe knows this is the perfect plan. He has used it successfully several times and none of his victims have ever talked to the police. But this is the first time he has met Will and Karen Jennings.

Edge of your seat suspense. I was totally engrossed in this story and didn't know how the Jennings were going to get their daughter back. My rating: 4.5 Stars.


The 9th Girl (Kovac / Liska, Bk 4)
The 9th Girl (Kovac / Liska, Bk 4)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 11/16/2014


Detectives Sam Kovac and Nikki Liska are called out on a New Years Eve murder. A teenage girl's body popped out of the trunk of a car after hitting a pothole. Not only is she hit by the next car on the freeway, but her body has been burned with acid and stabbed repeatedly. It looks like a serial killer named Doc Holiday has struck again. Kovac and Liska work to discover who the teenager is and where she came from. They find that unlike most of Doc Holiday's victims, she is a local girl and a friend of Liska's son, Kyle. As the Detectives question Kyle and the last people who saw Penelope Gray, Kovac and Liska begin to think they may be looking at the wrong suspect.

I was so glad to see Kovac and Liska back for another book. Hoag gives us a gripping storyline that kept me glued to the book. My only problem is it felt the book ended abruptly...like the author was in a hurry to wrap up the story. My rating: 4 Stars.


About That Night (FBI / U. S. Attorney, Bk 3)
About That Night (FBI / U. S. Attorney, Bk 3)
Author: Julie James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 12/2/2015


Kyle Rhodes is surprised to find Assistant U.S. Attorney Rylann Pierce appear at his court hearing. Kyle and Rylann had a memorable meeting nine years ago, but fate had intervened and they lost contact. Now after being convicted for shutting down twitter and serving a short stint in Federal prison, Kyle (aka: The Twitter Terrorist) is ready to get on with his life and put the whole thing behind him. But Rylann contacts him about something he witnessed while in prison. He is not happy to be helping the U.S. Attorneys with their case, but does jump on the chance to see Rylann again.

This is a cute contemporary romance. Kyle was introduced in the previous book in the series and I really liked him. I was happy to see that this book was about him. I think he was a great hero, a guy who could laugh at his own mistakes. Rylann was a likable heroine. Their banter was very entertaining and kept me glued to the book. There wasn't a lot of angst in this story which suited me. I would have liked to see a little bit of suspense in this book like there was in the previous books, but this one was 100 percent romance. My rating: 5 Stars.


Above And Beyond (Silhouette Series)
Above And Beyond (Silhouette Series)
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/6/2006


Nice story.


Absolute Trouble (Avalon Investigations, Bk 1)
Absolute Trouble (Avalon Investigations, Bk 1)
Author: Michelle Jerott
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 12/18/2009


Former cop Dulcie Quinn is asked by her ex-partner to keep an eyewitness in protective custody on her small houseboat. She doesn't expect the witness to be a sexy man in a G-string.

This is a nice "cabin" romance. I started out enjoying the story of Dulcie & Julian, but the second half of the book became a little too predictable for me. My rating: 3.5 Stars.


Absolutely, Positively
Absolutely, Positively
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 5/20/2011


Molly Abberwick is frustrated with the consultant she hired to approve grants through her late father's foundation. Dr. Harry Stratton Trevelyn has read hundreds of proposals and has rejected every one. Molly finds him impossible to work with, except for the fact that he is brilliant, sexy, and has asked her on a date. Harry has his own problems. He is caught between the two sides of his family...trying to keep the family feud from getting out of control. As Molly and Harry get to know each other better, Molly becomes the target of a stalker. It's up to Harry to figure out what is going on before things get violent.

This is a contemporary romance that has Krentz' usual hero and heroine with their wacky family members. I had a hard time warming up to the characters and was bored with the story. It was very slow paced. My rating: 2 Stars.


The Accident: A Thriller
The Accident: A Thriller
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 5/30/2014


Glen Garber is horrified to find out his wife, Sheila, was killed in an accident on the way home from night school after driving drunk up an interstate off-ramp. Since this was totally uncharacteristic behavior by his wife, Glen vows to trace Sheila's last hours and find out what drove her to drink. Still reeling from the news, Glen and his daughter, Kelly, are once again shocked when they find out Sheila's friend, Ann Slocum, was killed in a drowning accident. Glen finds that Sheila and Ann had been selling knock-off purses and pharmaceuticals in order to make money for their families. As he investigates Sheila's movements through the last day of her life, Glen begins to wonder if her death was an accident or murder.

Wow! This book was a non-stop roller coaster ride with lots of twists I didn't see coming. I stayed up late to finish this one because I couldn't put it down. This is the first book I've read by this author, but it won't be my last. My rating: 5 Stars.


Acts of Malice (Nina Reilly, Bk 5)
Acts of Malice (Nina Reilly, Bk 5)
Author: Perri O'Shaughnessy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 7/30/2005


This is the 5th book in the Nina Reilly series and it is one of the best.


Adam's Fall (Mason Sisters, Bk 2)
Adam's Fall (Mason Sisters, Bk 2)
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 7/1/2007


Classic Sandra Brown! This is one of her best.


The Admiral's Bride (Tall, Dark and Dangerous, Bk 7)
The Admiral's Bride (Tall, Dark and Dangerous, Bk 7)
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 12/31/2006


Another great book in Brockmann's Tall, Dark & Dangerous series!


After All (Cassidy Family, Bk 1)
After All (Cassidy Family, Bk 1)
Author: Jill Marie Landis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 11/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Very entertaining western romance. This is the first in the series.


After Caroline
After Caroline
Author: Kay Hooper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 9/1/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Good romantic suspense story.


After the Fire (Hidden Cove Firefighters, Bk 1)
After the Fire (Hidden Cove Firefighters, Bk 1)
Author: Kathryn Shay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 12/31/2006


First book in Shay's firefighter trilogy. Excellent!


After the Night
After the Night
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 261
Review Date: 8/6/2006


As a child, 14-year-old Faith Devlin was fascinated with LSU Quarterback Gray Rouillard. Faith and her family lived in a shack on the edges of the Rouillard property. Gray knew where they lived, but really didn't pay much attention to Faith or her family. But when Faith's mother ran away with Gray's father, leaving the Rouillard family on the verge of bankruptcy, Gray was livid. With the help of the sheriff, he ordered the family off of his land and out of town.

Now it is 12 years later and Faith's life has changed. She is no longer the dirt poor child living in a shack. She is educated, owns her own business, and is moving back to her hometown. When Gray gets wind that one of the Devlins is back, he quickly makes move to get rid of her. But Faith is here to stay. She has come back with the knowledge that her mother never left town with Guy Rouillard. In fact, Guy's body is probably buried close by. Faith is determined to find out what exactly happened that fateful night, even when she is receiving threats about her safety.

This book certainly kept me entertained. Faith is a strong character who made a good life for herself in spite of her family. I liked her and felt bad for her situation. Gray is much more hard to take. He cares about his family, but comes off as a Class "A" jerk for more than half of the book. He feels he is protecting his mother and sister, but really acts like an idiot toward Faith by demanding that she get out of town while admitting he wants her for his mistress. It took him a while to get his head screwed on straight and see what was going on around him which made this a good story. My rating: 4 Stars.


After the Storm (Kate Burkholder, Bk 7)
After the Storm (Kate Burkholder, Bk 7)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/8/2016


When a tornado rips through the small town of Painters Mill, a skeleton is unearthed. Police Chief Kate Burkholder must ascertain the identity of the man and piece together what exactly caused his death. As evidence is gathered, Kate discovers that the death was not an accident. While investigating the case, someone takes a shot at her. With someone trying to kill her, Kate has a thirty-year-old murder on her hands that she needs to solve.

This is another solid addition to the Kate Burkholder series. I thought it was very easy to figure out who the victim was and exactly what happened to him. But watching Kate and her deputies piece together the facts was fun. In addition to the mystery, this story also features potential problems between Kate and her lover, John Tomasetti. I wasn't thrilled with the resolution to that story. I'm looking to see where Kate and John go from here. My rating: 4 Stars.


After the Storm (Men Made in America: Mississippi, No 24)
After the Storm (Men Made in America: Mississippi, No 24)
Author: Rebecca Flanders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/28/2014


Everytime Hollywood Heartthrob Kevin Dawson comes back to his hometown, he visits his childhood friend Kate Larimer. Kate thinks he is a pest and needs to grow up. She doesn't want to hear about his many girlfriends and endless bank account. But when they are caught together during a tornado, Kevin turns serious and helps Kate at her clinic. He also decides that life is too short and he must tell Kate how he really feels.

This contemporary romance was first released in 1986 and feels like it. While the storm portion of the book kept my attention, the story suffers from being told from only Kate's point-of-view. We know she has been in love with Kevin her whole life and just won't admit it. When he tells her he loves her, she comes up with excuse after excuse as to why they can't be together. It got old after a while. My rating: 2.5 Stars.


All But My Life : A Memoir
All But My Life : A Memoir
Author: Gerda Weissmann Klein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 3/6/2010


This is the story of Gerda Weissman Klein's six-year ordeal as a victim of Nazi cruelty. From her home with her parents and brother in Bielitz, Poland, we see the disintegration of her life and family and she spends three years in various labor camps, then is forced on a three-month death march across Poland and Germany. Gerda somehow survives to tell the tale of her miraculous survival and her liberation by the American soldiers, one of whom she eventually marries.

I wanted to read this book since seeing the author on Oprah over 10 years ago. When she told her story, I cried and cried. I later saw part of a documentary based on this book, and cried and cried. And, when I read this book, you won't be surprised to hear that I cried and cried. (Book do not usually make me cry.) This is an inspiring story of survival that I would recommend that everyone read. My rating: 5 Stars.


All Fall Down
All Fall Down
Author: Carlene Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Good suspense. This book was hard to put down.


All Good Deeds (Lucy Kendall, Bk 1)
All Good Deeds (Lucy Kendall, Bk 1)
Author: Stacy Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/13/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Former Child Protective Services worker Lucy Kendall knows the system to protect children often fails. That is why she quit her job and became a private investigator. Now she can track down some of the child molesters who have slipped through the cracks and deliver her own brand of justice (via cyanide). While observing a pedophile she has been following, Lucy is approached by Chris Hale, a self-proclaimed sociopath who claims he knows what she is doing and wants to help. Not wanting her secret to get out, she has no choice but to let him join her in the search for eight-year-old Kailey Richardson who disappeared walking home from school. Kailey's neighbor is known to Lucy. Justin Beckett was released a year ago, his juvenile record expunged. Lucy sets out to prove that Justin is behind the abduction. Things get more complicated when Lucy discovers that Justin's older brother, Police Detective Todd Beckett, is leading the investigation. Todd knows his brother is a prime suspect but doesn't believe he had anything to do with the little girl's disappearance. He is determined to make sure Justin isn't railroaded by a very determined private investigator.

This is the first book in Stacy Green's Lucy Kendall series. Lucy is a unique heroine with a flawed belief system. She is a vigilante who believes she is doing the right thing by "taking out the trash". I never thought a character like her would be appealing, but I have to say I like Lucy. She cares for the kids and will do nearly anything to protect them.

I could not lay this book down. Stacy Green has put together a mystery with many layers. There are new revelations each chapter. As soon as I thought I knew where the story was going, it would veer off in another direction. Lucy didn't know who could be trusted and I didn't either. The ending was very satisfying, but left enough plot open-ended that I'm ready to jump into the next book. My rating: 5 Stars.


1 to 20 of 1328 - Page: