Christine O. (crissyreader) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 276 - Page:
Afterlife
Afterlife
Author: Colin Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 4/15/2006


The author assesses the evidence for the widely held and much-contested belief of life after death.


The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
Author: Paulo Coelho
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/2/2008


I found this to be a good book on various levels. The surface story is an interesting tale with deeper layers of insight.


All Is Vanity
All Is Vanity
Author: Christina Schwarz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 8/10/2006
Helpful Score: 2


The story of Margaret and Letty has a delicious twist. It just took me in and I loved it!


The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 10/12/2008


I have read both of Alice Sebold's other books and liked them. This one, I thought was creepy. She writes so well about "crazy" that the reader gets really caught up in it. The book just left me feeling unsettled, probably because I think that the crime was justified.


Animal trouble (Mathmatazz ; book B)
Animal trouble (Mathmatazz ; book B)
Author: Maggie Groening
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  ?
Review Date: 5/26/2006


A first grade reading level, this book features the mathematical concept of addition.


The Animal Way to Love
The Animal Way to Love
Author: Sena Jeter Naslund
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/21/2009


This book kind of weaves its way into your heart, the further you go along in it. it explores sexuality, friendship and grief, a potent combination. You can see the seeds that become Naslund's later books, The Four Spirits and Ahab's Wife.


Anna Karenina
Anna Karenina
Author: Leo Tolstoy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/8/2006


A tragic love story set in 19th Century life in Russia.


The Art Box
The Art Box
Author: Gail Gibbons
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/26/2006


Gail Gibbons has written a wonderful non-fiction book for beginning readers about making your own art box.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 7/12/2009


I cried so much through the ending of this book I could hardly read it. That's because Enzo, a dog and the narrator, is a character the reader grows to love and respect. I know what he's talking about, I have 3 dogs. This book makes you want to just hug your dogs, look into their eyes and ask, "What are you thinking?"


Astrid and Veronika
Astrid and Veronika
Author: Linda Olsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 4/3/2008


This is one of the sweetest, most tender love stories I have ever read. It is sure to touch your heart.


Back Care Basics: A Doctor's Gentle Yoga Program for Back and Neck Pain Relief
Review Date: 1/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Nice, simple exercises. I was able to do many of these during a time when I had a great deal of pain in my back.


A Bag Full of Pups
A Bag Full of Pups
Author: Dick Gackenbach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/26/2006


This easy to read book could be used to focus on the mathematical concept of subtraction as a man finds homes for 12 puppies.


The Basics of Winning Craps, 5th Edition (Basics of Winning)
The Basics of Winning Craps, 5th Edition (Basics of Winning)
Author: J. Edward Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/22/2006


Te perfect book for a trip to Las Vegas!


Be Quick But Don't Hurry
Be Quick But Don't Hurry
Author: Andrew Hill, John Wooden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/15/2006


This book contains "selections from the secrets of John Wooden's Pyramid of success. Hill shares the lessons that made Wooden's teams so successful on the court and his players such successes in life."


The Bean Trees
The Bean Trees
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 519
Review Date: 3/14/2006


A classic, a must read for all well read book enthusiasts.


Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 871
Review Date: 5/30/2006


Oh, My gosh, this woman can write! I just finished "The Magician's Assistant" and went right into this book. They are very diferent and both riveting. "Bel Canto" is a story of hostages taken at a state event in South America. During the book, the reader gets to know and love both the hostages and some of the terrorists, too. It just shows that people are people, after all.


Belong to Me
Belong to Me
Author: Marisa De Los Santos
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 5/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a joyous book with the ups and downs of life, handled graciously by the characters. Maria de los Santos is one of those authors I watch and get every book she writes...she has only written two and I've read them both. I wish her a long and prolific career!


Best Dressed : The Born to Shop Lady's Secrets for Building a Wardrobe
Review Date: 1/20/2007


This book is full of creative and sensible tips.


Better: A Surgeon's Notes on Performance
Better: A Surgeon's Notes on Performance
Author: Atul Gawande
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 7/31/2009
Helpful Score: 5


Atul Gawande scores again with his second book, Better. Similar in format to his first book, Complications, this one explores some ideas and parts of the medical profession that are current and thought provoking. For example, as a physician whose duty it is to save people's lives, how do you reconcile attending an execution? Someone has to sign the death certificate. He talks about excellence in many areas...saving lives in Iraq, doctors who do it all in India, and what makes the best Cystic Fibrosis center in the US the absolute best. It is a book filled with inspiration and stories of people who go far above and beyond to do their best, thus making the system a little bit better.


Better Homes & Gardens Bread Cookbook
Better Homes & Gardens Bread Cookbook
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/19/2006


My favorite scone recipe came from this book!


1 to 20 of 276 - Page: