Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Search - Annette Vallon: A Novel of the French Revolution

Annette Vallon: A Novel of the French Revolution
Annette Vallon A Novel of the French Revolution
Author: James Tipton
For fans of Tracy Chevalier and Sarah Dunant comes this vibrant, alluring debut novel of a compelling, independent woman who would inspire one of the world's greatest poets and survive a nation's bloody transformation. — Set amid the terror and excitement of the French Revolution, James Tipton's evocative novel is the story of a woman who has for...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780060822217
ISBN-10: 006082221X
Publication Date: 11/1/2007
Pages: 320
Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 9

4.3 stars, based on 9 ratings
Publisher: HarperCollins
Book Type: Hardcover
Members Wishing: 0
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed Annette Vallon: A Novel of the French Revolution on + 48 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
A very entertaining and surprisingly engrossing book about a young, beautiful, and intelligent aristocratic woman growing up and falling in love during the turbulent and unrelenting years of the French Revolution. The story spans many years and reading the book would be easier for people with a basic knowledge of the events surrounding the French Revolution. Nonetheless, the story combines a fascinating historical fiction and a transendent romance with plenty of adventure and suspense.
figsandthistles avatar reviewed Annette Vallon: A Novel of the French Revolution on + 2 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
If you enjoy reading historical fiction by the likes of Laker, Chevalier, Erickson and other notable genre writers, I submit that you will enjoy this book as well.

As the title suggests, the novel is set during the France's revolutionary years and details the life of Annette Vallon, a Chouan and an historical character unknown to me prior to this book. The novel is many things at once: a romance, an adventure, and a recounting of the horrific events surrounding France's bloodiest epoch.

Tipton's prose is lucid and vivid; the story moves quickly and ends much too soon for the reader.
Read All 2 Book Reviews of "Annette Vallon A Novel of the French Revolution"


Genres: