Search - Christianus Sum (Cry of the Martyrs, Bk 1)

Christianus Sum (Cry of the Martyrs, Bk 1)
Christianus Sum - Cry of the Martyrs, Bk 1
Author: Shawn J Pollett
The year is AD 249 and the Roman Empire stands on the brink of destruction. Barbarian hordes swarm the frontiers, desperate to feed on the vast wealth of an empire paralyzed by rampant corruption, immorality, and a string of incompetent emperors. Out of this chaos emerges a new emperor, the "Divine Decius," who plans to save the empire...  more »
ISBN-13: 9781897373637
ISBN-10: 1897373635
Publication Date: 12/24/2008
Pages: 412
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.

4.5 stars, based on 1 rating
Publisher: Word Alive Press
Book Type: Paperback
Members Wishing: 2
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review
Read All 1 Book Reviews of "Christianus Sum Cry of the Martyrs Bk 1"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Christianus Sum (Cry of the Martyrs, Bk 1) on + 151 more book reviews
Having been a huge fan of the Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers, I had an inkling that Shawn Pollett's debut novel would offer something similar, and I was not mistaken. This book had it all--history, romance, and suspense paired together with unforgettable characters--and I couldn't help but be amazed that it wasn't published by one of the big Christian publishing houses!

My biggest takeaway from this book was the suffering of the Early Church. I have read so few books focusing on their martyrs and trials , and this book really helped to open my eyes to the horrible torture that the early believers were victims to. It made me think that it is so easy to give lip service, but it is another thing altogether to be willing to sacrifice your own life for the cause of Christ.

I enjoyed Pollett's debut novel a great deal and now, can't wait to get my hands on the second and third books in the series (yes, there really is more)! He took me on an engaging journey through ancient Rome that left me frustrated once or twice, but ultimately, left me quite satisfied. Take my word for it...if you loved the Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers, this is where you need to start next.