Search - List of Books by James Lovegrove

James Lovegrove (born 1965) is a British writer of speculative fiction. His first novel was The Hope, published by Macmillan in 1990. He was short-listed for the Arthur C. Clarke Award in 1998 for his novel Days and for the John W. Campbell Memorial Award in 2004 for his novel Untied Kingdom.

Lovegrove's work tends towards the literary end of the SF/fantasy spectrum and usually carries a dystopian, satirical edge, much in the tradition of J.G. Ballard and John Wyndham. His subject matter is often the corrupting effects of wealth and commercialism, and recurring motifs are duality and the clash or reconciliation of opposites. Lovegrove has a fondness for wordplay, not only in his prose but sometimes as a plot device, as in the back-to-back double novella Gig, where palindromes form a key part of the narrative, and the novel Provender Gleed, whose cast of characters includes a pair of detectives who solve crimes through the use of anagrams.

Recently Lovegrove has moved into the Young Adult field, writing a series of fantasy novels under a pseudonym (Jay Amory). These have been translated into nine languages so far. He has also written a number of short novels published by Barrington Stoke, a company specialising in books for reluctant readers. Two of his titles for that company have been longlisted for the Manchester Book Award.

As an illustrator, Lovegrove has executed design and poster work for Flying Pig Systems, makers of the Wholehog range of lighting control products, and drew the pictures for the Echo Beach line of postcards and T-shirts.

He has contributed reviews and journalism to magazines such as The Literary Review, Interzone and BBC MindGames Magazine and cryptic crosswords to the weekend section of the Independent, and is a regular reviewer of fiction for the Financial Times.

Bibliography   more

This author page uses material from the Wikipedia article "James Lovegrove", which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0
Total Books: 105
Firefly - The Ghost Machine
The Manifestations of Sherlock Holmes
Age of Legends
2019 - Age of Legends (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781781085776
ISBN-10: 1781085773
Genre: Science Fiction & Fantasy
  ?

Sherlock Holmes and the Christmas Demon
Wonderland An Anthology
2019 - Wonderland an Anthology (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781789091489
ISBN-10: 1789091489
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy
  ?

Scarlet Traces A War of the Worlds Anthology A War of the Worlds Anthology
The Cthulhu Casebooks - Sherlock Holmes and the Sussex Sea-Devils
Firefly - The Magnificent Nine
2019 - Firefly - the Magnificent Nine (Hardcover)
ISBN-13: 9781785658297
ISBN-10: 1785658298
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1

The Cthulhu Casebooks - Sherlock Holmes and the Miskatonic Monstrosities
Sherlock Holmes - The Devil's Dust
2018 - Sherlock Holmes - the Devil's Dust (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781785653612
ISBN-10: 178565361X
Genre: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1

Sherlock Holmes and the Shadwell Shadows
2017 - Sherlock Holmes and the Shadwell Shadows [The Cthulhu Casebooks] (Paperback)Hardcover
ISBN-13: 9781785652912
ISBN-10: 1785652915
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1

Sherlock Holmes - The Labyrinth of Death
2017 - Sherlock Holmes - the Labyrinth of Death (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781785653377
ISBN-10: 1785653377
Genre: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  ?

SNAFU Black Ops
2017 - Snafu Black Ops (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781925623024
ISBN-10: 1925623025
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy
  ?

The Cthulhu Casebooks - Sherlock Holmes and the Shadwell Shadows
2016 - The Cthulhu Casebooks - Sherlock Holmes and the Shadwell Shadows (Hardcover)Paperback
ISBN-13: 9781783295937
ISBN-10: 1783295937
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1

Age of Heroes
2016 - Age of Heroes [Pantheon] (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781781084052
ISBN-10: 178108405X
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy
  ?

World of Water
2016 - World of Water (Paperback)Paperback
ISBN-13: 9781781083048
ISBN-10: 1781083045
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy
  ?

World of Water
2016 - World of Water [Dev Harmer, Bk 2] (Paperback)Paperback
ISBN-13: 9781781083055
ISBN-10: 1781083053
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1

The Age of Odin
2015 - The Age of Odin [Pantheon] (Paperback)Paperback
ISBN-13: 9781781084083
ISBN-10: 1781084084
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2

The Age of Ra
2015 - The Age of Ra [Pantheon] (Paperback)Paperback
ISBN-13: 9781781084090
ISBN-10: 1781084092
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1

Sherlock Holmes The Thinking Engine
2015 - Sherlock Holmes the Thinking Engine (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781783295036
ISBN-10: 1783295031
Genre: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3

Kaiju Rising Age of Monsters
2014 - Kaiju Rising Age of Monsters (Audio CD)Paperback
ISBN-13: 9781491584828
ISBN-10: 1491584823
Genre: Science Fiction & Fantasy
  ?

2014 - World of Fire [Dev Harmer Mission] (Paperback)Paperback
2013 - The Lord of the Mountain [Five Lords of Pain Book 1] (Paperback)Paperback
2013 - The Lord of the Void [Five Lords of Pain Book 2] (Paperback)Paperback
2013 - The Lord of the Typhoon [5 Lords of Pain] (Paperback)
2013 - The Lord of Tears [The Five Lords of Pain] (Paperback)Paperback
2013 - The Lord of Fire [The Five Lords of Pain] (Paperback)Paperback
2012 - Kill Swap [Stoke Books] (Other)Paperback
2012 - Age of Aztec [Pantheon] (Paperback)Paperback
2011 - Redlaw (Paperback)Paperback
2010 - Age of Odin [Age Of... / Pantheon Triptych, Bk 3] (Paperback)Paperback
2010 - Lord of Tears [Five Lords of Pain] (Paperback)Paperback
2010 - The Age of Zeus [Pantheon, Bk 2] (Paperback)Paperback
 
2008 - Kuczynski Verifications [Gollancz SF] (Hardcover)
2007 - Dead Brigade [Most Wanted] (Paperback)
2007 - Provender Gleed [Gollancz] (Paperback)
2005 - Ant God (Paperback)
2004 - Wings (Paperback)Paperback
2004 - Gig (Hardcover)Hardcover
2002 - Adenydd [Saeth - Welsh Edition] (Paperback)
2002 - Imagined Slights [Gollancz S.F.] (Paperback)
2002 - The Hope [Gollancz] (Paperback)Paperback
2001 - The Foreigners [GollanczF.] (Paperback)
1999 - Berserker [The guardians] (Paperback)Paperback
1999 - Days (Paperback)Paperback
1999 - The Guardians the Krilov Continuum [" Sci-Fi Channel " : The Guardians] (Paperback)Paperback
1998 - Escardy Gap [Escardy Gap] (Paperback)Paperback
Web Computopia [Web Series 2] (Paperback)
Royaume-dsuni [French Edition] (Paperback)