Book Reviews of Omerta

Omerta
Omerta
Author: Mario Puzo
PBS Market Price: $8.09 or $4.19+1 credit
ISBN-13: 9780345432407
ISBN-10: 0345432401
Publication Date: 5/1/2001
Pages: 384
Rating:
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 46

3.6 stars, based on 46 ratings
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

9 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Omerta on + 28 more book reviews
This is a great book if you are a fan of The Godfather or The Last Don. It is along the same line as those books, but not a copy of them. Exciting, quick read. Highly recommemded!!
reviewed Omerta on + 45 more book reviews
Mario Puzo's last book before he died. Don Raymonde Aprile adopts a mysterious child in Sicily...raises him to learn the banking business, to run a macaroni business, to ride horses..and live the life of a gentleman..but secretly,the Don has trained him to be his family's protector..and when the Don is assassinated; the young Astorre Viola knows the time has come to put his training into effect. against drug lords and even the FBI who has had a hand in the Don's murder.
reviewed Omerta on + 66 more book reviews
This is a good novel, Puzo's novels are very rich and intriguing.
reviewed Omerta on + 44 more book reviews
Men will like this book. It is about the Mafia!
reviewed Omerta on + 55 more book reviews
Mario Puzo's last book. An excellent book in the tradition of The Godfather and The Last Don. A must read for anyone who enjoyed those books!
reviewed Omerta on + 8 more book reviews
The story of a Mafia mole begins with the American Don Raymonde Aprile and his adopted "nephew" from Sicily The story combines the FBI and two crooked NYPD detectives who follow clues to a South American Mob kingpin. A surprising story unfolds as you get sucked into the plot immediately! Never a dull moment!
reviewed Omerta on + 4 more book reviews
Loved it
reviewed Omerta on + 20 more book reviews
mafia killers
reviewed Omerta on + 95 more book reviews
Amazon.com
Omerta, the third novel in Mario Puzo's Mafia trilogy, is infinitely better than the third Godfather film, and most movies in fact. Besides colorful characters and snappy dialogue, it's got a knotty, gratifying, just-complex-enough plot and plenty of movie-like scenes. The newly retired Mafioso Don Raymonde Aprile attends his grandson's confirmation at St. Patrick's in New York, handing each kid a gold coin. Long shot: "Brilliant sunshine etched the image of that great cathedral into the streets around it." Medium shot: "The girls in frail cobwebby white lace dresses, the boys [with] traditional red neckties knitted at their throats to ward off the Devil." Close-up: "The first bullet hit the Don square in the forehead. The second bullet tore out his throat."
More crucial than the tersely described violence is the emotional setting: a traditional, loving clan menaced by traditional vendettas. With Don Aprile hit, the family's fate lies in the strong hands of his adopted nephew from Sicily, Astorre. The Don kept his own kids sheltered from the Mafia: one son is an army officer; another is a TV exec; his daughter Nicole (the most developed character of the three) is an ace lawyer who liked to debate the Don on the death penalty. "Mercy is a vice, a pretension to powers we do not have ... an unpardonable offense to the victim," the Don maintained. Astorre, a macaroni importer and affable amateur singer, was secretly trained to carry on the Don's work. Now his job is to show no mercy.

But who did the hit? Was it Kurt Cilke, the morally tormented FBI man who recently jailed most of the Mafia bosses? Or Timmona Portella, the Mob boss Cilke still wants to collar? How about Marriano Rubio, the womanizing, epicurean Peruvian diplomat who wants Nicole in bed--did he also want her papa's head?

If you didn't know Puzo wrote Omerta, it would be no mystery. His marks are all over it: lean prose, a romance with the Old Country, a taste for olives in barrels, a jaunty cynicism ("You cannot send six billionaires to prison," says Cilke's boss. "Not in a democracy"), an affection for characters with flawed hearts, like Rudolfo the $1,500-an-hour sexual massage therapist, or his short-tempered client Aspinella, the one-eyed NYPD detective. The simultaneous courtship of cheery Mafia tramp Rosie by identical hit-man twins Frankie and Stace Sturzo makes you fall in love with them all--and feel a genuine pang when blood proves thicker than eros.

This fitting capstone to Puzo's career is optioned for a film, and Michael Imperioli of TV's The Sopranos narrates the audiocassette version of the novel. But why wait for the movie? Omerta is a big, old-fashioned movie in its own right. --Tim Appelo (Amazon.com)