Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Search - A Son of the Circus

A Son of the Circus
A Son of the Circus
Author: John Irving
A Hindi film star . . . an American missionary . . . twins separated at birth . . . a dwarf chauffeur . . . a serial killer . . . all are on a collision course. In the tradition of A Prayer for Owen Meany, Irving's characters transcend nationality. They are misfits--coming from everywhere, belonging nowhere. Set almost entirely in India, this is...  more »
Info icon
ISBN-13: 9780679434962
ISBN-10: 0679434968
Publication Date: 8/16/1994
Pages: 633
Edition: 1st trade ed
Rating:
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 47

3.6 stars, based on 47 ratings
Publisher: Random House
Book Type: Hardcover
Other Versions: Paperback, Audio Cassette, Audio CD
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed A Son of the Circus on + 52 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
Filled with bizarre characters and several threads for the storylines, but why anyone would consider this a science fiction, or even a fantasy, novel is beyond me.

I enjoyed the book and will probably read more of John Irving, but it is not an easy read.
reviewed A Son of the Circus on + 6 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
If you like John Irving, I think you may like this. It reads like a murder mystery and of course there are bizarre characters.
reviewed A Son of the Circus on
Helpful Score: 4
I am a huge fan of Irving's but this was just not very good.
kbockl avatar reviewed A Son of the Circus on + 27 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Not an easy read, but worth the effort. The story of a man born in India, schooled in Vienna, living in Toronto who never feels like he belongs anywhere. It's as colorful as a silk sari.
reviewed A Son of the Circus on
Helpful Score: 1
I enjoyed the book, it was not like anything I had read before. The novel is not about India but there is lots of take of India, also broken sexual boundaries.
Read All 20 Book Reviews of "A Son of the Circus"

Book Wiki

Common Title

Genres:

Want fewer ads?