Skip to main content
PBS logo
Want fewer ads?

Search - The Wolf and the Raven

The Wolf and the Raven
The Wolf and the Raven
Author: Diana L. Paxson
Born to rival kings in fifth-century Rhineland, Sigfrid and Brunahild each learn the ancient arts of their heritage, until their powers surpass those of their teachers, and they are united in perfect love and glory.
Info icon
ISBN-13: 9780380765263
ISBN-10: 0380765268
Publication Date: 4/1994
Pages: 352
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.

3.5 stars, based on 19 ratings
Publisher: Avon Books
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

Kibi avatar reviewed The Wolf and the Raven on + 582 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
From Publishers Weekly
The legend of Siegfried and Brunhilde--popularized in Icelandic sagas, the medieval German epic Nibelungenlied and Wagner's operas--is imaginatively retold in this lyrical narrative, the first installment of a projected trilogy. Tapping the myth's archaic sources and using alternate spellings for his characters' names, Paxson ( The Serpent's Tooth ) creates an untamed, down-to-earth young Sigfrid who studies shamanism, runs with a wolf pack and asks his beloved Brunahild, "What do you need a hero for anyway?" The self-searching Brunahild, a budding sorceress, belies the stereotype of the Wagnerian soprano with brass bra and winged helmet, although she does attend a Valkyrie training school and wear a raven-winged headdress. With her knowledge of herbs, runes and spells comes understanding, then love. As in Wagner, the theft of a treasure is the source of evil, but nonetheless the lovers achieve their long-desired union at the novel's close. Set in a fifth-century Rhineland aswarm with migrant tribes, gods and spirits, Paxson's detailed retelling distills an exotic brew from the famous myth.
Read All 2 Book Reviews of "The Wolf and the Raven"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed The Wolf and the Raven on + 21 more book reviews
The story of Siegfreid, Brunhild, and Gudrun. First in a series of three called Wodan's Children. The other two are Dragons of the Rhine and Lord of Horses.


Want fewer ads?