Ana V. - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
All the Pretty Horses
All the Pretty Horses
Author: Cormac Mccarthy
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/1/2008


With the amount of driving - I'm an avid audio-book consumer. I really enjoyed this book by Cormac McCarhty and audiocassette reading by actor Brad Pitt. This was a superb book which I highly recommend.


A Beautiful Mind : The Life of Mathematical Genius and Nobel Laureate John Nash
Review Date: 4/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Since I can't read them all, CD's and tapes are my thing. Although a serious book, it was eye opening and enjoyable. Highly recommend.


The Dance of Anger: A Woman's Guide to Changing the Patterns of Intimate Relationships
Review Date: 2/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was a definate eye-opener. I am glad I ran across this book. It has helped me with a perspective I have not thought about in relationships.


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2520
Review Date: 11/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This has got to be one of the most inspirational and thoughtful recent reads out there of late. It lives up to Albom's "Teusday's With Morrie,"


The  Fountainhead (Classics on Cassette) (Abridged)
The Fountainhead (Classics on Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Ayn Rand, Edward Herrmann
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/10/2008


I listen to books in the car and this a really great reading of this Ayn Rand classic which I have always wanted to read. The ideals that Ayn Rand espoused are thought-provoking and are timely now that our economy is in peril. I recommend highly this audio rendition.


The House of the Spirits
The House of the Spirits
Author: Isabel Allende, Magda Bogin (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 391
Review Date: 11/5/2008


This book is magical - it carries you away. I highly recommend it. It is one of my favorites.


Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 1) (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Review Date: 4/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was my first introduction to Anne Rice. All I can say is WOW! I could not get out of the car at times for fear of missing something. I hate when that happens.


The Liars' Club : A Memoir
The Liars' Club : A Memoir
Author: Mary Karr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 2/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I absolutely loved this book. It's no surprise it was on the NY Times Bestseller list for such a long time. Mary Karr relates her memoir in a unsentimental, straightforward way that it calls to mind the plain-speaking, frank nature of East Texas people. A beautifully written book - it's rich descriptions were melodic, visual and swept me away into her family drama. I loved my time there.


Making Leather Purses & Totes
Making Leather Purses & Totes
Author: Lisa Galvin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/6/2016


Love the Book. Thanks for sharing.


Memoirs of a Geisha (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Memoirs of a Geisha (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Arthur Golden, Elaina Erika Davis (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 11/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Memoirs of a Geisha is a great book especially a great listen in audio cassette on a long drive.. I drive alot and audiobooks and cassettets help me catch up on my reading. I really enjoyed listening to this one.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5409
Review Date: 11/5/2008


Lovely story. It was one of the sweetest books I have read in a long time. I highly recommend.


The Perfect Wedding Dress
The Perfect Wedding Dress
Author: Philip Delamore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/18/2008


This is a luscious wedding dress book. It's packed with beautiful photographs. Lots of ideas and designs. I loved it.


Positive Discipline
Positive Discipline
Author: Jane Nelsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 11/5/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This positive discipline books is very helpful. I now use alot of the techniques and it has dramatically helped with behavioral issues with my kids. I recommend this one for sure.


The Unofficial Guide to Adopting a Child
The Unofficial Guide to Adopting a Child
Author: Andrea DellaVecchio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/5/2008


This is a must-have when adopting. It is the most practical view of the whole adoption process. I found it be thorough.


1 to 14 of 14