Anita C. (idahobookworm) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Access Denied (Turing Hopper, Bk 3)
Access Denied (Turing Hopper, Bk 3)
Author: Donna Andrews
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/20/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Since I'm not a fan of science fiction, I approached this series with caution. Within the first couple of chapters, I fell in love with the Turing Hopper mysteries. Donna Andrews has done a masterful job of capturing how computer geeks "humanize" computers. Many of the tekkie conversations that Andrews uses to show the growth of her AIP (artificial intelligence personality) have given me a sense of deja vu, since we computer-geek-types often talk as if computers are human. May not be for everyone, but I think most readers who have a strong computer background will really get a giggle out of these creative mysteries. Can't wait for more!


Angels Flight (Harry Bosch, Bk 6) (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 7/20/2009


Fascinating read (or listen)! Michael Connelly does an outstanding job of humanizing cops with his protagonist, Harry Bosch. In this book, he interweaves several layers of "issues" for cops: interpersonal and professional relationships, political pressures, and personal ethics. As a reader with a law enforcement background, I highly recommend this book!


Bad Blood (Alex Cooper, Bk 9)
Bad Blood (Alex Cooper, Bk 9)
Author: Linda Fairstein
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 4/23/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Gets off to a rather slow courtroom start, with Alexandra Cooper trying what appears to be a weak case, but the action builds steadily towards an exciting end. I really liked this book!


Bad Blood (Virgil Flowers, Bk 4)
Bad Blood (Virgil Flowers, Bk 4)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 11/10/2011


Not one of my favorite Sandford books. I have a hard time being entertained by child abuse, even if fictional.


Black Light
Black Light
Author: Stephen Hunter
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/5/2008


I loved this novel! Read by Beau Bridges, the story line bounces back and forth between the past and present, a technique that I usually hate. However, Hunter did a masterful job, spending enough time in each time frame to paint a picture, yet not so much that you forget the original story line. Definitely worth the time! 6 hours, 5 CDs.


Blindside (FBI, Bk 8)
Blindside (FBI, Bk 8)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 535
Review Date: 11/5/2009


I've enjoyed the previous Sherlock/Savich novels, but this one struck me as being written by a different author! The style was so different than previous novels - overly simplistic sentence structure was a total turn-off for me. Off my favorite author list this time!


Blood Lure (Anna Pigeon, Bk 9)
Blood Lure (Anna Pigeon, Bk 9)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 7/6/2011


Not one of her best. The ending was a little too far "out there" in terms of reality.


Cockatiels at Seven (Meg Langslow, Bk 9)
Cockatiels at Seven (Meg Langslow, Bk 9)
Author: Donna Andrews
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 11/7/2009


Totally delightful! I love the way the relationship between Meg and new hubby Michael has developed, as well as the growth in Meg's relationships with her sheep-farmer neighbor and the grumpy sheriff. Introduction of another quirky relative was a bonus! Keep 'em coming, Donna Andrews!


Dark Truth (Truth, Bk 3)
Dark Truth (Truth, Bk 3)
Author: Mariah Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 7/20/2009


Mariah Stewart has moved to the top of my favorite author list! I love the way she connects to her FBI characters from past novels, particularly profiler Dr. Anne Marie McCall, the protagonist from Dead End. Am now reading Final Truth and eagerly awaiting the arrival of more Stewart titles.


The Darkest Evening of the Year
The Darkest Evening of the Year
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 435
Review Date: 11/6/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Maybe I'm just tired of Koontz, but I didn't like this book at all. The Golden Retriever rescue part was heartwarming, but the child abuse part was just too dark for me! Nice ending, but I was still left feeling that evil eclipsed good.


Death Trap (Jessie Arnold, Bk 10)
Death Trap (Jessie Arnold, Bk 10)
Author: Sue Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 5/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The writing style of this book was different. It was done in a historical style where the present is a gathering of people who are sharing recollections of what happened. I didn't like that style as well as the first-person, real-time style.


The Fourth Procedure
The Fourth Procedure
Author: Stanley Pottinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/20/2009


Not my cup of tea. While I love most medical thrillers (Cook, Palmer et. al) and some political mysteries, I found this one to be very off-putting. Way too much lengthy detail that I found tedious. Would not read more by this author.


Obsession (Alex Delaware Bk 21)
Obsession (Alex Delaware Bk 21)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 262
Review Date: 4/23/2008


Another outstanding Alex Delaware novel! Kellerman's intricate development of his characters is unparalleled, and this book is no exception. He keeps you guessing right up to the end who the culprit(s) is/are. His final twist at the end caught me entirely by surprise and made me chuckle. Loved this book!


Predator  (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 14)
Predator (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 14)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 533
Review Date: 11/6/2009


Totally agree with GeniusJen's review! I, too, have been a long time KS fan. I hate the direction Cornwell has taken Marino and Lucy. Haven't read another Cornwell book since this one.


Queen of the Night (Walker Family, Bk 4)
Queen of the Night (Walker Family, Bk 4)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/14/2012


I do not agree with the "brilliant" and "masterful" review adjectives from Publishers Weekly. This book is not a typical J.A. Jance read. There are too many threads going back too far in time which influence the present-day story line. The 409 pages of this book spans just 7 days. To say the plot "drags" is understatement. This will be my last "Walker Family" series book.


The Survivors Club
The Survivors Club
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 6/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


It's said that truth can be stranger than fiction. Lisa Gardner has done a masterful job of weaving fiction on a par with the (true) story of the D.C. Sniper, where motives went much deeper than it appeared. Without ruining the story, I will only say that the plot goes much deeper than what is visible on the surface - three women from very different socio-economic classes joined together in the quest to bring justice to the man they and police believed to be a serial rapist/murderer. Complicating the plot was her development of the lead detective's personal and professional challenges from the past. What I rank as masterful is how Gardner gathers up all the strands of the individual stories and weaves them together into a cohesive unit with a surprise ending that is very well justified.

Brilliant. Just BRILLIANT!


Wild Fire (John Corey, Bk 4)
Wild Fire (John Corey, Bk 4)
Author: Nelson DeMille
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 4/28/2008


Women will probably like this book more than men, because it has Det. John Corey acting pretty stupid at times - all because of jealousy. There is a task force member whom wife, FBI Agent Kate Mayfield, has a past with. This little undercurrent has you arching your eyebrows and saying, "Oh BROTHER!", at how idiotic one can become when affected by jealousy. I got a real kick out of it, but I can see where men would have a hard time seeing the humor!


Wormwood (China Bayles, Bk 17)
Wormwood (China Bayles, Bk 17)
Author: Susan Wittig Albert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I disliked the alternating point of view, switching back and forth from present time to a point in history in the 1800s. I did not feel that it added anything to the book; if anything, it detracted. I prefer Albert's "normal" writing style.


1 to 18 of 18