Deborah A. (metaphysicalmama) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
After Life: Answers from the Other Side
After Life: Answers from the Other Side
Author: John Edward
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/14/2008
Helpful Score: 2


John Edward must be the most down-to-earth psychic out there! I thoroughly enjoyed this next chapter in his story.


The Book of Murray: The Life, Teachings, and Kvetching of the Lost Prophet
Review Date: 2/18/2014


Very funny! Really enjoyed it.


Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen
Review Date: 2/18/2014


Great story and very well written. Bought several copies as gifts.


The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca
Author: Tahir Shah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Loved this book, and it caused me to ferret out his other works. Tahir Shah writing style is humorous as well as thoughtful. An Anglo-Afghan raised in England, he has "one eye in the East and one eye in the West". Gave me a more complete understanding of the Middle Eastern mentality. Also, there are pics of the completed house posted online should you want a visual aid to go with his descriptions of rehabbing an old house in Casablanca.


Dreams from My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance
Dreams from My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance
Author: Barack Obama
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 372
Review Date: 9/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Beautifully written account of Obama's life as a young man and his search for his place in the world. This is a book that has univeral appeal as we all travel this journey to find what gifts we are given and how we can use them. He thoroughly documents his years as a young boy in Hawaii and Indonesia, his days as a community organizer in Chicago and meeting his African family for the first time. I found it to be very thought-provoking as it brought out memories of my own journey through life and where it was different and not-so-different. Highly recommend this book.


Julie & Julia : 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen
Julie & Julia : 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen
Author: Julie Powell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/31/2009
Helpful Score: 9


Having just finished reading "My Life in France" by Julia Child, this was a great follow-up. Julie Powell's humorous rendition of her attempt to cook all of JC's recipes in "Mastering the Art of French Cooking" had me howling. But it also cause me to reflect back on when I was 29 going on 30 (more years ago than I care to remember) and making the transition from a young woman just cruising along to one who wanted to make something more of her life. I would not hesitate to recommend this book. In fact, it has been my favorite book so far of my summer reading.


Our Man in Havana (Penguin Classics)
Our Man in Havana (Penguin Classics)
Author: Graham Greene
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/18/2014


Excellent satire!!


Raising the Dead: A Doctor Encounters the Miraculous
Raising the Dead: A Doctor Encounters the Miraculous
Author: Chauncey W. Crandall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/10/2014


This book was interesting, but very fundamentalist. I couldn't get through it because of all God and Satan stuff even though I'm a big believer in spiritual healing for physical illnesses. I wasn't aware that a Togo fertility goddess or Peter Pan were evil. Much more a Shakespeare kinda gal - nothing is either good or bad but thinking makes it so. For those whose beliefs lie in the fundamentalist Christianity world, this would be a good book for them to read.


Southern Herb Growing
Southern Herb Growing
Author: Madalene Hill, Gwen Barclay, Jean Hardy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/23/2009


I am enjoying this book a great deal even though the material is targeted for southern areas north of where I live like Texas and the deep South states. Beautiful photos and a goodly amount of information on growing all kind of herbs - some I had never heard of. More a coffee table type book than an instructional one, but a wonderful read, neverthless.


White Oleander
White Oleander
Author: Janet Fitch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 836
Review Date: 6/7/2008


This book is exquisitely written, and although not a "happy" book, the ending was hopeful. An unique telling of the "coming-of-age" story that will give you pause to examine your own life.


1 to 10 of 10