Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Jamie L. (timetoread) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
50,001 Best Baby Names
50,001 Best Baby Names
Author: Diane Stafford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/10/2007


Several lists of most popular, most likely to succeed, best celebrity names, etc. in addition to the very large alphabetized lists.


Albert Einstein: Young Thinker (Childhood of Famous Americans)
Review Date: 3/29/2015


My 7 year old son loved this book.


Baby Bargains: Secrets to Saving 20% to 50% on Baby Furniture, Equipment, Clothes, Toys, Maternity Wear, and Much, Much More!
Review Date: 6/12/2008


Very helpful for the practical minded people with a budget. Very informative and could help narrow the research on the internet.


The Baby Owner's Manual: Operating Instructions, Trouble-Shooting Tips, and Advice on First-Year Maintenance
Review Date: 6/12/2008


Received as a gift....enjoyable for the father that is very mechanically inclined and not interested in the mushy female versions.


The Bean Trees
The Bean Trees
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 528
Review Date: 4/3/2014


An interesting read about a girl's journey leaving home and unexpectedly becoming a mother. She finds a community and shares her adventure through simple-minded young eyes. An easy read that will only take a few days.


Caring for Your Baby and Young Child, Revised Edition : Birth to Age 5
Review Date: 4/3/2014


Great quick reference, interesting for age-appropriate development.


Codependent No More: How to Stop Controlling Others and Start Caring for Yourself
Review Date: 7/22/2016


Very insightful and helpful in identifying and understanding codependency


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 1/8/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book! It takes factual history and spins it into a book you immediately jump in to. With each fact, I was wanting to check google and read more. Definitely recommend this book to any history-lover, Chicago-native (or surrounding area), or architectual-lover. I'll be checking out this author's other works.


Goodnight Moon
Goodnight Moon
Author: Margaret Wise Brown, Clement Hurd (Illustrator)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 6/12/2008
Helpful Score: 2


One of my husbands favorites to read to our daughter...simple, calming, peaceful.


Leadership
Leadership
Author: Rudolph W. Giuliani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/12/2008


My husband recommended I read this after he did and he is not an avid reader. I enjoyed the "realness" of it and how it gave an honest look at Rudy. Also includes some good practical advice for your own life.


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2156
Review Date: 7/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this book despite all the controversy over the correct category of literature it should be classifed. Fast and easy read.


Mistaken Identity
Mistaken Identity
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/7/2015


I expected more from this book and almost stopped reading it several times. I struggled through it and the ending got a little easier to read. I would recommend it as an easy read but not as a must read.


Pregnancy Sucks for Men: What to Do When Your Miracle Makes You BOTH Miserable
Review Date: 6/12/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book for men! I read it along with my husband to verify the accuracy and enjoyed it as much as he did. Very easy and fast read with male-centered humor and antedotes.


Screamfree Parenting: The Revolutionary Approach to Raising Your Kids by Keeping Your Cool
Review Date: 6/12/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I heard a lot about this book and hesitated to pay so much for it. I ended up getting it for Christmas and was disappointed. The book could have been condensed down to 10 pages and still have made its point.


The Shack
The Shack
Author: William P. Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 2/6/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was absolutely amazing. I highly recommend it to anybody just thinking about it. It's a read you will not regret spending time with. Also, one you can read in a short period of time. It did bring me to tears (with lots of restraint in public) and will undoubtly touch your spirit as well.

Hoping and looking forward to a movie!!!


Still Missing
Still Missing
Author: Chevy Stevens
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 9/25/2014


Easy read and very engaging but a little on the dark and disturbing side.


The Very Lonely Firefly
The Very Lonely Firefly
Author: Eric Carle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/12/2008


Love this book maybe more than my kid! A keeper for the bookshelf.


The Very Quiet Cricket Board Book
The Very Quiet Cricket Board Book
Author: Eric Carle
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 6/12/2008


Love this book...made me laugh out loud. Definitely a keeper!


1 to 18 of 18
Want fewer ads?