Facebook

Jan A. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 36 - Page:
American Terrorist: Timothy McVeigh and the Oklahoma City Bombing
Review Date: 6/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great insight into why the Oklahoma City Bombing happened, and the family of Timothy McVeigh.


An Hour Before Daylight : Memories Of A Rural Boyhood
An Hour Before Daylight : Memories Of A Rural Boyhood
Author: Jimmy Carter
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/16/2006


Very enjoyable account of life during that era and location of America.


Another Shot : How I Relived My Life in Less Than a Year
Another Shot : How I Relived My Life in Less Than a Year
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/16/2006


Joe Kita has had a good life. He has been happily married for more than 15 years and has two beautiful children. He is a successful journalist. He has lots of friends. Still, nearing 40, he wondered about missed opportunities: What would have happened if I had asked out that co-ed? What if I didn't get cut from my high school basketball team? What if I'd been nicer to my dog?

Afraid of having the same pangs of regret at age 80, and no longer satisfied leaving good times to chance, Kita deliberately revisted 20 crossroads in his life and tried to relive them. In Another Shot, he chronicles his crazy year with humor and inspiration. Along the way, he gets to the bottom of what happened to his first car - a beautiful 1979 Camaro - and ponders whether choices really matter and what determines one's place in the world.

Some of Kita's adventures border on the absurd: Never having the chance to fire a real gun, he enrolls in a shooting school. Not ever being filthy rich, Joe hires a Romanian butler to experience the lifestyle. Other stops on his journey are more common to men his age: He's lost his hair and he wants it back. His sexual peak came and went without him.

Regardless of the original regret and its final "outcome", each experience alters Kita's perspective and will alter yours too. A poetic narrative organized by regret, Another Shot provides an insightful glimpse into the life and mind of a regular guy. It's a tumultuous journey But Joe Kita is hilarious, insightful, and most of all, inspiring enough to make you ponder: Why not give it another shot?


Back When We Were Grownups
Back When We Were Grownups
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/26/2006


I enjoyed this story.


Carolina Moon
Carolina Moon
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 620
Review Date: 6/9/2006


With its blend of evil killers, handsome heroes, and feisty, sensitive heroines, Nora Roberts's latest thriller meets the same standards of terror and romance that made last year's River's End a bestseller. This time, our heroine Tory Bodeen has returned to her hometown of Progress, South Carolina, to face the fearsome memories of her childhood friend Hope's death and rebuild her life in a town that once betrayed her.

Struggling to balance the disturbing recollections, Tory finds comfort in the arms of Hope's older brother, Cade Lavelle. Though she sets about developing relationships with old friends and establishing her own business, Tory's worst fears come true and her past catches up to her: Tory's unique role in Hope's death makes her not only the focus of the Lavelle family's hatred, but the next choice for Hope's killer, who is still at large.

With the same skills that earned her the honor of being the first Romance Writers of America Hall of Fame inductee, Roberts weaves a winning blend of mystery, terror, and romance that loyal followers and new fans will enjoy immensely. Sure to be another bestseller, Carolina Moon will keep your heart beating in triple time.


Christmas in Harmony
Christmas in Harmony
Author: Philip Gulley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/26/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this series very much!


Crazy Ladies
Crazy Ladies
Author: Michael Lee West
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/4/2006


very entertaining.


The Fifth Profession
The Fifth Profession
Author: David Morrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/12/2006


From David Morrell, bestselling author of First Blood, Assumed Identity, Extreme Denial, and Burnt Sienna, comes a spectacular thriller that takes the reader beyond the limits of suspense....

TWO MASTERS OF PROTECTION. ONE DESPERATE MISSION.

Savage is a former Navy SEAL and state-of-the-art security specialist. Teaming up with him is Akira, Japan's most brilliant executive protector and a samurai master. Their mission: to rescue Rachel Stone, a beautiful American woman who faces destruction at the hands of her ruthless billionaire husband.
Savage and Akira quickly realize they are trapped in a mission more far-reaching than saving one woman. For they are bound to each other by a set of horrifying memories, a terrifying past that never happened. And only together can they confront the nightmare. Yet when they do, an even more chilling scenario awaits them - one with the power to shatter not only their world but ours as well.


First Partner, The : Hillary Rodham Clinton
First Partner, The : Hillary Rodham Clinton
Author: Joyce Milton, Sandra Burr
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/4/2006


Very informative. You come a way with a better understanding of Hillary Clinton.... who she really is, what drives her, and why she's reacted to situations the way she has.


Here On Gilligan's Isle
Here On Gilligan's Isle
Author: Russell Johnson, Steve Cox
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/9/2006


Anyone who was a fan of this show will definitely enjoy this behind the scenes look at the stories and actors of Gilligan's Island.


Holding Out (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Holding Out (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Anne O. Faulk, Alison Fraser (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/4/2006


FUNNY! Proves again that you can't outsmart a woman! :)


Home to Harmony
Home to Harmony
Author: Philip Gulley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/26/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this series very much!


I Know This Much Is True
I Know This Much Is True
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 2/7/2007


This story was excellent..... I didn't want it to end!


I Think I'M Outta Here : A Memoir of All My Families
I Think I'M Outta Here : A Memoir of All My Families
Author: Carroll O'Connor
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/16/2006


Carroll O'Connor is nothing like Archie Bunker! It was pretty good. He gives the details surrounding the suicide of his son, Hugh O'Connor.


If Only It Were True
If Only It Were True
Author: Marc Levy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 6/4/2006


Interesting concept!


Life Goes On (Harmony, Bk 5)
Life Goes On (Harmony, Bk 5)
Author: Philip Gulley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/26/2006


I enjoyed this series very much!


Life's Little Annoyances: True Tales of People Who Just Can't Take It Anymore (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 6/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Humorous! Some things you'd be tempted to do, and others you've never thought of doing.... until now!


Lindbergh: The Crime
Lindbergh: The Crime
Author: Noel Behn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


For anyone who has heard about the Lindbergh kidnapping and believes the kidnapper was caught, this book will bring out the facts of that crime and lead you to a different conclusion.


Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time
Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time
Author: Valerie Bertinelli
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 11/1/2008


Really good book. It was interesting to find out that the "girl next door" really wasn't. She has the same doubts and insecurities as the rest of us!


Marriage at Murraree (McIvor Sisters, Bk 2) (Harlequin Romance, No 3863)
Review Date: 6/11/2006


Discovering her late father was a billionaire cattle king makes Casey McGuire one of the famous "McIvor heiresses". She's worked hard all her life, and she's never had the prospect of money - until now. All she needs to do is journey into the Outback to find her roots...
As well as never knowing money, Casey has never truly known love. Irresistible cattle baron Troy Connellan is ready and willing to change all that. But can wary Casey let go of her past for a future with a rich, powerful, gorgeous man?


1 to 20 of 36 - Page: