Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Sara M. (rockmom66) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 48 - Page:
101 Things to Do with Ground Beef
101 Things to Do with Ground Beef
Author: Stephanie Ashcraft, Janet Eyring
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/5/2010


Nothing too new or exciting in this 101 Things to Do with....cookbook. Different and the usual versions of meatloaf, sloppy joes, etc. Never came upon a recipe that made me say "Oh, I never thought of that ?"


Alabama Moon
Alabama Moon
Author: Watt Key
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book. The characters were engaging and the story of Moon was appealing and yet wasnt overly "cute" . He had quirks as most young boys do. I feel the ending was wrapped up alittle to "nice" though.


Apocalypse End : Reign of the Dead
Apocalypse End : Reign of the Dead
Author: Len Barnhart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/20/2010


2nd in 2 part series. As with the 1st book, good zombie story. The survivors also have to survive the zombies as well as "radicals". If you like zombies, you will like this. Grab a zombie book every chance you get.


The Associate
The Associate
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 362
Review Date: 2/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed The Associate, not as much as some of Grishams other books though. For me it wasnt a fast page turner thriller. I was never on the edge of my seat, but I overall was pleased with it. I was disappointed with the ending. Had to check to make sure the last page was really the last page. Possible sequel ?


Bang Your Head : The Rise and Fall of Heavy Metal
Bang Your Head : The Rise and Fall of Heavy Metal
Author: David Konow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A informative book about the heavy metal/hard rock scene in the 80's, into early 90"s. Some of the behind the scene stories, most metalheads already would know, but it is also full stories and quips never made too public before. It gave a human edge to some of the rockers, we've seen onstage. I really enjoyed this book, and it made me "long" for the good ol' hard rock days.


Blue Heaven
Blue Heaven
Author: C. J. Box
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/6/2008


A great plot with good subplots. Does not get bogged down with all thats happening in the story, as some books can.


The Bone Bed (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 20)
The Bone Bed (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 20)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 3/22/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Kay & her associates hunt a killer targeting mature women. As like in the last few Scarpetta novels, Kay seems very hardened to me. Not quite as likable as in the beginning. I find her alittle snotty, noone is quite as smart as she is. I'm not sure why Marino sticks around except for the fact he loves Kay. It was still a good Scarpetta book, just wish more of her soft human side was shown,like her time in the kitchen.


Bones of Betrayal (Body Farm, Bk 4)
Bones of Betrayal (Body Farm, Bk 4)
Author: Jefferson Bass
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 2/13/2010


Another good read in the Body Farm series. I even got abit of a history lesson from it, learned some things I wasnt aware of. I like how the authors use real places and uses the real names and real jobs of some of the characters. Sometimes I wish Dr. Brockton was a tad more "manly" and not the object of peoples punch lines.


Cell
Cell
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 777
Review Date: 1/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


My favorite SK book yet. Some of his books can be abit hard to get thru due to so many characters or events taking place. I absolutely loved this book. Alot of my favorite books are about "the end of world" and making your way thru it. This was a very easy read. My husband even read it, and there are no pictures in it!!! I just wish this one would be made into a film.


Cherries in Winter: My Family's Recipe for Hope in Hard Times
Cherries in Winter: My Family's Recipe for Hope in Hard Times
Author: Suzan Colon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/31/2011


I very much enjoyed this book. Family history, family cooking traditions and making it thru "hard" times. The writing was easy reading and cozy, like a warm kitchen in the winter.


Children of the Dust
Children of the Dust
Author: Louise Lawrence
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/13/2012


I really enjoy apocalyptic/survival stories. I did like this book. The first part more so than the last half. It all of a sudden seemed to jump ahead 15-20 yrs, without and explaination. For being written in the mid 80's it is very true to date about people ruining the planet and ruining each other.


City Of The Dead (The Rising, Bk 2)
City Of The Dead (The Rising, Bk 2)
Author: Brian Keene
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 2/9/2008


The follow-up to The Rising. Find out what happens to Jim, Danny, Frankie,Martin and the others. A quick read, just as The Rising was. The zombies have more of a character role in this one. Another good one from Keene.


The Coupon Mom's Guide to Cutting Your Grocery Bills in Half
The Coupon Mom's Guide to Cutting Your Grocery Bills in Half
Author: Stephanie Nelson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 10/5/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Didnt really learn anything I didnt already know or do. There were a few good 'cheap' recipes that I will try.


Dark Hollow
Dark Hollow
Author: Brian Keene
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 4/22/2008
Helpful Score: 3


So far any book by Keene, has been worth reading. Dark Hollow is no different. Not as many "edge of your seat" moments as others I have read by him. Still very good, he has quite the imagination. Not for people who get "offended" easily. I recommend it.


Darkness on the Edge of Town
Darkness on the Edge of Town
Author: Brian Keene
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 2/21/2010


While reading this , I had flashbacks to the book Under The Dome, movie The Mist and the TV series Lost. I am always excited to read a Brian Keene, this one just wasnt didnt live up to the others though. Left me saying "huh" alot of the time, maybe a sequel is in the future ? If you're a Brian Keene fan, you will want to read it though, just for the simple fact that it is the work of Brian Keene.


A Day No Pigs Would Die
A Day No Pigs Would Die
Author: Robert Newton Peck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 1/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Oh you know whats going to happen a few pages in, but think maybe not! I love books about families struggling to get by, but they never see it as struggling. My 15 yr old daughter also read this, and really enjoyed it.


Dead City (Dead World, Bk 1)
Dead City (Dead World, Bk 1)
Author: Joe Mckinney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 5/20/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I had to make myself finish this book. Just alittle to slow and predictable for me. Not a page turner, the "hero" didnt have to try alot to get away from the zombies, everything sort of fell into place for him.


Dead Harvest
Dead Harvest
Author: Anthony Giangregorio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/31/2011


A good zombie survival read, not my favorite from Giangregorio, but still good. The characters are evolving as are the zombies !


The Dead Walk Diaries: Night
The Dead Walk Diaries: Night
Author: Joe Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book . Being a die hard zombie fan, I wanted more though. What happened to so and so after their last diary entry ? If you like the aspect of trying to survive zombie plagues, this is good. Fast read.


Deadlands
Deadlands
Author: Scott A. Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Not what I was expecting. Drab writing , uninteresting characters. Not your typical zombie story, just not for me.


1 to 20 of 48 - Page:
Want fewer ads?