LaVonne W. (Grnemae) - , - Reviews

21 to 40 of 430 - Page:
Austin (McKettricks of Texas, Bk 13)
Austin (McKettricks of Texas, Bk 13)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 230
Review Date: 7/11/2010


A wonderful conclusion to the trilogy. This book can stand alone but it is best to have read Tate and Garrett first.
I liked Austin and Paige and loved the humor that was used to develop their relationship.
A must read.


The Bachelor (Reid Brothers, Bk 2) (Harlequin Historicals, No 743)
The Bachelor (Reid Brothers, Bk 2) (Harlequin Historicals, No 743)
Author: Kate Bridges
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/30/2010


The Mountie always gets his man and in this case he is using new crime solving techniques that no other Mounties have heard about nor believe in the value of them. But Mitch Reid is determined to use these new techniques to absolve the brothers of the women who won him in a carnival game. While he has no interest in a permanent relationship with a woman, Mitch can't stay away from Diana Campbell who is hiding secrets that she does not want the Mountie to know.
As their attraction grows for each other, they must learn to trust each other and to not let the events of the past dictate the future.


A Banbury Tale
A Banbury Tale
Author: Maggie MacKeever
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/9/2007


A 29 yr old widow decides that she will never marry again and announces it to society. This does not stop the widow from liking and taking advantage of being courted by an eligible suitor. He keeps asking for her hand in marriage and the widow continues to say no. Enter a young woman making her society debut and the suitor takes notice. The widow does not want to give up her place as society's darling so to keep them guessing she comes up with some wild and slightly wicked things to do.


Battleground (Corps, Bk 4)
Battleground (Corps, Bk 4)
Author: W. E. B. Griffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 11/9/2007


A great telling of the battle for Guadalcanal. Authentic military information and lots of drama.


Beginnings (Sommerfield, Bk 2)
Beginnings (Sommerfield, Bk 2)
Author: Kim Vogel Sawyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 11/2/2008
Helpful Score: 8


I also was disappointed in this book. I enjoyed the first book in the series, but this just did not make me want to hurry up and find out what was next. A girl distrustful of men suddenly has 2 men who want to woo her and due to her fears and insecurities she is rude to both.
I found it hard to believe that the girl who moved to Sommerfeld against her will and a non-believer, now wants to dedicate her talents to God and continue to live in a Mennonite community where she does not feel welcome or accepted. Also how she found her stained glass talent skill is never explained. It is hard to accept that she is self taught and could take on the large projects that she has signed commissions to produce.
I was however glad to see her renewed commitment to family and to see the benefits that she reaped as well as the feeling of belonging that she finally obtains.


Benjamin (Circle Eight, Bk 8)
Benjamin (Circle Eight, Bk 8)
Author: Emma Lang
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/2/2017


A wonderful conclusion to the Circle Eight series. I have wanted Benjamin's story for a long time and it was worth the wait.


Beyond Betrayal (Legendary Lovers)
Beyond Betrayal (Legendary Lovers)
Author: Christine Michels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/9/2007


A story of a modern-day-well 1887- Samson and Delilah. Samson found strength and reserve in the town of Red Rock, MT. Enter Delilah Sterne, a raven haired widow, who will knock down the pillars around Samson and win his heart.
A fun read.


The Bishop's Daughter (Daughters of Lancaster County, Bk 3)
The Bishop's Daughter (Daughters of Lancaster County, Bk 3)
Author: Wanda E. Brunstetter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 2/6/2007


The last book in the trilogy, this is the story of Leona and Jimmy. Jimmy struggles to find who he really is and where he belongs in the world. Leona struggles with personal pain and heartache. A touching love story and a nice wrap up to the trilogy. A very enjoyable read.


The Bishop's Wife
The Bishop's Wife
Author: Mette Ivie Harrison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/29/2018


A young wife and mother missing. An dying man overly worried about his garden. Normal or not normal?
Linda Wallheim does not think it is normal and she wants to know the why's.
A stay at home Utah Morman housewife who is married to the Bishop often called the father of the congregation she starts asking questions and is soon involved in things that might have been better off left alone. Even when asked to be involved she over does.
This is really 2 mysteries inside the story of a woman learning who she really is and not who she is supposed to be. Several times I thought I had the mysteries solved only to have the story take another twist.


Blessings (Sommerfield, Bk 3)
Blessings (Sommerfield, Bk 3)
Author: Kim Vogel Sawyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 11/6/2008


As with all of the books in the series, I enjoyed this book but I wanted more, lots more. This book ended at the point where I wanted more information about what is next for Trina and Graham. How do they overcome the bumps that are in the way of fulfilling Trina's dream? Being allowed to follow her dream is one thing but what is next? Hopefully Sawyer will continue their story in another book.


Blood Of Roses (Scotland Trilogy, Book 2)
Blood Of Roses (Scotland Trilogy, Book 2)
Author: Marsha Canham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 6/22/2011


Sequel to "The Pride of Lions". Read it first for the story background. This book contains lots of historical information. The author does an excellent job of combining both real and fictional characters to tell the story of the Jacobite War which tried to put Charles Stuart on the throne of Scotland and England.
The battle scenes at Culloden are haunting. I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning to finish the book as it was so gripping a story I could not put it down.
I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys good historical fiction.


Blue Flame (Firefighters, Bk 2)
Blue Flame (Firefighters, Bk 2)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 1/25/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Jake Rawlins defines himself by his occupation and the women he can date. Callie Hayes defines herself by her occupation and the men she will not date. Neither thinks much of the other. Thrown together they must learn to trust as they struggle to determine who is trying to harm one or both of them. Side stories also abound with the group of self described "misfits" that work for Callie. What defines a family - blood or something else. This was a wonderful story and I really enjoyed it.


The Book of Mentalism
The Book of Mentalism
Author: Tom Mason, Dan Danko, John Railing, Danny Orleans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A book written for kids about mental magic tricks. Learn such tricks as making 4 cards lost in a deck appear at the top of the deck, naming a card chosen by a volunteer, predicting a word from a book that a volunteer will pick or determining the name of a president on a piece of paper selected by a volunteer. Lots of fun tricks to read about and learn.


Borrowed Light (Borrowed Light, Bk 1)
Borrowed Light (Borrowed Light, Bk 1)
Author: Carla Kelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/4/2015


Julia Darling is a graduate of the Boston based Fannie Farmer's Cooking School who is engaged to a "great" catch. At least that is how everyone other than Julia feels. She ends her engagement and decides on a whim to respond to an ad by a desperate longtime rancher in Wyoming who is looking for a mature graduate of the Fannie Farmer's Cooking School to cook at his ranch. When she arrives in Wyoming her thoughts about what a longtime rancher would be and Paul Otto's idea of what a mature cook would be are very different than what they see in front of them. They begin an ongoing verbal sparring match which I found to be very funny. I do not know if the author intended that to be the reader response but it was mine. He calls her by her surname only, Darling and she calls him Mr Otto.

When they arrive at the "ranch", Julia is horrified by the conditions of the house. The only redeeming thing in her opinion is the Queen Atlantic cook stove - the best of the best. The Queen has been sadly abused and Julia resolves to remedy that with love and lots of elbow grease as she needs it to make the meals she was hired to prepare. As she meets the various ranch hands she realizes that they are all misfits of some kind who have been taken in by Mr Otto. Over time they tell her the story of how they were rescued by Mr Otto and how he often refers to the fact that they were/are all beggers at some time in life. Julia is really taken by James the young boy Paul has taken in and who is afraid of the wind and being left alone and often has nightmares.

The ranch hands all leave on a cattle drive the day after Julia finally gets the Queen Atlantic cleaned so that she can start to use it to prepare meal. She eagerly anticipates their return and although she was told to have fried steak and hash browns she decides that is not good enough. She prepares a "proper" meal that when set in front of the ranch hands sends them all running to the bunkhouse to eat canned peaches rather than her food. Parts of her meal menu items would have sent me running away from the table also. Eventually she learns that plain simple meals not fancy cooking school meals are what the men want and readily eat.

Mr Otto starts to ask her questions about her religious faith and Julia starts to realize that while she says she believes the various aspects of her religion she is basing her belief on the opinions of others. The borrowed light of the title references her using not her own religious convictions but those of others to say she believes. Paul encourages her to explore her own beliefs and to find her own light. At least 1/4 of the book is related to her searching for her own light and while some reviewers did not like that, I did not mind. We all at some time explore our own religious beliefs.

Some long time secrets and mysteries are explored and resolved but not in the way I was expecting, There are several twists and turns along the way which added to my enjoyment of the book.


The Bounty Hunters
The Bounty Hunters
Author: Elmore Leonard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/10/2007


This is the novel that started the career of Elmore Leonard- all fans of his need to have this book.


Brady
Brady
Author: Jean Fritz, Jean Fritz
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 3/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A book for teens that explores the dilemma of a young man prior to the Civil War, who discovers someone in the community is helping runaway slaves and that his own father is involved in the slave controversy. A moving story of how he must determine his own feelings regarding slavery.


The Brethren (Annie's People, Bk 3)
The Brethren (Annie's People, Bk 3)
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 5/7/2007


A wonderful conclusion to the Annie's People trilogy. Ms Lewis develops rich characters that you care about. A page turner- very enjoyable read.


A Bride Most Begrudging
A Bride Most Begrudging
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 429
Review Date: 12/9/2009


This is the first book by this author that I have read and I really enjoyed it and will look for more titles by this same author.

The characters were smart, witty and while there was tragedy there was also lots of humor. Overall a great story.


Brides of Prairie Gold (Dangerous Men, Bk 2)
Brides of Prairie Gold (Dangerous Men, Bk 2)
Author: Maggie Osborne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 8/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was not at all what I expected in a historical romance - it was better than most I have read. Rather than being a straight forward romance it focuses on the desire within each of the mail-order brides to fulfill a dream, a chance for a new beginning and for a better life than what they have left behind. Pettiness, jealousy and anger give way to feelings of accomplishment and satisfaction as they realize that they can withstand the rigors of the trail and each woman struggles to become a better more complete person. Thrown into the mix is a mystery journal writer. Who is she and what is her goal and her desire? This book kept me on pins and needles as I tried to determine how each woman would react to the next hurdle placed in their way. This book has great potential as a bookshelf keeper.


Brides of the West Jumbo Reader: Faith / June / Hope
Brides of the West Jumbo Reader: Faith / June / Hope
Author: Lori Copeland
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


In order to not become a financial burden to an elderly aunt after the death of their parents, three teenage sisters decide to become mail-order brides.
This volume contains three complete books, each of which follows the journey that each of those sisters, Faith, Hope, and June take to find love and happiness in their lives.
I enjoyed all three stories but especially liked Hope's story. Ms Copeland strikes just the right balance between love, conflict, religious belief, and humor into each story. I would highly recommend this book to others.


21 to 40 of 430 - Page: