Facebook

Teresa D. (dykema) - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
All Around the Town
All Around the Town
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/16/2015


Very good read


Because of Winn-Dixie
Because of Winn-Dixie
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 208
Review Date: 2/16/2012


A time gone by and excellently recalled by the author. Innocence, unconditional love staunchly upheld between a child and pet - no other relationship comes close.


A Bride Most Begrudging
A Bride Most Begrudging
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 429
Review Date: 9/14/2011


I have read several books by this author and this one is the best, by far! I enjoyed it from cover to cover and could not put it down.


Caddy for Life : The Bruce Edwards Story
Caddy for Life : The Bruce Edwards Story
Author: John Feinstein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/3/2009


I don't know what I expected, but this book had it all. A chronicle of most of Tom Watson's career and the extraordinary professional and personal relationship that developed between Tom and Bruce over the years. The heartwrenching reality of dealing with ALS from the victim to those who loved him was also handled very well by the author. I highly recommend this book.


Chasing the Dime
Chasing the Dime
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 5/5/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book was riveting from the first paragraph. It kept me on the edge of my seat accompanying the man (Henry Price) through his desire to help "Lilly" and wondering how involved he would become in her life. The mystery of just how involved he would become and how dangerous his queries would be for either (or both) of them. A true page-turner.


Chasing the dime
Chasing the dime
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/17/2015


This is one of the best books I've read.....ever. It was off to a quick start and held my attention until the final period on the last sentence.

It was full of technology which was included as part of the plot in a very believable way. The technolgy became another character in the book - but, nothing too far "out there".

I would highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to read about a compassionate person dealing with his connection to someone he didn't even know at first. He was able to solve mysteries in her life by utilizing the technology he dealt with as part of his career knowledge base.

The title refers to fitting technology onto devices as small as a dime - therefore "Chasing the Dime" sized technology.


Duke, We're Glad We Knew You: John Wayne's Friends and Colleagues Remember His Remarkable Life
Review Date: 1/19/2012


It was very interesting to read what "The Duke"s friends and collegues had to say about him. Some of the stories were legends as he was and it was great to see the "back story" behind them.

After reading the individual anecdotes, I could better understand why John Wayne was a legend in his own time and why his popularity continues.


The Good Earth
The Good Earth
Author: Pearl S. Buck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 507
Review Date: 12/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book moved slowly in parts - but the story was Epic and very enjoyable.


1 to 8 of 8