Melody C. (Melody1959) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 60 - Page:
All He Ever Wanted
All He Ever Wanted
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 319
Review Date: 7/11/2007


Found this book kind of slow, didn't grab me like "Sea Glass". Still a worthwhile read but not my favorite by Anita Shreve.


As the World Churns (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 16)
As the World Churns (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 16)
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/17/2010


Good book


Bedeviled Eggs (Cackleberry Club, Bk 3)
Bedeviled Eggs (Cackleberry Club, Bk 3)
Author: Laura Childs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 1/11/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Overall I enjoyed the book which is third in the series. But I felt like the conclusion and reveal of the murderer was too quick and really from out in left field.If there were clues I totally missed them.Still a very enjoyable read.


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 6/19/2009


Wow! Loved this book. Really wanted to know more about Ave Maria and JackMac and I'm so glad that there are sequels!


Blackberry Pie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 18)
Blackberry Pie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 18)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 4/14/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Another Hannah Swenson mystery and still no resolution to the Norman or Mike question. And just to further frustrate you dear reader this book ends on a cliffhanger-arghh why do I even bother with this series any longer??
The recipes are still good but the plot was minimal- I'm not sure I'll read the next in the series.


Blue Shoes and Happiness (No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 7)
Review Date: 4/12/2009


Another wonderful and peaceful visit with my friends from Botswana.


A Bride Most Begrudging
A Bride Most Begrudging
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 429
Review Date: 6/24/2010


I enjoyed this book so much. I was disappointed in Courting Trouble but this one didn't disappoint. Good characters and plot moves along- this was a stellar first book


Cat Sitter on a Hot Tin Roof (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 4)
Cat Sitter on a Hot Tin Roof (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 4)
Author: Blaize Clement
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 8/23/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Another excellent book in the series. Enjoyed watching Dixie coming a bit more out her shell. Enough twists and turns to keep me interested-thought I had it figured out but then another twist.Has Dixie come to a resolution about Ethan Crane and Guidry?


Chocolate Cream Pie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 24)
Chocolate Cream Pie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 24)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/9/2019


Most of my enjoyment for this series has gone. This was a slight improvement over the last few books. If only for the fact someone universally disliked leaves Lake Eden for good.Many questions still unanswered at the end of the book. The big cliffhanger at the end... does Hannah live in a time warp where she's still living 35-40 years ago?
I'm glad I can borrow this series at my library because I won't waste money for so much fluff filling


Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 1)
Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 1)
Author: Blaize Clement
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 2/19/2009


I enjoyed this new series and new author. Glad to know there are more books to enjoy in the series. Kept my interest (I didn't cheat and read the last few pages) and although I kind knew who-dun-it there was a nice little twist at the end :)


Death of a Kitchen Diva (Hayley Powell Food and Cocktails, Bk 1)
Death of a Kitchen Diva (Hayley Powell Food and Cocktails, Bk 1)
Author: Lee Hollis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 12/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Death of Kitchen Diva was OK just okay.Since I've visited Bar Harbor and Mt Desert Island thought this would be a nice way to visit some familiar sites. Not much about the town or history. Characters just not fleshed out enough to maintain my interest in a series. Seems like they covered all the stereotypes;conservative zealot Mom,gay brother, earth mother friend, misspent youth love interest and the love triangle for main character. Recipes kind of blah- like Sandra Lee's semi-homemade especially with the cocktails.As the other reviewer mentioned editing of book needs tightening.I didn't hate the book but I won't be visiting with Hayley and friends again.


The Death of Pie: The new Pennsylvania Dutch mystery (A Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery)
Review Date: 6/9/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I did enjoy this series but this one just tries too hard to be funny. Too much- I endured 50 pages and that was enough.


The End of Summer
The End of Summer
Author: Rosamunde Pilcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 2/24/2019


Not my favorite Rosamunde Pilcher book. Ending a little too abrupt and ties up loose ends too neatly. Jane is so naive and young- she needs to experience more of life. But always a pleasure to visit Scotland again.


Evening
Evening
Author: Susan Minot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 2/25/2008


Can't really get into this book-very confusing. Will try it again in a few months


Every Note Played
Every Note Played
Author: Lisa Genova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/4/2018


I've enjoyed all of Lisa Genova's books. This one was not an exception with some reservations. I didn't like the main characters Richard and Karina for much of the book. They annoyed me with their pettiness and self centered behaviors. Both of them want to be the wronged one in their relationship and we all know both have faults and secrets.But in the end they did the good, noble, "right"thing and get to forgiveness of themselves and each other. Also I was left with wanting to know more about Bill- what is his story?


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2521
Review Date: 9/26/2007


This was a wonderful book.Quick read but leaves a lasting impression.


Flying Changes  (Annemarie Zimmer, Bk 2)
Flying Changes (Annemarie Zimmer, Bk 2)
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 3/23/2008


Very good book a little too tidy an ending but overall satisfying conclusion to Annemarie Zimmer's story.


Fortunately, the Milk
Fortunately, the Milk
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/4/2013


My son who's 11 years old really liked this book. A bit silly but he found many parts laugh out loud funny.
I enjoyed the illustrations and thought they really added to the story.


The Girl Watchers Club: Lessons from the Battlefields of Life
The Girl Watchers Club: Lessons from the Battlefields of Life
Author: Harry Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Quiet, thoughtful read from the "Greatest Generation".Group of WWII veterans share their wit and wisdom on variety of topics.


The Good Husband of Zebra Drive (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Bk 8)
Review Date: 5/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent as usual an engaging book. I love how these books take you to a simpler life


1 to 20 of 60 - Page: