DD O. (HumDD) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Blindsighted (Grant County, Bk 1)
Blindsighted (Grant County, Bk 1)
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 2/20/2010


Improbable crime, unlikeable characters, ridiculous assumptions, disgustingly detailed crimes, vague on story line details, trite ending. This was the 2nd Karin Slaughter book that I've read. Didn't like her the first time, and this one was just irritating. She's not on par with Patterson or J. Kellerman at all. Won't give her a 3rd go 'round.


Blown Away
Blown Away
Author: G.m. Ford
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/20/2011


The best of the series. Couldn't wait for the next one and found out there wasn't one. Darn!


Body of Lies (Eve Duncan, Bk 4)
Body of Lies (Eve Duncan, Bk 4)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 465
Review Date: 3/25/2016


Good book.


Burning Ghats (George Sansi, Bk 3)
Burning Ghats (George Sansi, Bk 3)
Author: Paul Mann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/15/2010


I really enjoyed all three of these George Sansi mysteries. The author brought India alive, and the mysteries are well constructed. I am sorry that the author passed away because this is a series I would have continued to read for years to come. I highly recommend these books.


Culture Wars: Documents from the Recent Controversies in the Arts
Review Date: 7/16/2008


Great book detailing the critical hoopla surrounding abstract expressionism and other lat 20th century modern art movements.


Die Trying  (Jack Reacher, Bk 2)
Die Trying (Jack Reacher, Bk 2)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 353
Review Date: 10/20/2015


Good read.Jack Reacher is a likeable protagonist.


Don't Talk to Strangers (Keye Street, Bk 3)
Don't Talk to Strangers (Keye Street, Bk 3)
Author: Amanda Kyle Williams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/16/2016


Love this series.


The emerald city of Oz
The emerald city of Oz
Author: L. Frank Baum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/4/2008


I loved these books as a girl. This copy is in excellent condition. I was given to me in 1974.


Endurance : Shackleton's Incredible Voyage
Endurance : Shackleton's Incredible Voyage
Author: Alfred Lansing
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/11/2011


Slow start and the end notes were a little tedious, but the book itself was an amazing story and well told. If I hadn't known these guys survived to the end, I might not have finished it because their ordeal was so overwhelming. People today can't fathom the amount of human endurance required of those in times past. This book is part suspense, part history, and part action / adventure....with a good dose of humanity thrown in. Excellent read.


Ganja Coast (George Sansi, Bk 2)
Ganja Coast (George Sansi, Bk 2)
Author: Paul Mann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/8/2010


I liked this one as much as the Season of the Monsoon. The writer paints a picture that is vivid: both fascinating and repulsive. The mystery is well thought out and the ending is a bit of a surprise. If you liked the first one, you won't be disappointed with this 2nd Sansi mystery.


Gone for Good
Gone for Good
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 506
Review Date: 6/5/2011


A good mystery with a few twists and even an ending I didn't quite figure out. All loose ends nicely tied up at the end which I like.


Infinite Jest
Infinite Jest
Author: David Foster Wallace
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/29/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of the most amazing books I've ever read. A difficult read for sure...and don't skip the end notes! There are ideas in this book that are still with me today and probably coming true as we speak. The book is written in so many voices, and reads a lot like we experience life...in odd, seemingly unrelated bits....but as I read on I made connections and the story "became". There's several stories going on actually but they do intersect. A book I'd love to read again but not sure if I'd make it through. Non-linear, and both serious and funny. All this written by a 20-something genius. I give it a 5 star rating. Not for the faint of heart readers. It is not a casual read, but it's excellent.


Nuclear Jellyfish (Serge A. Storms, Bk 11)
Nuclear Jellyfish (Serge A. Storms, Bk 11)
Author: Tim Dorsey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 8/13/2010


Another wild ride with Serge! I always enjoy the Tim Dorsey books.


The Patchwork Girl of Oz (His The famous Oz books)
The Patchwork Girl of Oz (His The famous Oz books)
Author: L. Frank Baum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/4/2008


I loved these books as a girl. This copy is in excellent condition. I was given to me in 1974.


Port Mortuary (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 18)
Port Mortuary (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 18)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 9/4/2011


When did Kay Scarpetta become such a whiner? Too much self centered introspection. Not enough mystery. I have now lost interest in every main character. Plus the story was choppy at best. Done with this series.


The Scarpetta Factor (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 17)
The Scarpetta Factor (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 17)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 1/16/2011


Mostly character study..weak mystery...hastily wrapped up ending. Not her best.


Season of the Monsoon
Season of the Monsoon
Author: Paul Mann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/29/2010


A good read. Fast paced and interesting.


Stranger in the Room (Keye Street, Bk 2)
Stranger in the Room (Keye Street, Bk 2)
Author: Amanda Kyle Williams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/3/2016


Good read.


The stranger you seek
The stranger you seek
Author: Amanda Kyle Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/16/2015


Fast paced twists and turns. Really good read.


Tricky Business
Tricky Business
Author: Dave Barry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 2/24/2011


A fun ride.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: