Facebook

Rose H. (kiorabree) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 36 - Page:
Allegiant (Divergent, Bk 3)
Allegiant (Divergent, Bk 3)
Author: Veronica Roth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 10/12/2014


I'm always torn when an ending results in many losses in some key characters. On one hand I appreciate the more realistic "unhappy-ever-after"; that even when you win, you often still lose in significant ways. Yet I still want the characters I've become invested in to have a well deserve happy ending. D*mn you, Disney.


Animals in Translation: Using the Mysteries of Autism to Decode Animal Behavior
Review Date: 1/16/2012


Temple Grandin is amazing. She can be a bit repetitive, but if you can get past that everything else is spot on and perfect.


The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Bk 4)
The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Bk 4)
Author: Rick Riordan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 9/3/2013


Very much enjoyed this segment of the story. Perhaps even a bit more than the first which up til now was my uncontested favorite. Excitedly picking up the last installment now.


Beautiful Ruins (P.S.)
Beautiful Ruins (P.S.)
Author: Jess Walter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 10/12/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I think that I liked this more than most I've talked to about this book. Yes, most of the characters were self-absorbed and a bit annoying at times but I found it a bit amusing when these characters collided getting in each others' way. "They deserved each other," I told my mother who was also reading this story and was finding their selfishness tiresome.

Though I understand why one might feel indignant toward these annoying people on behave of the few redeeming characters that found themselves hindered by the plethora of 'take, take, take...' personalities. I actually was pleased to see that the more likable characters simply moved on. They took the knocks, said, "to hell with this", and found a way step away on their own terms. It was refreshing.


The Blood of Olympus (Heroes of Olympus, Bk 5)
The Blood of Olympus (Heroes of Olympus, Bk 5)
Author: Rick Riordan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/12/2014


I find that the series I enjoy the most leave me with the conflicting feelings of closure and yet also of bereft. It's the magical combination of good, well told story and characters that you just don't want to let go.
For me, I know where most of the characters are heading, what most likely trajectory their paths futures hold. But I'm dieing to know more details about Leo's, Nico's, and Reyna's future.


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1656
Review Date: 1/16/2012
Helpful Score: 1


An interesting sequel. I was a bit bored with the retelling of game preparations and the Peeta or Gale dilemma, but the game itself was compelling.


City of Ashes (Mortal Instruments, Bk 2)
City of Ashes (Mortal Instruments, Bk 2)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 3/21/2014


I will admit, upon deciding if I wanted to read this series, I picked up the first three books and read the description on the back. It still interested me, though I was a bit disheartened by the fact that it took two books for the 'star-crossed' lovers to apparently fall in love. Deciding to give it shot, I read the first book and found the twist at the end of the first book to be an appropriate excuse for the delay in the relationship. However, the second installment was just as tiresome as feared in the anxiety filled teen romance department. Affection for the side characters was what kept me reading to the next chapter, and - I almost hate to admit - to the next book.
I due hope, for the sake of the "minor" characters, the central characters get their act together soon.


City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels
Review Date: 8/12/2014


After getting through the beginning, which I feared was heading down a very formulaic road, it managed to hold my interests. What was appealing was the side characters, an advantage that many fail to capitalize on. When readers are more invested those associated with the main characters, it makes them still likable even when the story takes them to a place the reader may not want.

Because of this, the author was allowed to make twist in the book that I had briefly suspected but thought she wouldn't risk. I applaud her chancy move despite the fact that I believe she recants the twist - turns the 180 to a full 360, if you will - based on the some of the synopses I've read of the next three in the series.


City of Bones (Mortal Instruments, Bk 1)
City of Bones (Mortal Instruments, Bk 1)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 657
Review Date: 3/21/2014


After getting through the beginning, which I feared was heading down a very formulaic road, it managed to hold my interests. What was appealing was the side characters, an advantage that many fail to capitalize on. When readers are more invested those associated with the main characters, it makes them still likable even when the story takes them to a place the reader may not want.

Because of this, the author was allowed to make twist in the book that I had briefly suspected but thought she wouldn't risk. I applaud her chancy move despite the fact that I believe she recants the twist - turns the 180 to a full 360, if you will - based on the some of the synopses I've read of the next three in the series.


City of Glass (Mortal Instruments, Bk 3)
City of Glass (Mortal Instruments, Bk 3)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 283
Review Date: 8/12/2014


As mentioned before, a once over of the back of the fourth book already revealed the big twist at the end so I can't honestly say that I would have predicted the outcome. However, if I hadn't, I would be highly surprised as the author eluded and ushered the reader, quite unsubtly, to the big revelation in only 1.75 books.
Thankfully, the resolution between Alec and Magnus only took 1.5 ;) Though it took the Luke/Jocelyn item 3 whole volumes, plus a whole lot of history.


City of Heavenly Fire (Mortal Instruments, Bk 6)
City of Heavenly Fire (Mortal Instruments, Bk 6)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 10/12/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I will admit that I started this series hot expecting much: a rehash of Twilight - teen angst romance wrapped in shiny black pleather. And the first two did only little to contradict my suspicions. However, it improved almost exponentially with each book.

It's rare that I am pleased with the wrap-up when a series comes to an end, but this was near perfect. I say near because it's never fun to say goodbye to characters (mainly the side characters) that you've grown to care for, yet this one is a nice blend of bittersweet. It wasn't a fairytale ending with losses, sacrifices, and pieces left unresolved, an appreciative tip to real life and a promise of what's to come in the next series.


Clockwork Angel (Infernal Devices, Bk 1)
Clockwork Angel (Infernal Devices, Bk 1)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 165
Review Date: 10/12/2014


My one complaint is that two of the characters seem to simply be a rehash of Clary and Jace, but like the Mortal Instrument series, the side characters were amazing and entertaining.


Clockwork Prince (Infernal Devices, Bk 2)
Clockwork Prince (Infernal Devices, Bk 2)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 10/12/2014


I'm greatly enjoying this series. Even more, I think, than The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones; City of Ashes; City of Glass.

Slightly less teen angst and a bit more realistic in the love triangle department. It's perfectly conceivable that a person can have more than one true love and that it can come in different shapes, sizes, & forms. So far, I understand that it would be difficult for them to step so far out of the social morals and try to care for each equally, I simply hate to whole idea of not tell the truth to those you proclaim to love.

The only frustrating part, now this is mostly personal, is it's presumed that to love more than one person could only cause hurt feelings and broken friendships. As if loving a second means you're loving the first less. Of course, it is realistic to the culture and the times, so I understand it. I just don't like it.


Clockwork Princess (Infernal Devices, Bk 3)
Clockwork Princess (Infernal Devices, Bk 3)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 10/12/2014


Found the characters, all the characters, funny and engaging. Loved the idea that a love triangle can exist in which there's no two vying for all the heart of one, but that the three love each other equally. I could have fully understand that if these three had been upfront and honest, they might have found a way to have a happy three part relationship. Of course the issues of societal acceptance and the individual problems with personal mores, was nicely settled by other factors.

My only frustration with the characters was that they were too good, too honorable, and too self-deprecating that at times, I wished they would simply get off their high horse once before they were knocked off.


The Death Cure (Maze Runner, Bk 3)
The Death Cure (Maze Runner, Bk 3)
Author: James Dashner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 12/30/2014


The series ended as I thought it should have begun, but I enjoyed the journey none the less.


Divergent (Divergent, Bk 1)
Divergent (Divergent, Bk 1)
Author: Veronica Roth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 459
Review Date: 3/21/2014


Excellent story with periodic surprises and twists throughout. Excited about the next book.


For the King
For the King
Author: Catherine Delors
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/16/2012


Found this to be interesting from the beginning, but felt it waned a little as the story went on.


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2467
Review Date: 1/16/2012


Excellent! I'd have to highly recommend to almost anyone. I admit that in the beginning, I thought if Hilly wasn't a bigoted bitch she'd probably be a nice person, but it soon became clear she was just a bitch!
Sometimes when I watch a film before I read the book, Im a little disappointed by the book, but I believe both were perfect in their depictions. The book simply heightened the feels I already had with the movie.


The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Bk 5)
The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Bk 5)
Author: Rick Riordan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 9/3/2013


Nice final edition to the story. While the almost Hollywood ending was a bit disappointing, there were enough surprising twists and unexpected lost characters, that it remained compelling if not frustratingly long to reach the end.

What I appreciated was that the hero believed to have initiated the crisis at hand and was to play a vital role in the outcome, did have an important decision but not the kind expected.


Leven Thumps and the Eyes of the Want (Leven Thumps, Bk 3)
Review Date: 12/30/2014


Interesting. I'm not quite sure where this series is going, but I'm somewhat enjoying the ride. The problem with this odd story is I'm not sure if and when the author is being or trying to be metaphorical.


1 to 20 of 36 - Page: