Melissa K. (MelissaK) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
98 Reasons for Being
98 Reasons for Being
Author: Clare Dudman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/5/2007


This book was fascinating----mid 19th century German life in an insane asylum. I was unable to put it down. I think this would make an excellent book club book.


Baker Towers
Baker Towers
Author: Jennifer Haigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 10/3/2007


I could not put this book down !!!! Great book


Blue Water
Blue Water
Author: A. Manette Ansay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book was absolutely fabulous !!!! I don't know why it was not a best seller. It was eloquently written involving a difficult subject--death of a child. A must read !!!!!! !


The Book of Ruth
The Book of Ruth
Author: Jane Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 2/23/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This was a terrific book. I could not put it down. Wonderful must read.


Borrowed Finery: A Memoir
Borrowed Finery: A Memoir
Author: Paula Fox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/27/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked this book ! Sad story about how a young girl gets shuttled around in her young life.


The Cobra Event
The Cobra Event
Author: Richard Preston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 1/7/2008


Scary !!!! I bet this kind of thing could happen !!


Dark at the Roots: A Memoir
Dark at the Roots: A Memoir
Author: Sarah Thyre
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 1/11/2008
Helpful Score: 5


This book was absolutely uproarious !!!!!! You will laugh until you cry ...... and remember your childhood at the same time !!! You must read this,


The Doctor's Wife
The Doctor's Wife
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 668
Review Date: 8/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


It's interesting how she started with "the end" and intricately plots it from there. I didnt much care for the characters in the book, though. Touchy subject matter--abortion, adultery, drugs, you name it. I liked it but not one of my favorites.


How to Be Lost
How to Be Lost
Author: Amanda Eyre Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 552
Review Date: 8/31/2007


This book was terrific. I could not put it down. I cannot understand why this is not a bestseller !!!


The Ivy Chronicles
The Ivy Chronicles
Author: Karen Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 1/7/2008


Fun book !!! Hard to believe that this was based on a true story and hard to believe that there are people in the world like this !!! Hilarious


The Ivy Chronicles
The Ivy Chronicles
Author: Karen Quinn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 11/30/2007


HILARIOUS !!! How much truth is in this ?? No idea, but hilarious nonetheless.


Light on Snow
Light on Snow
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 553
Review Date: 2/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this book but I wish it had a different happier ending


Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 404
Review Date: 7/25/2008


I love the way Jennifer Weiner writes !! This is a great, fun, and at times even heartwrenching read. Hilarious one minute and sad the next. I read Good in Bed and In Her Shoes and this one is just as good if not better than the rest.


Love Walked In
Love Walked In
Author: Marisa de los Santos
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 9/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A little sappy but a nice story nonetheless


A Map of the World
A Map of the World
Author: Jane Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 532
Review Date: 4/20/2008


A great book. Heartwrenching !!!


Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
Author: John Berendt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 612
Review Date: 6/3/2008


This was a fantastic book !!! It reads like a thriller and there are hilarious turns throughout. A must read.


Midwives
Midwives
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1157
Review Date: 9/14/2007


A must read---couldnt put it down !


One True Thing
One True Thing
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 4/6/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This was a great book--very, very sad but I could not put it down . A must read


Open House
Open House
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 355
Review Date: 1/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was laugh out loud funny !!!


Pandemic
Pandemic
Author: Daniel Kalla
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 1/7/2008


I thought it was very believable !!!! A good page turner


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: