Diane M. (bookaholic) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 63 - Page:
1001 Ways to Cut Your Expenses
1001 Ways to Cut Your Expenses
Author: Jonathan D. Pond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/27/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Who isn't trying to make that dollar stretch a little farther these days? This book will definitely give you many ideas to help you do that. The author is the Financial Planning Correspondent for the Today Show so he knows what he is talking about.


The Amish Bride of Ice Mountain (Ice Mountain, Bk 1)
The Amish Bride of Ice Mountain (Ice Mountain, Bk 1)
Author: Kelly Long
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/25/2018


If you like Amish romances with an original story, give this one a try. The hero and heroine could not be more different. Jude is a well educated, wealthy Southern man who is an unbeliever. Mary is a shy, poor Amish girl who has lived her whole life on Ice Mountain. There is a small Amish settlement that is very isolated and the people in it live more like they did a hundred years ago. There are a lot of twists and turns in the story to keep it very interesting. I loved the characters of Jude and Mary and the rest. All in all, it was a sweet romance and a great start to Kelly Long's Ice Mountain series.


Belle: An Amish Retelling of Beauty and the Beast (An Amish Fairytale)
Belle: An Amish Retelling of Beauty and the Beast (An Amish Fairytale)
Author: Sarah Price
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/5/2018


I have read many good Amish romances and found this one to be especially well-written. The Beauty and the Beast theme was very interesting with Amish characters. If you want a good enjoyable read, give this one a try. It was the first book I have read by this author but it won't be my last.


The Best of Favorite Recipes from Quilters: Main Dishes
Review Date: 7/27/2008


This is an adorable little book with 63 pages of recipes for Main Dishes (Pasta, Vegetables, and Meats.) This is one of a series. The other ones are Breads, Desserts, Pies, Salads, and Soups. I wish that I had those also. The recipes are good.


The Bisquick Cookbook
The Bisquick Cookbook
Author: Betty Crocker
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 7/27/2008


This is a classic cookbook that users of Bisquick will turn to time and time again. The spiral binding makes it user friendly. Easy, tasty recipes!!!


Breaking Silence (Kate Burkholder, Bk 3)
Breaking Silence (Kate Burkholder, Bk 3)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 7/24/2011


Linda Castillo's newest book in her Kate Burkholder series is a fast paced excellent read like the two previous ones in this series. I believe it is the best one yet. Great characters and so many twists and turns make this a very riveting read--a true page turner.


Caesar's Hours: My Life in Comedy, with Love and Laughter
Review Date: 5/23/2006


This is a touching, wise, lively, and funny autobiography by one of comedy's funniest. A good read!


Can't Wait to Get to Heaven
Can't Wait to Get to Heaven
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/27/2008


This was a very enjoyable read like all of Fannie Flagg's books and I highly recommend it. The amazing story how one woman touched so many lives is a real page-turner and thought provoking story without getting "preachy". There is hardly a page that didnt't make me smile, chuckle or downright laugh out loud---a must read.


Cape Light (Cape Light, Bk 1)
Cape Light (Cape Light, Bk 1)
Author: Thomas Kinkade, Katherine Spencer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 7/27/2008


This book was a joy to read. The citizens of this quaint little town are an interesting mix of different personalities and their story held my interest. I can't wait to read the rest of the series!


Catching Christmas
Catching Christmas
Author: Terri Blackstock
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/11/2019


I discovered this author's suspense books this year and loved them. This was not suspense but a wonderful original Christmas story. The three main characters were Finn, the cab driver, Callie, an aging and sickly elderly woman and Sydney her granddaughter. It is such a great story with a big helping of humor and also many touching and thought provoking moments.It was one of those books that you don't want to stop reading because you want to see what happens next but hate to see the story end. I hope Ms Blackstock writes more stories about Finn and Sydney. I would love to read more about these delightful characters.


Christmas After All: The Great Depression Diary of Minnie Swift, Indianapolis, Indiana, 1932 (Dear America)
Review Date: 10/27/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Although this book is for children, I enjoyed reading it too. It was an endearing and realistic story from a young girl's perspective of living during the Depression. It is well written and entertaining yet gives a real feel for the era. Minnie's diary will make you laugh and cry. I would recommend it to children as well as adults.


The Christmas Box
The Christmas Box
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 2/25/2006


A touching Christmas classic that you will love!


Christmas Holly
Christmas Holly
Author: Christine Bush
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/3/2018


This was a cute "feel good" Christmas story to put you in a holiday mood. An enjoyable read!


Christmas with the Carmichaels
Christmas with the Carmichaels
Author: Christine Bush
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/1/2018


This was a cute Christmas story by an author I just discovered recently. This is the third book of hers that I enjoyed. However, what took away from this story was all the proofreading mistakes. Grrrrr.......


Christmas With the Cat Lady
Christmas With the Cat Lady
Author: Christine Bush
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/15/2018


This was a new author for me but I love Christmas stories and thought I would give it a try. I have to say that this was one of the best I have read. It was sweet without being sappy. It was very touching with great characters. It makes you smile and also makes you cry. It is a keeper!


Cut Throat (Cat Dupree, Bk 2)
Cut Throat (Cat Dupree, Bk 2)
Author: Sharon Sala
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 3/17/2019


I loved the first book of this series and this one was even better. I fell in love with the characters even more. The action was non-stop and I could not put this book down. I could not wait to find out what happens next and can't wait to read the third in the series BAD PENNY. Super read!!!


Deserts of the Heart (Sons of Earth and Wind, Bk 4)
Deserts of the Heart (Sons of Earth and Wind, Bk 4)
Author: Barbara Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/21/2006


This is Book IV of Barbara Clark's Sons of Earth and Wind Series.A good read---combining two of my favorite kinds of romances--sheik and paranormal all in one. Add lots of suspense and adventure and you have Faith and Kadar's exciting story. Fortunately each story in this series can stand alone and doesn't have to be read in order. I am now in search of her other romances.....


Eat Cake
Eat Cake
Author: Jeanne Ray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 4/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Every one of Jeanne Ray's books is a delight and this one is no exception! ......

EVER SINCE CHILDHOOD, RUTH HAS FOUND BAKING CAKES TO BE A SOURCE OF RELIEF FROM THE STRESSES OF LIFE. AND NOW----AS HER HUSBAND LOSES HIS JOB, HER LIFE-OF-THE-PARTY FATHER ARRIVES FOR AN EXTENDED STAY (MUCH TO THE DISMAY OF HER MOTHER, WHO ALSO MOVED IN RECENTLY), AND HER TEENAGE DAUGHTER PERFECTS THE ART OF SULKING---RUTH IS GOING TO NEED SOME SERENITY. BUT SHE ALSO NEEDS A PLAN. BECAUSE WITH FUNDS RUNNING LOW AND TEMPERS RUNNING SHORT, HER FAMILY REQUIRES MORE THAN THE PERFECT SWEET.
IT IS GOING TO BE UP TO RUTH TO SAVE THE DAY, AND LET THE CRUMBS FALL WHERE THEY MAY......

From the first page or two, you are hooked--- the characters are so real and their sometimes tender, sometimes humorous story is so interesting. An added plus are the recipes in the back of the book of all the cakes that Ruth made in this story.

In one word.... EAT CAKE is.......D E L E C T A B L E !!!


The Everyday Life Bible: The Power of God's Word for Everyday Living
Review Date: 10/25/2012


I grew up with the KJV bible but I love to also read other Bibles.This book was on my wish list for a long time and I finally just bought it. I have her original amplified hardback version of this and knew that it was so helpful with all her insights, comments and information throughout it. It has really been a great help to understand in Joyce Meyer's down to earth easy to understand language. It is a study Bible that I have enjoyed and learned so much from. That said, this leather version is just beautiful with its original pewter hand tooled look leather cover. It is a wonderful addition to my keeper shelf.


The Five People You Meet in Heaven (Large Print)
The Five People You Meet in Heaven (Large Print)
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 7/27/2008


Wonderful book! I enjoyed it.


1 to 20 of 63 - Page: