Kinyorda S. - Reviews

21 to 40 of 66 - Page:
The First Day of the Rest of My Life
The First Day of the Rest of My Life
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/23/2013


Officially done with Cathy Lamb books. So far from the beautiful place that Julia's Chocolates and Henry's Sisters came from. She has come across as very bitter in the last couple of books. Lots of rambling suffering. No real story for three quarters of the book. Unsatisfying resolution in the end. A disappointment.


Following Atticus: Forty-Eight High Peaks, One Little Dog, and an Extraordinary Friendship
Review Date: 4/11/2013
Helpful Score: 2


This is an excellent book. At times the author is a little wordy but considering his profession that is understandable. It is so refreshing to read a true to store that hasn't been exaggerated to Disney proportions. A must read for dog lovers and nature lovers alike.


New York
New York
Author: Edward Rutherfurd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 10/20/2013


This books starts excellently. A perfect blend of historical facts and fictional characters. As the generations pass, it is more difficult to keep track of who everyone is and from who they came. A family tree updated at the beginning/end of each era would be helpful. If you are going to read this book, I recommend you keeping your own family tree tracking to keep up with what's going on. The book should have stopped in the 60's. After that, not as much depth and less of a historical feel than a sitcom. Plus no resolution for Master's Native American descendants and their connection to his white family. Hi hopes but disappointing in the end.


Freedom:
Freedom:
Author: Jonathan Franzen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 4/9/2011
Helpful Score: 4


The book is held up as one of the greatest books of all time and I just don't get it. I don't mind long books with a lot of descriptive language but often the author seems to write to impress himself. I forced myself to finish the book with the hopes that all the suffering would lead to a great ending but it did not. Dissapointing, long and overrated.


The Ginger Tree
The Ginger Tree
Author: Oswald Wynd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 12/29/2011


I'm glad it wasn't a completely unhappy ending but the book dragged for most of it. Not a lot of detail for some of the more important events in her life (birth of baby, affair, etc). Maybe the reader is expected to use their imagination but the author might take more time to build the story rather than waste pages on unimportant facts about topics unrelated to the story.


Gone (Wake, Bk 3)
Gone (Wake, Bk 3)
Author: Lisa McMann
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 3/15/2013


Not as good as the first two. It almost feels like McMann is setting us up for a fourth book. In the first two books the story was built around the cases and Janie's life. In this book there are no cases and no real progress in her life so it drags at time. No high school, no college, no cases. A disappointment after two good books.


Henry's Sisters
Henry's Sisters
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 12/28/2012


Julia's Chocolates is one of the best books that I have read. It was the first chick lit that didn't feel like chick lit. After reading it I put every Cathy Lamb book on my reading list. The Last Time I Was Me wasn't as good a read but it was still pretty engrossing. Henry's Sisters is not as good as either of these books. I don't know if Cathy Lamb has had a horrible life but it sure reads that way. These books are here therapy and she uses them to work out years of anger. The formula is essentially the same with each book, with the characters and drama becoming more extreme with each book. A disappointing turn from such a promising author.


The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Hitchhiker, Bk 1)
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Hitchhiker, Bk 1)
Author: Douglas Adams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 690
Review Date: 1/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I just don't get the hype. Hard to follow. No real logical story line. If you like Monty Python, you will like this book.


Honky
Honky
Author: Dalton Conley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/30/2013
Helpful Score: 2


A great book. The author's upbringing is both fascinating and depressing. His unique position as a poor, white kid trying to fit in showed how racism and class status manifest themselves in this country. A must read.


I'll be Home Soon! How to Prevent and Treat Separation Anxiety
Review Date: 3/9/2013


A great resource for people with dogs with separation anxiety. No new information for people who are familiar with the area but nice to have a refresher with all the info in the same place.


In the Lake of the Woods
In the Lake of the Woods
Author: Tim O'Brien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 12/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I wasn't sure about this book at first. It started very slow and I wasn't sure what direction the author was going. Once you get past the setup the book is a great read. It is booth too disturbing to read and to enthralling to put down. I like the open-endedness of the ending No matter which way it truly turned out it is tragic tale of the long lasting effects of war and family dysfunction.


Jessica Lost: A Story of Birth, Adoption & The Meaning of Motherhood
Review Date: 9/23/2011


Very creative format. It is interesting how similar the birthmother and adopted daughter's lives are even though they are appart for so many years. A little slow in the beginning when they are giving the background info and would have liked more information on their lives as adults towards the end but overall a good read.


The Journal of Best Practices: A Memoir of Marriage, Asperger Syndrome, and One Man's Quest to Be a Better Husband
Review Date: 1/27/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This is a must read for anyone who's ever been in a relationship. It shows us that we're all somewhere on the spectrum and that being a good spouse might take a little work. It is nice that the author is so open but it is difficult to understand why his wife stayed silently unhappy for so long. Asperger or not, these problems should have been confronted long ago.


Julia's Chocolates
Julia's Chocolates
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 1/3/2012


Like every Cathy Lamb book I have picked up I have loved the characters, become obsessed with the story and finished reading in just a few days. Yes, at times things can be a little predictable but always a great read. It's nice to have intelligent "chic lit" out there as a buffer between the heavier reads. Sometimes you just need a nice light read.


Killing Floor (Jack Reacher, Bk 1)
Killing Floor (Jack Reacher, Bk 1)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 12/10/2013


A nice quick read but a little over the top. It's like a Sylvester Stallone or Bruce Lee movie where one guy continues to beat the odds in fights 30 to 1. It gets old pretty quickly. Even if the other guys have machine guns and they have him surrounded, Reacher still manages to get away. I have a feeling all of the books follow the same formula: Guy minding his own business gets pulled into solve a crime. Has short lived passionate love affair but can't stay in one place so he leaves her behind (or she gets killed by the bad guys). Leaves town to go back to his peaceful life after saving the day. The book was well written but I don't think I'll read another Reacher novel.


The Last Time I Was Me
The Last Time I Was Me
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 1/24/2012
Helpful Score: 3


Not as good as Julia's Chocolates or Such a Pretty Face but has a similar type of story line. It was hard to like the heroine for the first 100 pages or so but the story improved after that. There were too many extraneous characters to keep track of so it was difficult to stay connected to the main character. A little too over the top in some places but still an enjoyable read.


The Leopard (Harry Hole, Bk 8)
The Leopard (Harry Hole, Bk 8)
Author: Jo Nesbo, Don Bartlett (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 9/9/2013


This is a good book but it is not as good as the Snowman. If I read this book before reading the Snowman my expectations would not have been so high. A little confusing trying to keep all the characters straight at the end. Definitely a suspense novel with plenty of twists but maybe one too many in the end. Not as rewarding as Nesbo's earlier books but still a good read.


Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)
Author: Jenny Lawson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 9/22/2013
Helpful Score: 4


If you like Chelsea Handler and Sarah Silverman, this is the book for you. But for me, it was a little too much schtick and not enough substance. Lawson truly has had an unbelievable life and experiences that are hard to believe. Everything is not a joke waiting for a punchline. I like the funny take on some horrific situations but when she can't get through a paragraph without an anecdote it turns into a gimmick. It just stops being entertaining after a few chapters. She's trying way too hard to convince us that she's okay to truly be okay. Therapy is probably a good idea.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3373
Review Date: 11/16/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book is so overrated. Between the author trying to justify why it's better for animals to live in captivity and then showing multiple examples of why that's not true and then the awful brutal way that animals die in the book it's difficult to get to all this deep sybolism that people are raving about. The book moves very slowly at points and in the end I'm not really sure what the purpose of all the suffering was.


Lost & Found (Rocky Pelligrino, Bk 1)
Lost & Found (Rocky Pelligrino, Bk 1)
Author: Jacqueline Sheehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 490
Review Date: 10/28/2013
Helpful Score: 1


What a great read. Chick lit at it's very best. Tragedy, rebirth and redemption. A quick read that will pick up your spirits and make you want to live life to the fullest. For dog lovers and anyone who has ever lost someone they love.


21 to 40 of 66 - Page: