Dawne P. (ladeemist) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter, Bk 1)
Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1365
Review Date: 8/10/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Sherrilyn Kenyon has the wonderful talent to bring her characters to life. You can not go wrong with this book. If you read this one, you will be "hooked" for the rest of the series! If you like Paranormal Romance, you will LOVE this one!


Hide and Seek (Sisterhood, Bk 8)
Hide and Seek (Sisterhood, Bk 8)
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 1/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I've read all previous 7 Sisterhood books and thoroughly enjoyed each one. When the Sisterhood Series ended, I felt as if I lost some great friends because Fern Michaels' characters really come to life. I was so pleased to see that these awesome women continue with The Rules of the Game. This is the first in the second series and is as great as all the others. If you have ever experienced injustice read these series and just see what these ladies can do!!! Awesome read.


Holly
Holly
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Loved it--kept my interest the entire time. Jude Deveraux has a way of pulling you into the story so that you just can't put the book down. Holly has some interesting characters, and has a good ending.

Holly is an heiress from a very wealthy family. When she is thirteen years old, she falls in love with Lorrie, a sixteen year old from an old family. They spend the summer together and she never has gotten over him. When Holly grows up and is planning on seeing Lorrie again, she runs into Nick Taggert. She has a passionate affair with Nick, but Holly hopes to end it because Nick is not "marriage material" because, she thinks he's just an average working man and not someone suitable for someone like her. Yes, she is a bit of a snob, but a lovable snob. There is also a conspiracy brewing to murder Holly for her millions. Who should she trust? Lorrie or Nick?
A quick and enjoyable read!


The Loop
The Loop
Author: Nicholas Evans
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 260
Review Date: 3/23/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Oh, where do I begin with this one? Interesting plot; a well-told, engaging drama with very well developed characters who are believable. These characters will remind you of people you know. There are several sub-plots (involving romance, suspense, struggle) going at once which adds to, not take away from the story. If you liked The Horse Whisperer, you will LOVE The Loop.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading and learning about the environment of wolves, the toil of ranchers and trappers, and how simple--and hard--life can be in beautiful Montana. I found it very educational about the lives of wolves. This book tells the real truth of how wolves have been hunted and destroyed.

Although this is a good book, it is also very sad in parts. I loved this, but being a wolf lover it was so hard to read at times. It's so sad to know that there are people that would really want to destroy wolves. The Loop actually had me laughing at times and then brought me to tears. I knew what was going to happen in one partdreaded itthen when it did happen, I cried so hard I had to put the book down because I couldnt see to read it. Now, when a book can move you to tears, you know you are really caught up in it.

This is a must-read, and also highly emotionally charged, this is a book that will change your views about wolves and also about human nature. I cried a few times, and that doesn't happen very often when I read a book.

The story turns and quickly moves to its breathless conclusion.


The Loop
The Loop
Author: Nicholas Evans
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Oh, where do I begin with this one? Interesting plot; a well-told, engaging drama with very well developed characters who are believable. These characters will remind you of people you know. There are several sub-plots (involving romance, suspense, struggle) going at once which adds to, not take away from the story. If you liked The Horse Whisperer, you will LOVE The Loop.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading and learning about the environment of wolves, the toil of ranchers and trappers, and how simple--and hard--life can be in beautiful Montana. I found it very educational about the lives of wolves. This book tells the real truth of how wolves have been hunted and destroyed.

Although this is a good book, it is also very sad in parts. I loved this, but being a wolf lover it was so hard to read at times. It's so sad to know that there are people that would really want to destroy wolves. The Loop actually had me laughing at times and then brought me to tears. I knew what was going to happen in one partdreaded itthen when it did happen, I cried so hard I had to put the book down because I couldnt see to read it. Now, when a book can move you to tears, you know you are really caught up in it.

This is a must-read, and also highly emotionally charged, this is a book that will change your views about wolves and also about human nature. I cried a few times, and that doesn't happen very often when I read a book
The story turns and quickly moves to its breathless conclusion.


Never Doubt My Love (Harlequin Romance, No 3146)
Never Doubt My Love (Harlequin Romance, No 3146)
Author: Katherine Arthur
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/23/2009


She'd jumped at the chance of nursing Lincoln Snow. After all, the now prominent stockbroker had once been the object of her schoolgirl dreams. Gradually, under her care, Lincoln was soon on the road to recovery and the bond forming between them seemed unbreakable.
Then his evil nephew Tyler stormed into their lives, churning up memories of Lincoln's dead wife, Magda. That was when Cassie realized her only competition was the devastating power of the past.


Pulse Points (Harlequin Romance, No 3157)
Pulse Points (Harlequin Romance, No 3157)
Author: Heather Allison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/23/2009


The sweet smell of success! Hillary Simpson craved it. And for a perfumer, success meant a hit fragrance with international distribution. Paul St. Steven, who was associated with the renowned - and very traditional - French fashion house of St. Etienne, represented her big chance. He was tall, dark and handsome, the epitome of the French romantic hero. And he knew how to act the part, courting her with roses, champagne, diamonds...the works. That was the problem. When it came to Hillary Paul seemed interested only in romance, not business. But when it came to Paul, Hillary wanted both.


The Three of Us (Harlequin Romance, No 3297)
The Three of Us (Harlequin Romance, No 3297)
Author: Samantha Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/23/2009


Well, she did trespass, and her cat had attacked him. But Deanna didn't knowingly break up her neighbor's business meeting, and as for willfully damaging his house--that was ridiculous. But this was the last straw! How dared Lee Stratton accuse her of kidnapping his orphaned eight-year-old niece?

Their unneighborly skirmishes were on the verge of turning into all-out war when the unimaginable happened. Lee Stratton apologized; he even smiled at Deanna. If he hadn't, she wouldn't have considered his business proposition that she baby-sit Mickey for the summer. Now, remembering that oh-so-disarming smile, she could only come up with one drawback to his proposed arrangement. It was strictly business.


Tsunami
Tsunami
Author: Gordon Gumpertz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/9/2010


First Line: The container ship Moro Prince, bound from Manila to Los Angeles, had enjoyed three days of smooth sailing.

I love books about natural disasters: tornadoes, hurricanes, volcanoes, earthquakes, etc. It's the simple desire to see humans triumph over seemingly overwhelming odds.

A huge underwater volcano out in the middle of the Pacific is ready to blow. The result of this eruption is a 200-foot tidal wave which will hit Southern California. Millions of people could die. Seismologist Leilani Sanches has been watching this volcano, and believes this will indeed come to pass. The trouble is, when she tries to alert people, no one really wants to listen...especially real estate developers, gun runners, other sleazy capitalists and especially the educational facility she works for because they are looking for financial backing.

The plot of a natural disaster (the underwater volcano eruption and the following tsunami) was very interesting to read especially the facts which were brought out. When these events occurred, I was glued to the pages. Although I felt their effect on the Southern California coastline could have been brought out more.
The characters needed more development. Most of the people seemed to be rather incidental instead of a major part of the story. The relationship Leilani had with her co-workers, family, crazy ex husband, and Dave (the coast guard officer) needed more depth. The author started bringing in more characters, showing us what happened to them when the Tsunami was about to hit. This would have been a powerful addition if these characters had shown up earlier and been developed so the reader could get to know and care about them.

All in all, I'm glad I read the book because it did contain a lot of information that fascinated me. For a character-driven reader like myself, Tsunami was a bit of a letdown, but I will be on the lookout for other books by this author.


Weekend Warriors & Payback (2-in-1 Book)
Weekend Warriors & Payback (2-in-1 Book)
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 3/5/2009
Helpful Score: 7


Weekend Warriors is a MUST READ book for any woman who has been unjustly treated. This is the first book in a series about women who came together to form the "Sisterhood". It all began with a birthday celebration dinner at a restraunt for wealthy Myra Rutledge. Her daughter went to get a camera from her car when she was killed by a hit-and-run driver with diplomatic immunity. Myra went on to bring the Sisterhood, a secret vigilante group of women who have been unable to seek justice through lawful means, together. This book begins the awesome stories of the sisterhood and the many different ways they get their justice. You will not beable to read just one book in this series because it has you glued to the pages and wanting more and more.


1 to 10 of 10