Hilary (technobookworm) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 115 - Page:
Adored (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Adored (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Tilly Bagshawe, Sonya Walger (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book was interesting and action packed. There were many characters with many different issues. It overall had a happy ending and lots of ups and downs.


Aromatherapy : The A-Z Guide to Healing With Essential Oils The Essential Healing Arts Series (The Essential Healing Arts Series)
Review Date: 10/20/2009


I was disappointed in this book because it is more of a natural healing type book (use this herb to solve this common problem, etc) I was looking for a book that went into detail about different smells, and only what the scent could do for you, not the oil/seeds/leaves, etc of various plants. This book will be fine if you are just interested in natural healing. I think the title is misleading.


A Basket of Wishes
A Basket of Wishes
Author: Rebecca Paisley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 5/4/2008


This is a very cute romance. I loved the elements of magic thrown in. The characters are charming and the story moves quickly.


The Beauty Bible: The Ultimate Guide to Smart Beauty
The Beauty Bible: The Ultimate Guide to Smart Beauty
Author: Paula Begoun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/9/2010


Tons of helpful information. Definately a good reference.


Before Thanksgiving Comes (Family Man) (Harlequin Superromance, No 811)
Review Date: 12/10/2010


This was a nice fall/Thanksgiving read. Interesting characters, all dealing with their own issues. Enjoyed it!


The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3)
The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 471
Review Date: 3/11/2007


This book was okay. It had some pretty scary parts, but sometimes the descriptions seemed to drag on. I also didn't really like the endingI think it could have been a lot spookier with a different ending!


Cage of Stars
Cage of Stars
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 9/20/2008
Helpful Score: 5


This was a good book about a girl's struggle with tragedy in her life. There was a really heavy emphasis on Mormon religion, which for me just made the story more authentic and interesting, but it might put some people off. Overall, I enjoyed it.


Cakes: 1001 Classic Recipes : 1001 AUTHENTIC RECIPES
Cakes: 1001 Classic Recipes : 1001 AUTHENTIC RECIPES
Author: Reader'S Digest
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/11/2007


I love to bake, but this cake book is too hard for me! I could not make any of the recipes work, and this is not a problem that I usually run into. I think this book would be better off with someone more experienced.


The Captain's Lady
The Captain's Lady
Author: Jo Goodman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 7/9/2009


This story has great characters, just the right amount of history, and lots of adventure. From the very beginning there is a clear plot, and it is not just about the love relationship. The heroine is a very strong and empowered lady. I enjoyed this book!


Chances
Chances
Author: Jackie Collins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/20/2006


This is an entertaining, fast moving story. I enjoyed it a lot. It does have a lot of swearing, sex, drug use, etc.


Child of the Phoenix
Child of the Phoenix
Author: Barbara Erskine
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/17/2008


Great historical novel with a paranormal element and romance! The story follows a woman from her birth through her death, and all of her extraordinary experiences. It takes place in Wales, England and Scotland.


The Christmas Dog
The Christmas Dog
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/30/2010
Helpful Score: 5


Cute story, quick and easy Christmas read! I was afraid it was going to be depressing and have a sad ending, but the story never really got too deep, and there was a happy resolution.


Christmas in Key West (A Little Secret) (Harlequin Superromance, No 1528)
Review Date: 12/30/2008


I loved this Christmas romance set in Key West! The setting was very fun, and quite true to what Key West is really like. There was also a little bit of "paranormal" thrown in. The characters were likeable and funny. I enjoyed it!


Colony
Colony
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 2/9/2007


This book was an interesting story about several generations of families that summer in Maine. It was quite long, but was easy to read.


The Cowboy And The Angel (Harlequin American Romance, No 1236)
The Cowboy And The Angel (Harlequin American Romance, No 1236)
Author: Marin Thomas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/4/2009


This was a pretty good book, although there were aspects to the story that didn't seem beleivable.


Deadly Night (Flynn Brothers, Bk 1)
Deadly Night (Flynn Brothers, Bk 1)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 1/15/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is a great paranormal suspsense story. I really enjoyed it, and plan on reading the other 2 books in the trilogy!


The Devil Wears Prada (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 4/26/2007
Helpful Score: 5


GREAT great book!!! It was entertaining, funny (really funny at times), and completely enjoyable. The reader of this story does an excellent job of making distinct voices, adding just the right pauses, inflections, etc. to make it seem so real, not like she is simply reading a script.


Dirty
Dirty
Author: Megan Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 5/30/2008
Helpful Score: 2


The characters in this book are very realistic. This book did have some very hot and explicit sex scenes, but really for the most part this story focused on how the main character dealt with issues from her past. The subject matter was very serious, and on the depressing side. I enjoyed the book but expected a more light hearted story line.


Dog Years: A Memoir
Dog Years: A Memoir
Author: Mark Doty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/23/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is a very moving story about a man's close relationship and appreciateion of his dogs. The writing is very beautiful, funny at times, and makes you think.


Don of the Dead (Pepper Martin, Bk 1)
Don of the Dead (Pepper Martin, Bk 1)
Author: Casey Daniels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 2/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book and got through it very quickly. The main character is very likeable. This was a little bit of a mystery, paranormal, and fun chic lit. I also liked that this was not so much a romance as there was no "guy gets girl" scenario. I also liked that the ending let you know there would be more to come... I will be reading more to find out what!


1 to 20 of 115 - Page: