Hilary (technobookworm) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 115 - Page:
The Dragon and the Jewel  (Medieval Plantagenet, Bk 2)
The Dragon and the Jewel (Medieval Plantagenet, Bk 2)
Author: Virginia Henley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 3/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is about a strong willed Princess and a handsome War Lord and their love for each other. It is pretty steamy.


Dream When You're Feeling Blue
Dream When You're Feeling Blue
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 7/25/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is a great book that takes place during WWII. I loved the interactions and relationships of the sisters. They were very realistic. This book was really entertaining and enjoyable, but also very moving at times.


Dust Devil
Dust Devil
Author: Rebecca Brandewyne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/3/2006


I enjoyed this book. The characters were interesting, the writing style was a pleasure to read and was realistic and natural, the story line was unique and included suspense and a few tear jerking moments. There was more than just a romance in this story. I plan on reading more by this author!


Dying to Sing (Charlie Plato)
Dying to Sing (Charlie Plato)
Author: Margaret Chittenden
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The main character was likable, and had a good sense of humor. This book had several funny lines, and some mystery. The main characters tried to do all the sleuthing on their own, and there aren't enough clues to let you guess the truth until the end. Overall it was a nice cozy read.


East of the Sun
East of the Sun
Author: Julia Gregson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/30/2010


This book takes you on a trip to India! Overall it was a good book. Basically follows a group of women over a several year period. Some excitement... some romance...


Eternity (Immortal Witches, Bk 1)
Eternity (Immortal Witches, Bk 1)
Author: Maggie Shayne
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This is a very good book that is part historical, part paranormal. There is a lot about reincarnation or immortality in here, and the ending gets you ready for the sequel. I definately enjoyed it!


Everyone Worth Knowing
Everyone Worth Knowing
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 404
Review Date: 2/5/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I loved LOVED this book! It was funny, romantic, heartwrenching at times... I really felt for the characters.


The Ex-Wife's Survival Guide
The Ex-Wife's Survival Guide
Author: Debby Holt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 4/12/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book is a humorous, fast read. Sarah's husband has just left her and she is trying to put the pieces of her life back together. I got to know the characters so well, and felt inspired by them. I really grew to know them and will miss reading the story.


Eyes of Crow (Aspect of Crow, Bk 1)
Eyes of Crow (Aspect of Crow, Bk 1)
Author: Jeri Smith-Ready
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 7/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book wasn't exactly what I expected, and I have never really read fantasy before, but this book was great. It was very easy, smooth reading, and the story line was vivid and captivating. I was very caught up in Rhia's world, and loved the way the author phrased things and showed you what the characters were thinking and feeling. This book is the first of a trilogy, and I already ordered the second book. I can't wait to start!


The Face
The Face
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 1/16/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyable, exciting read. Storyline moves along quickly, and this book is scary!


Falling for the Teacher (Harlequin Superromance)
Falling for the Teacher (Harlequin Superromance)
Author: Tracy Kelleher
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/10/2011


Just finished this... The characters made me laugh at times, and the grandma in the story was a great character and inspiring. It is a sweet romance... I had hoped for more, but it was at least an OK read.


Family Tree
Family Tree
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 4/24/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This book is about racial equality, family history, practicing what you preach, etc. I didn't really like this book very much, mostly because the situations seemed just too contrived and everything that was occurring all in the same time frame made it really unbelievable. It was interesting to hear what the characters said about racial equality, and did give me something to think about.


Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter, Bk 1)
Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1365
Review Date: 1/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a pretty spicy romance that includes characters from ancient Greece, and gods. There was a lot of action, but I don't know if I really loved it. It wasn't really a page turner, and the fantasy part of it was sometimes a little hard to follow or take seriously.


Ferney
Ferney
Author: James Long
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/10/2011


This is a really good book about past lives, it had a great ending! I recommend this book!


The Florida Keys : A History  Guide, Ninth Edition (Florida Keys)
The Florida Keys : A History Guide, Ninth Edition (Florida Keys)
Author: Joy Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/15/2006


This guide book of the Florida Keys is written in a readable way, and also includes illustrations and historical information.


The Fool's Tale
The Fool's Tale
Author: Nicole Galland
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/14/2006
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book!! It is a great story. There is excitement, romance, deceit, war, a very exciting read.


A Frontier Christmas
A Frontier Christmas
Author: Madeline Baker, Robin Lee Hatcher, Norah Hess, Connie Mason
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/9/2010


I was kind of disappointed in this book. The first story didn't even mention Christmas until the very last few pages. I expected more than that. The second story was better, but still not really engaging. I stopped reading after the second story because I really lost interest.


Ghost Moon (Bone Island, Bk 3)
Ghost Moon (Bone Island, Bk 3)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 1/5/2011


This is the only book I read in the series, and I enjoyed it! I thought the main character, Kelsey, was sweet. I loved reading the details about the Keys, since I love it there! The mystery was interesting and kept me turning pages. I thought the ending was a little rushed and missing some details... but overall it was a good quick read!


The Girl Who Stopped Swimming
The Girl Who Stopped Swimming
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 9/20/2008


I enjoyed this story about a young woman dealing with a tragedy. The relationship between the sisters was very interesting. There were many different underlying stories that were connected in some way during the story. I was a little disappointed with the ending. It seemed a little too "hollywood".


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 5/14/2007


This author is great, I love her writing. I laughed many times during this story, but it also deals with serious subject matter and I really start to care about the characters.


21 to 40 of 115 - Page: