Elizabeth W. (pandagirl) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
By Reason of Insanity
By Reason of Insanity
Author: Randy Singer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/2/2009


Excellent read! I thought this one was deliciously scary! Fans of the TV shows Ghost Whisperer and Medium will probably enjoy this book.


The Cathy chronicles
The Cathy chronicles
Author: Cathy Guisewite
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/18/2012


This collection contains the earliest Cathy comics. I enjoyed it and had a good laugh. - Elizabeth


Circumstantial Evidence : Death, Life, And Justice In A Southern Town
Review Date: 4/7/2012


Excellent true crime story. Fans of "To Kill A Mockingbird" take note - there are definite connections between Harper Lee's novel and this true story.


Don't Talk to Strangers (Keye Street, Bk 3)
Don't Talk to Strangers (Keye Street, Bk 3)
Author: Amanda Kyle Williams
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/22/2016


I have really enjoyed this whole Keye Street series. Keye is a great character. These books are well written and defiantly have some moments of humor. I recommend them to mystery fans. I also recommend that you read the series in order for maximum enjoyment.


Extra Cheesy Zits: A Zits Treasury
Extra Cheesy Zits: A Zits Treasury
Author: Jerry Scott, Jim Borgman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/5/2016


Yeah Zits! This was soo funny. I really enjoyed it.


The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, Bk 1)
The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 11/8/2009


The Eye of the World is an excellent shepherd/ farm boy/ nobody to hero story, in which an attack on his village forces Rand Al' Thor and his companions to leave their home and embark on an epic journey complete with a variety of magical beings, legends, prophesies, and people who can talk to wolves. Robert Jordan does an impressive job of creating his own fantasy world with its own history, customs and species. The Eye of the World is the beginning of an eleven book fantasy series, but it does have a satisfying ending and can stand by itself whether or not you choose to read the rest of the books in the Wheel of Time series.


Finding Your Way in a Wild New World: Reclaiming Your True Nature
Finding Your Way in a Wild New World: Reclaiming Your True Nature
Author: Martha Beck
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/11/2012


Martha Beck's plan to heal the world. Absolutely fabulous. Martha Beck rocks!!!


The Forgotten (John Puller, Bk 2)
The Forgotten (John Puller, Bk 2)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 11/17/2012


The character of John Puller, whom Baldacci fans first met in Zero Day, returns in this novel. Lots of action and suspense, and a little military flavor mixed in. If you liked Zero Day, you will probably like this book too. As this book deal with trouble and adventures in Florida, it may appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen as well.


A Foundation in Wisdom
A Foundation in Wisdom
Author: Robert Loyd Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/15/2013


"A Foundation in Wisdom" is the debut novel written by Professor of Mathematics, Dr. Robert Watson. It is an epic fantasy that includes math, a road trip, and philosophical questions. Watson has created quite the cast of heroes and villains. The story begins with Sheridan entertaining his traveling companion with a story. The protagonist of the story Sheridan tells is Marcus, a mathematician who faces questions such as, "what if you could prove the universe out of existence?" The author's sense of humor shines throughout the whole novel, so while this story deals with some deep philosophical questions, it does so in a way that makes you laugh. "A Foundation in Wisdom" is a journey worth taking and thoughts worth pondering.


Guilt by Association
Guilt by Association
Author: Michael Farris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/15/2010


I really enjoyed this book - it kept my attention all the way through. I especially loved the scene in Spokane, Washington's Riverfront Park.


Handle with Care
Handle with Care
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 429
Review Date: 11/8/2009


Handle with Care is the story of Willow O'Keefe. Willow is a kindergartner who was born with osteogenesis imperfecta, a genetic condition that causes her bones to be extremely brittle and break extraordinarily easily. Willow even broke bones in utero. She has broken an extraordinary number of bones already and spent most of her life in pain and in a cast of one kind or another â and she's only 5 years old! In an attempt to raise money to offset Willow's medical expenses, her family instigates a âwrongful birthâ lawsuit against the obstetrician who provided prenatal care to Willow's mother, claiming that the doctor did not diagnose Willow's condition early enough in the pregnancy to give the parents the option of terminating the pregnancy. To add to the drama, the obstetrician and Willow's mother were best friends and continued to be best friends until the day that the O'Keefes filed the lawsuit. Also, Mr. and Mrs. O'Keefe were not on the same page regarding the lawsuit, which led to much fighting that Picoult's readers eavesdrop upon. Willow's older sister, Amelia, must compete with Willow for their parents' attention and deal with the normal teen angst and acting out as well as a chronically ill sibling. This novel has much to hold the reader's attentionâ law, medicine, and family dynamics.


Hate Crime (Ben Kincaid, Bk 13)
Hate Crime (Ben Kincaid, Bk 13)
Author: William Bernhardt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 8/11/2012


Excellent legal thriller! It has an interesting social issue and some great courtroom scenes. I really have enjoyed this whole series. - Elizabeth


The Heart of a Killer (Killer, Bk 1)
The Heart of a Killer (Killer, Bk 1)
Author: Jaci Burton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 1/15/2017


Fabulous!! loved it!! great romanic suspense.


The Innocent (Will Robie, Bk 1)
The Innocent (Will Robie, Bk 1)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 4/22/2012


Another winner from Baldacci.


The New Art of Living
The New Art of Living
Author: Norman Vincent Peale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/12/2009


Excellent, as all Norman Vincent Peale's books are. This book is probably the most literary of all his books. He refers to several poems and other works of literature.


Port Mortuary (Scarpetta, Bk 18)
Port Mortuary (Scarpetta, Bk 18)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 3/30/2013


I was kinda surprised to see that Port Mortuary was getting such poor reviews because I really got into and enjoyed it. There are several mysterious/suspenseful situations introduced early in the book that made me want to keep reading to see how they are resolved or explained.


Power of the Plus Factor
Power of the Plus Factor
Author: Norman Vincent Peale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/31/2009


Norman Vincent Peale gives us some good, positive thoughts and inspirational stories in this book. I highly recommend it.

- Elizabeth


Premeditated Murder
Premeditated Murder
Author: Ed Gaffney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/29/2011


Good legal thriller with a political twist. I enjoyed it.


Presumed Guilty: Casey Anthony: The Inside Story
Presumed Guilty: Casey Anthony: The Inside Story
Author: Jose Baez
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/10/2012


I found this book to very well written and engaging. He really does present a lot of the behind the scenes information about the Casey Anthony case and the trial. I was left with the impression that Jose Baez has a great deal of determination, intelligence, and integrity as well as a sense of humor.


Reckless Homicide
Reckless Homicide
Author: Ira Genberg
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/18/2010


Reckless Homicide is a top notch legal thriller. I "flew" through this trial involving an airline, an airline pilot, the pilot's brother, and a airplane crash. It raises a good question - who is responsible when a plane goes down? The ending completely took me by surprise. I highly recommend this novel.


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: