Facebook

Alicia M. (wordgeek) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 468
Review Date: 7/11/2010


this book was not nearly as wonderful as Lovely Bones was. i went into it knowing that it wouldn't be, and i tried hard to like it, but it just didn't feel real to me. and as a person who works with dementia patients, i found the story and the main characters' actions insincere and somewhat offensive.


The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living
The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living
Author: Dalai Lama, Howard C. Cutler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 5/6/2008


my first introduction to the teachings of the dalai lama, this book will be with me always. he truly is a great teacher.


Barrel Fever: Stories and Essays
Barrel Fever: Stories and Essays
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 398
Review Date: 7/11/2010


what can i say? i LOVE david sedaris! every book i read is my favorite, until i read the next. this one was great, as per usual.


Clean Your House The Lazy Way
Clean Your House The Lazy Way
Author: Barbara Durham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/11/2010


basic and logical techniques that are sometimes filed away and forgotten like the rest of the clutter in our house. this book is a good reminder to think outside of the box, but that some of the old ideas that our grandmothers used are still worth something. plus, i found a few tips that i'd never heard before!


The Complete Idiot's Guide to Handwriting Analysis, 2nd Edition (Complete Idiot's Guide to)
Review Date: 7/11/2010


LOVE this book! pretty comprehensive, yet easy to understand. lots of samples to look at from many famous (and infamous) characters in history.


Do Fish Drink Water? : Puzzling and Improbable Questions and Answers
Do Fish Drink Water? : Puzzling and Improbable Questions and Answers
Author: Bill McLain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/11/2010


fun book for curious minds, young and old. targeted mostly at young adults, but still fun to look through.


Dress Your Family in  Corduroy and Denim
Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/11/2010


my first david sedaris book. absolutely loved it, and have read all of his books now. david sedaris is funny, offensive, pathetic, and wonderful all rolled into one big gay guy. actually, i think he's quite small, but still gay.


Easy Russian Phrasebook & Dictionary
Easy Russian Phrasebook & Dictionary
Author: Ann Rolbin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/11/2010


this book has kept my son busy for hours since i got it for him. great for beginners!


Eat This, Not That!
Eat This, Not That!
Author: David Zinczenko, Matt Goulding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 279
Review Date: 7/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


good book with lots of practical advice. if you have trouble dieting, or 'don't believe' in dieting, this is a good tool for helping you choose foods that are better for your constitution.


Me Talk Pretty One Day
Me Talk Pretty One Day
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1916
Review Date: 5/6/2008


soooooo funny. i always love david sedaris' books, and this one did not disappoint.


Naked
Naked
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 809
Review Date: 7/4/2008
Helpful Score: 2


my favorite of david sedaris so far...
i heard myself laughing out loud so many times!


Nitty gritty foodbook;: A compendium of basic foods for earthy people
Review Date: 5/18/2009


Short description:

Nitty Gritty Foodbook: A Compendium of Basic Foods for Earthy People.
Chapters in this book include "How to Process Your Own Food", "Preserving and Storing", "Keeping Small Livestock", and "Butchering and Cooking".
You can learn how to use a woodstove, process your own food, sprout seeds, grow mushrooms, different methods of preserving foods, how to start a compost heap for your own garden, raise small livestock, how to butcher and cook livestock, and much more.

Praeger Publishers, New York, 1975.
255 pages.


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4745
Review Date: 7/4/2008
Helpful Score: 2


beatifully written book. i loved the main characters and the story was different than i expected. as with all good books, i just wish it was longer!


Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel
Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Travel
Author: Joshua Piven, David Borgenicht
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 7/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


there is some pretty useful advice, and then some that i hope i'll never have to use! funny, but also helpful. my 10-year-old son doesn't travel anywhere without it!


1 to 14 of 14