Facebook

Nancy G. (ComfyReader) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 331 - Page:
Aunt Dimity and the Next Of Kin (Aunt Dimity, Bk 10) (Large Print )
Aunt Dimity and the Next Of Kin (Aunt Dimity, Bk 10) (Large Print )
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


"Needing a break from heavier books, I always return to Aunt Dimity for a bit of R&R.

During Lori's volunteer work at Radcliffe Infirmary, she is saddened to learn that Elizabeth Beacham, a legal secretary, has had no visitors during her stay. Well, that just can't be, so Lori packs off with her book cart and approaches Elizabeth with books and conversation. Soon a kindred friendship develops, but it ends way too soon.

Finding out that Elizabeth did have a relative, one who could have visited, she sets off to find this wayward brother and of course this is where the mystery begins. Being left with a letter and two keys, Lori finds out about Lizzie's life; and of course it wasn't what it appeared to be. Elizabeth was a much more extraordinary woman than even Lori could have imagined and because of Lori's kindness, the loved ones in Lori's life will benefit from a woman that they didn't even know.

I enjoyed this book, may of the previous characters are mentioned and their storylines are moved forward. I had been disappointed in the previous book (Aunt Dimity Snowbound) but this one has made up for that. Amazon Review: http://tinyurl.com/yofpyh


Aunt Dimity: Detective (Aunt Dimity, Bk 7)
Aunt Dimity: Detective (Aunt Dimity, Bk 7)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 2/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


#7 in the Series. Everyone has a story. In this outing, Lori returns to Finch from a 3 month visit to the states only to find that the horrible Prunella "Pruneface" Hooper has been murdered. With the help of Nicholas, the nephew of the vicars wife, they set out to find the secrets of their little town and to find out who "didn't" have a motive. Everyone in this idyllic village has a secret, but it's up to Lori and Nicholas to keep their secrets but to also solve the crime with some help from the wonderful Aunt Dimity. I enjoy the theme of Atherton's books. They are just the right amount of cozy.


Aunt Dimity Goes West (Aunt Dimity, Bk 12)
Aunt Dimity Goes West (Aunt Dimity, Bk 12)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 2/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I can't believe that I'm up to book number 12 in this series. I love these characters and can't wait until I can read the next.


This book did catch me a bit off guard. Dimity seems to have a harder edge in her writing to Lori. Not that Lori doesn,t need it, but Dimity has always been the soft sympathetic ear that Lori desperately needs.



As Lori is trying to recuperate from her near death experience with Abbadon, Bill decides to literally take the bull by the horns and sends Lori and the boys as far away from Finch as possible. That being a ranch in Bluebell, Colorado. Loris not too sure about this, picturing a shack but what the Aerie turns out to be is a spectacular home perched over an abandoned mine. But this isnt the quirky part, that lies in the people of Bluebird itself. They all remarkably resemble Loris friends back in Finch. Even Dimity thinks that Lori has finally lost it, that is until she, Dimity, meets her own counterpart.



When Lori finds out that the homes owners left in a hurry vowing to never return, everyone in town talking about the curse and the twins start picking up bad language that they swear they hear in their room at night -- the overly curious Lori embarks on getting to the bottom of this. With the help of the caretaker they enter the mine that should have been closed off years ago.


Aunt Dimity Snowbound (Aunt Dimity, Bk 9)
Aunt Dimity Snowbound (Aunt Dimity, Bk 9)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 10/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Needing a break from her exhausting Christmas Holiday, Lori decides that a nice hike in the country will do her good. Unfortunately, an unexpected winter storm and her lack of map reading skills put Lori at Ladythorne Abbey with what appears to be to other stranded hikers. With Aunt Dimity's help, Lori finds out the mystery of the Abbey and discovers the ulterior motives of her fellow houseguests. I didn't enjoy this one as much as the previous, Aunt Dimity Takes a Holiday. Very little is mentioned of the steady cast of characters that make Atherton's books so charming and homey. Hot Cocoa and Aunt Dimity. http://tinyurl.com/yp7zvc


Aunt Dimity Takes a Holiday (Aunt Dimity, Bk 8)
Aunt Dimity Takes a Holiday (Aunt Dimity, Bk 8)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 7/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


In this 8th outing. Lori and Bill are summoned to Hailesham - Derek Harris' family home for a working weekend / vacation. Lori's knows that this will not be the relaxing vacation she had hoped for when upon their arrival a large topiary is set ablaze and poison pen letters start to appear. More is found out about Derek's family and Nell is still as irrepressible as ever. There was something very familiar about this book. Like I had read part of it before. Very reminiscent of Aunt Dimity Beats the Devil.


Aunt Dimity Takes a Holiday (Aunt Dimity, Bk 8)
Aunt Dimity Takes a Holiday (Aunt Dimity, Bk 8)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 2/3/2008
Helpful Score: 2


In this 8th outing. Lori and Bill are summoned to Hailesham - Derek Harris' family home for a working weekend / vacation. Lori's knows that this will not be the relaxing vacation she had hoped for when upon their arrival a large topiary is set ablaze and poison pen letters start to appear. More is found out about Derek's family and Nell is still as irrepressible as ever. There was something very familiar about this book. Like I had read part of it before. Very reminiscent of Aunt Dimity Beats the Devil.


Aunt Dimity: Vampire Hunter (Aunt Dimity, Bk 13)
Aunt Dimity: Vampire Hunter (Aunt Dimity, Bk 13)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 12/13/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Atherton is back on her stride with this book.

Lori Shepherd is up to her usual over reactive antics, but when her sons claim that they have seen a vampire in the woods over looking Anscombe Manor, Lori must investigate. After being nearly killed trying to save her sons in the past, this is just something that Lori can't brush away. Granted they have very active imaginations and it doesn't help that a classmate has brought to school a book detailing Rendor, the Destroyer of Souls and put just a little seedling of an idea into their minds.

So, with the help of Aunt Dimity and Kit, Lori sets out to find the vampire, discover a home hidden behind Emma's hill, meet a neighbor that she never knew existed, solve some of Kit's mysteries and last but not least, bring a happily ever after ending to a long awaited love story. All this in a span of less then a week, a week that Bill is out of town and there is no one to rein in Lori.

I adore these books, but I do suggest that you start at the beginning of the series, Aunt Dimity's Death, so you can learn to appreciate Lori at her fullest.


Aunt Dimity's Christmas (Aunt Dimity, Bk 5)
Aunt Dimity's Christmas (Aunt Dimity, Bk 5)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 7/16/2006
Helpful Score: 3


After reading Aunt Dimity Digs In and not being impressed I wasn't sure that I was going to continue with this series, but this book changed that. I really enjoyed this one. Lori Shepherd is determined to make this the perfect Christmas for her young family and new firends but when a homeless man collapses under her lilac bush all plans seem to fall to the wayside. Lori learns more about the spirt of giving then she thought possible.


Aunt Dimity's Good Deed (Aunt Dimity, Bk 3)
Aunt Dimity's Good Deed (Aunt Dimity, Bk 3)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 1/13/2009


#3 in the Series.

When Lori's plans for a second honeymoon to England with her workaholic husband fall through, she takes along her father-in-law who promptly disappears leaving behind a mysterious note.

Guided by the ghost of Aunt Dimity and her blue journal, Lori's search for Willis, Sr. turns ito a misson to uncover a centuries-old family secret complicated by mistaken identities, falsified deeds, family feuds, and Lori's useemly attraction to her husband's beguiling English cousin.

I love this series, just be forewarned that you need to keep a lot of characters straight and should probably keep notes.


Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 517
Review Date: 12/25/2008
Helpful Score: 1


For a person who doesnt usually like Macombers books, I actually enjoy this series. I cant explain it either, since Macomber usually has whiney weak woman as her characters -- this series seems to show women of strength. Those that take charge and move on in their lives instead of waiting for men to guide them.

Susannahs Garden, the florist located next to a Good Yarn is where Colette Blake has gone to get over the death of her husband and the affair that she had had with her boss.

Once again the women of the story, Colette, Susannah, and Alix have come together in Lydias knitting class to share their fears and hopes and traumas; much of which involves Colettes pregnancy and Alixs impending marriage to Jordan. Plus a trauma that hits Margarets family and rocks them to the core.

This series of books is a good break from reality. I recommend this series over her mushy and redundant Cedar Cove series.


Baker's Dozen Doubled
Baker's Dozen Doubled
Author: Mary Ellen Hopkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/27/2005


Quilt Patterns based off the 9 patch.


Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Author: Dai Sijie, Ina Rilke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 686
Review Date: 10/4/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I would call this a coming of age story, but yet the narrator and his friend Luo are already 18 years old when they are sent away from there families as part of the Chinese Re-Education program. This took them away from their families and lives with very little hope of ever seen them again. But that is not what this book was really about for me, it was more a story of hope, of love, of lust, of friendship, of betrayal and how books when you don't have access to them, mean the world to you. They can be your savior and your burden, but you are willing to risk everything for them. How when you have so very little, you can still have a whole world available to you.


The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club
The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club
Author: Gil McNeil
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/1/2009
Helpful Score: 3


First of all the title of the book really bothered me. Too much of a take off of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. But I read the book anyway. And with the British humor that runs though this book, I am glad I did.

Jo Mackenzie gave up a very promising career in television broadcasting to raise her two boys while her husband dashes around the world to cover international stories. On his last visit home he informs Jo that he would like a divorce, but the wanker gets himself killed in an automobile accident and Jo is left with two young rambunctious children and not sure how or if she should actually mourn his loss.

When she find that they are in severe debt and a second mortgage had been taken out on their home without her knowledge; what is she to do but pull up stakes, buy her grandmothers knitting shop and start over again.

With the help of her best friend and the advice of her grandmother and new friends, Jo sets out to make a new life for herself, her incorrigible boys, the neighborhood dog and a glamourous movie star that had befriended her.

Not your typical Oh, poor me type of book, Jo is a refreshing character that has learned to make the best of what she has and not to dwell too much on the past. It would be nice if her boys could have a father, but together they are a family and that is good enough.


Beat the Reaper
Beat the Reaper
Author: Josh Bazell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/21/2009
Helpful Score: 3


You Had Me Until The Fibula



First off, having footnotes in a book of fiction is quite distracting; other then that the book had me flipping pages until the very end where Bazell just seemed to have jumped the shark. Well, almost literally. His main character pulled off something that has never before been done, and hopefully, will never be done again in a book that I read.

Very reminiscent of the books by Charlie Huston, Josh Bazell takes us into two very terrifying worlds. The Mafia and public hospitals - and honestly, I don't know which one terrifies me more. After his grandparents are murdered, a young Pietro Brwna is taken into a mafia family where he tries to avoid the family business but that isn't possible when he feels that he owes the family that has cared for him. He does what he needs to do, he moves on, that is until an ultimate betrayal and Pietro enters the witness protection program. He goes to medical school, works in a hospital that no one in their right might would be a patient at let alone be an attending doctor and runs smack dab into his past.

Pietro is now in a fight for his life and limb. You honestly have to read it to believe it. This is definitely a 24 hour book. It won't let you put it down. The characters are just quirky enough, the pace is unstoppable and the storyline well, let's just say, no good deed goes unpunished.


A Beautiful Blue Death (Charles Lenox, Bk 1)
A Beautiful Blue Death (Charles Lenox, Bk 1)
Author: Charles Finch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 11/21/2008
Helpful Score: 10


A Wonderful Atmospheric Historical Fiction

First in what is hopefully a continuing series featuring Charles Lennox, a Victoria gentleman, who has solved crimes that Scotland Yard seems to take credit for. Set in England 1865, Lenox is called by his next door neighbor and childhood friend Lady Jane Grey when Prudence Smith, Greys former employee, is found dead in the home of her new employer. Things just dont add up in Janes mind, but Charles can figure it out, hes clever that way.

Since Pru was found in the home of George Barnard, the current director of the Royal Mint, with a secret of his own; Lennoxs instincts are set in high gear and a wonderful who-done-it-and-why leads the reader on a brilliant journey.

A great cast of characters that leave you smirking and curious, making this an interesting addition to the Historical Fiction genre.

But the best part -- this book seems to start in the middle of the whole Charles Lennox experience with references to the past that makes you wonder exactly where Lennox came from and where Finch is going to take him. Will more of the past be explained or will Finch just leave that up to the readers imagination.


A Beautiful Place to Die  (Martha's Vineyard, Bk 1)
A Beautiful Place to Die (Martha's Vineyard, Bk 1)
Author: Philip R. Craig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 12/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


First in the Vineyard Murder series. The editing was a bit choppy, but I think I will most definately give book 2 a try.

During his career as a Boston cop, Jeff "JW" Jackson was shot and has decided to retire to the serenity of Martha's Vineyard to spend his days fishing and wooing a nurse named Zee. But when a local's boat mysteriously explodes off the coast, killing a young man, Jackson finds himself reluctantly drawn back into the investigative trade.

There are some wrong doings in paradise - and it's contaminating Jackson's lovely peaceful island with its poisonous venom of drugs and death.


The Beekeeper's Apprentice (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes, Bk 1)
The Beekeeper's Apprentice (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes, Bk 1)
Author: Laurie R. King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 10/26/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I don't like being the dissenting opinion, but this book just hit me a little wrong or maybe it is my inability to have a beloved character toyed with; but this story of Mary Russsell, a precocious 15 year old, whom after the death of her family moves to a farm with an aunt, and who just happens to run into the famous Sherlock Homes on one of her daily sojourns into the country is just too contrived for me.

The idea that this young woman can match wits with Sherlock is a little overdrawn and as the years go by and they investigate a few cases much in the same way as Holmes and Watson, just seems as if the author is stealing an idea instead of coming up with one of her own.

Unfortunately, I don't think I will continue on with this series, but will once again go back and read the original Conan Doyle accounts of a fascinating character.


A Bicycle Built for Murder (Manor House, Bk 1)
A Bicycle Built for Murder (Manor House, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Kingsbury
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 3/15/2008
Helpful Score: 3


"Cozies are character driven and this book definitely has its share of characters.

Not only is Elizabeth Hartleigh Compton the Lady of Sitting Marsh Manor House, but she is also responsible for helping her tenants muddle through during World War II England. Little did she know that when Winnie stopped her to ask if she had seen her daughter Beryl - who has quite a reputation for hanging out at the pub and flirting with the Yanks; Lady Elizabeth would find herself in the middle of a murder mystery. Not only that, but she has to prepare for an American invasion all her own.

A great cast of characters including Violet the housekeeper and the irrepressible Martin the butler.

First in the Manor House Series.

Amazon Review:
http://www.amazon.com/review/product/0425178560/ref=cm_cr_dp_synop?%5Fencoding=UTF8&sortBy=bySubmissionDateDescending#RSY1BUT6ODYAD


Birds and Bees and Butterflies Too
Birds and Bees and Butterflies Too
Author: Camille Remme
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/26/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Easy to follow quilt patterns for birds, bees and butterlies.


Black Coffee (Hercule Poirot)
Black Coffee (Hercule Poirot)
Author: Agatha Christie, Charles Osborne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 12/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


You can never go wrong with an Agatha Christie and with the little gray cells of Hercule Poirot the killer will be ensnared without the tiniest details missed.

First penned as a stage production, Black Coffee has been rewritten by her grandson Michal Pritchard.

Set in the early 1930's, Sir Claud Amory, an atomic scientist, has invited Poirot to his estate to personally transport a formula back to London. Sir Claud realizes that the formula is missing and offers his family and guests one minute in total darkness to return the formula with no questions asked. Well, one minute is all it takes to murder Sir Claud. Upon his arrival, Hercule Poirot is enlisted into finding both the formula and the killer.

Of course Agatha gives us a whole room full of likely suspects, each with their own secrets and story, but with Captain Hastings at his side, Poirot makes quick work of this very captivating who-done-it.


21 to 40 of 331 - Page: