Facebook

Karen B. (karenbfromtennessee) - - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Communion: A True Story
Communion: A True Story
Author: Whitley Strieber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/4/2010


Fascinating. Read this years ago and the images have stuck with me.


The Fourth Hand
The Fourth Hand
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 12/27/2010


Reminds me of Irving's earlier writings, like "Owen Meany." Fantastic, quirky story with interesting characters. Hard to put down. Much better than "Until I Find You" and the circus story. Some themes come around again (continued in "Twisted River) like an old friend. Thank you, John Irving, for making me laugh out loud when I read.


The Imaginary Girlfriend: A Memoir
The Imaginary Girlfriend: A Memoir
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/20/2010


I'm a big John Irving fan and learned a bit about his wrestling days. It was inspiring to see how one's interests in life can affect writing. I enjoyed some of his observations, especially the quote, "The truth is, the imaginaiton can select more plausible details than those incredible-but-true details that we remember." Wish I could have been his student.


Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus: A Practical Guide for Improving Communication and Getting What You Want in Your Relationships
Review Date: 1/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent explanation of "how the other side thinks." Well written.


My Movie Business : A Memoir
My Movie Business : A Memoir
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/1/2010


Describes the angst a writer goes through when converting a book to a screenplay. FASCINATING!


Slaughterhouse Five
Slaughterhouse Five
Author: Kurt Vonnegut
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/18/2011


Fascinating.
And not to give away the story, but Vonnegut gets you to "see" like the alien Tralfamadorians. Excellent social commentary, too.


Spook: Science Tackles the Afterlife
Spook: Science Tackles the Afterlife
Author: Mary Roach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 8/3/2010


Very interesting, but not as good as her first two books, "Bonk" and "Stiff." She seems to rely more on her internet browsing for scientific research, but still, I find it interesting (since I don't have the time to do it myself.) She relates several trips she's taken to interview experts, too. Good questions....makes you think.


The Unofficial Guide to Divorce
The Unofficial Guide to Divorce
Author: Sharon Naylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/23/2013


Excellent guide with lots of tips...


1 to 8 of 8