Lily J. (Eudial) - , - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
Author: Benjamin Alire Saenz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/28/2017


Really wasn't into this book at first, (was I finally too old for YA books??) but it seemed like a fast read and I figured I may as well finish it and I'm glad I did! Very sweet coming-of-age tale with a supporting cast of well-written adults. Some of this author's writing style wasn't my personal taste, but the characterization definitely made up for it.


Astrology and Sexual Analysis
Astrology and Sexual Analysis
Author: Morris C. Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/22/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book is definitely entertaining, if anything. While some of it is interesting food for thought, most analyses are very off the wall. I brought this out at a party and everyone was cracking up at the melodramatic and excessively florid descriptions. Also included are occasional odd, outdated comments on homosexuality.


The Beatrice Letters (A Series of Unfortunate Events)
The Beatrice Letters (A Series of Unfortunate Events)
Author: Lemony Snicket
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 9/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Definitely more of a supplemental book, it both continues the story after the 13th book and explains some back story, or at least explains it as much as Mr. Snicket explains anything. Really though, it's heavier on the silly wordplay and phrasing than in depth explanation. Additionally, comes with a poster if you like Brett Helquist's art.


Death: At Death's Door (Vertigo, Number 1)
Death: At Death's Door (Vertigo, Number 1)
Author: Jill Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Being a big Sandman fan I was unsure of what to expect, but this is a fantastically fun retelling of Season of Mists from Death, Delirium, and Despair's point of view. (Although I would suggest reading the original first, I know people who haven't and enjoyed this version regardless) I'm actually a little disappointed there's no Vol. 2.


The Hipster Handbook
The Hipster Handbook
Author: Robert Lanham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 4/7/2010


Pretty amusing, (especially if you were anything resembling a hipster in the early 2000s) but kind of dated.


I, Lucifer: Finally, the Other Side of the Story
I, Lucifer: Finally, the Other Side of the Story
Author: Glen Duncan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 3/24/2008


Eugh, I personally can't get past the first chapter without wanting to throw this book across the room and never look at it again. Clearly Duncan is a very good writer, but I just can't help but be irritated by the inner monologue of the main character. Maybe someday not in the near future I'll give this book another chance.


John Dies at the End
John Dies at the End
Author: David Wong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/6/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Fun, creepy, DEFINITELY ridiculous, and one of the more satisfying endings that I've read in a while. Lots of one-liners, some of them pretty terrible, but hey, that's how I like it. The second half of the book is a bit more dark and justifies the 'horror' classification, but also really ties the novel's individual tales together.


The Killing Moon (Dreamblood, Bk 1)
The Killing Moon (Dreamblood, Bk 1)
Author: N. K. Jemisin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/9/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I had pretty mixed feelings in the first chapter or so, but it grew on me. (Realizing that there was a glossary in the back definitely helped!) Before reading, all that I knew of Jemisin's writing was of her fantastic world-building skills, and she deserves the praise: I really got a feel for Gujaareh, and even secondary characters seemed very distinct.

The only warnings I'd give are some borderline disturbing/repulsive imagery, but otherwise I'd give it a PG-13 or so.


The Name of the Star (Shades of London, Bk 1)
The Name of the Star (Shades of London, Bk 1)
Author: Maureen Johnson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/16/2011


The first half of Name of the Star is sort of slow (although Johnson's characteristic sense of humor keeps it fun as the plot gestates) but knowing that this is meant to be the first book of a trilogy explains the necessary background-building.

The second half definitely makes up for lost time and made me love this book. I've heard people say that it has a Torchwood/Doctor Who feel, and I agree for the most part. Additionally, THAT ENDING. The sequel can't come fast enough!


The Night Circus
The Night Circus
Author: Erin Morgenstern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 208
Review Date: 9/25/2015
Helpful Score: 1


I really really liked the concept of this book, but it sure does take a while to get going and it literally took me three months to read because it didn't spur me on. All of the characters are nice and the prose is definitely glossy and stylish but nothing in particular grabbed me emotionally. I felt like I wanted more details about how the magic worked but I got surface interactions between characters I didn't feel strongly toward. I do feel like the last maybe 100 pages are really good though! And the ending is very satisfying.


No Touch Monkey: And Other Travel Lessons Learned Too Late (Adventura Books Series)
Review Date: 8/21/2010


A very fun, fast read. Some of the chapters were written for different magazines and anthologies, explaining why a few chapters seem kind of disjointed (such as the last one).


Paper Towns
Paper Towns
Author: John Green
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 10/28/2008
Helpful Score: 5


Before getting this I had heard rave reviews from friends and peers alike, and really hoped that it lived up to its alleged awesomeness. Green's flair for witty dialogue and narration is on fine display here, and this book is good enough in a comedic sense, but that alone is not why I recommend this novel. The themes and messages of people's perception of others can ring true even if you don't personally identify with the characters, and the ending is one of such carefully crafted bittersweetness you have to feel at the very least a twinge of emotion.


Serenity Rose, Vol. 1: Working Through the Negativity
Serenity Rose, Vol. 1: Working Through the Negativity
Author: Aaron Alexovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/23/2010


Similar sense of humor to Jhonen Vasquez and Roman Dirge, but with a lot more heart and plot. I felt pretty indifferent to it until I was about halfway through, and then quickly changed my mind.


Wonder Woman, Vol 1: Blood
Wonder Woman, Vol 1: Blood
Author: Brian Azzarello, Cliff Chiang, Tony Akins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/15/2012


Chiang's art is gorgeous but the story is really lacking and seems to be going in four or five different directions, and not too masterfully. The gods so far are compelling characters, (Poseidon and Hera were definite favorites) but other than that I was pretty disappointed.


1 to 14 of 14