Frances F. (quiltgal) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 50 - Page:
Life After Life : The Investigation of a Phenomenon--Survival of Bodily Death
Review Date: 4/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


True stories, amazing accounts, regardless of your own spiritual beliefs. These are real accounts of near-death experiences.
(from the back cover) "A man is dying and, as he reaches the point of greatest physical distress, he hears himself prounounced dead by his doctor. He begins to hear an uncomfortable noise, a loud ringing or buzzing, and at the same time feels himself moving very rapidly through a long, dark tunnel. After this, he finds himself outside of his own body...Soon, other things begin to happen. Others come to meet and help him. He glimpses the spirits of relatives and friends who have already died, and a loving, warm spirit of a kind he has never encountered before - a being of light - appears before him."


Light from Heaven (Mitford, Bk 9)
Light from Heaven (Mitford, Bk 9)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 12/12/2006


I am a fan of Mitford books, and have read all in this series. I think this latest (and last, I believe) one is not nearly up to the standard of the earlier novels, but a pleasant read. I think it is time to end the series, but glad to read Light From Heaven.


A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier
A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier
Author: Ishmael Beah
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 9/16/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a haunting book that can be spellbinding. However, I would caution the squeamish and exceptionally tender-hearted reader, since it is VERY graphic and enormously sad in most of the book. I was glad to read it, and found it hard to put down. But I am recommending it only to others with the above caution.


Machine-Stitched Cathedral Windows: Updating an Old Favorite
Machine-Stitched Cathedral Windows: Updating an Old Favorite
Author: Shelley Swanland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/18/2006


This is a good how-to book, and I wanted to try the method. However, I really enjoy handwork and have the time. I decided I just prefer the hand method, after all. This method works, though!


Mudbound
Mudbound
Author: Hillary Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 12/31/2014


This is not easy reading, but I found it compelling, holding my interest right to the end. It is a graphic portrayal of life for people of color living in the South during the 1950-1960's era.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4036
Review Date: 3/29/2007


This is a sad, but most sensitive book about the current moral issues around genetic engineering, stem cell controversy, etc. The author is skillful in presenting the emotional positions of different characters, with some twists at the end. I was not sure I'd like it in the beginning, but ended up thoroughly enjoying it. Lots to think about!


One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
Author: Jim Fergus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 11/14/2010


This is a wonderful book. The format of this novel is a diary that seems so real it is hard to believe it is fiction. The plot moves quickly, the characters are fully believable. The reader learns much about Cheyenne tribal culture, as well as the political times of the late 1800's in which the novel is set. I highly recommend it.


The Other Boleyn Girl
The Other Boleyn Girl
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2787
Review Date: 9/19/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I loved this book! It is a fast-moving drama about life in England's court under Henry VIII. Despite its length, it is a book that moves rapidly without a pause, and held my interest from the first page to the last. The story is told in the first person of Mary, sister of Anne Boleyn. Each of the characters is well drawn and believable. I found the intrigue and tyranny of court life fascinating. This is fiction, based on fact, though large portions are surely not historically documented. However, the general machinations of court life in this era are probably fairly accurately portrayed. This is a great read! I highly recommend it.


The Pianist: The Extraordinary True Story of One Man's Survival in Warsaw, 1939-1945
Review Date: 4/22/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This is a most powerful book! It is not always easy reading because of its emotional impact, but the courage and enduring spirit throughout is truly compelling. It's a must-read true account from the Holocaust era. Don't miss it.


Quilts to Wear
Quilts to Wear
Author: Virginia Avery
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/2/2006
Helpful Score: 2


A general how-to book on making capes, jackets, vests in a variety of creative ways. Book explains techniques from start to finish, designing, choosing fabrics, techniques, finishing, etc. Good for a beginner (with some experience)/intermediate quilter. Hardback.


Reader's Digest Practical Guide to Home Landscaping
Review Date: 5/31/2009


Great book, with many, many illustrations, diagrams and practical suggestions. Appropriate for beginner or more experienced gardener.


Redfield Farm: A Novel of the Underground Railroad
Redfield Farm: A Novel of the Underground Railroad
Author: Judith Redline Coopey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/16/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! The author appears to have done lots of research, the plot is plausible, characters seem real. Most of all, the conditions and story seem rooted in historical accuracy of the times. Recommend this book, and have already passed on my copy to another PBS member.


A Reliable Wife
A Reliable Wife
Author: Robert Goolrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1064
Review Date: 4/11/2010
Helpful Score: 4


Characters never came to life for me, and I thoroughly disliked both of the leading ones. The book is heavy on description, light on dialogue, and the writing style is often distant and inflated. I kept plowing through it until I got three quarters of the book read, and then gave up. I almost never fail to finish a book, even ones I don't like much, so that is a real sign...I must be missing something. I don't know how this ended up on the bestseller list.


The River of Doubt : Theodore Roosevelt's Darkest Journey
The River of Doubt : Theodore Roosevelt's Darkest Journey
Author: Candice Millard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 6/8/2014


I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It is an account, richly documented, outlining Theodore Roosevelt's expedition into the then-unexplored Amazon basin. It is an incredible story of survival. The book is written in a very readable, engaging style, with dialogue and graphic description. I highly recommend!


Sarah's Key
Sarah's Key
Author: Tatiana de Rosnay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1471
Review Date: 10/28/2010


I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and would highly recommend it. I enjoyed the past/present format in the contrast, the historical base, and the highly "believable" characters. I did feel the ending was contrived, but overall it was a really good, quick read!


Scarlet Feather
Scarlet Feather
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 260
Review Date: 1/13/2007


Enjoyed this thoroughly. I always like Maeve Binchy's books.


Secret Ceremonies: A Mormon Woman's Intimate Diary of Marriage and Beyond
Review Date: 6/7/2006


Good book!


Seeing and Understanding Andalucia
Seeing and Understanding Andalucia
Author: Edilux
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 4/1/2008


Very good reference for travelers. Accurate descriptions and good photography of places.


Shanghai Girls
Shanghai Girls
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 6/6/2010
Helpful Score: 5


I thought this was a very good book, though perhaps not as much as Snow Flower and the Secret Fan. It moves quickly, though, the characters are well drawn, and the plot is interwoven well with swift twists and turns. I'd recommend it, since it also gives a window into Chinese culture and perspective of the 1930's into the fifties.


Shepherds Abiding (Mitford Series, Bk 8)
Shepherds Abiding (Mitford Series, Bk 8)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 10/29/2006


I enjoyed the book, but felt it isn't as good as the prior books in the series. Story line a bit weak and too limited in the time period covered - only the Christmas season. But an easy lightweight read, and reader keeps up with those endearing characters!


21 to 40 of 50 - Page: