Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

katzpawz - Reviews

1 to 20 of 282 - Page:
10 Feet Tall and Bulletproof: The Travis Tritt Story
10 Feet Tall and Bulletproof: The Travis Tritt Story
Author: Travis Tritt, Michael Bane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/15/2007


The saddest thing about this man is his total absorbtion in himself. But to give credit where it is due - it was well written and interesting. I think that if you are a fan of Travis Tritt, perhaps you should skip reading this. Like all of us, he is a flawed person - but reality can be a real turn-off for fans.


101 Craft Projects Under $10
101 Craft Projects Under $10
Author: Butterick Company
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 11/15/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Some really interesting projects. All are relatively easy, if you enjoy crafting.


The 28 Biggest Writing Blunders (And How to Avoid Them)
Review Date: 1/8/2007


Makes some interesting points if you are at all serious about being published.


The 37th Hour (Sarah Pribek, Bk 1)
The 37th Hour (Sarah Pribek, Bk 1)
Author: Jodi Compton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 12/17/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This is a WOW! mystery!!! Thoroughly enjoyed the read and I'm looking forward to more by the same author! The main character is really believable.


Accordion Crimes
Accordion Crimes
Author: Annie Proulx
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 11/14/2006


This is an absolutely beautifully written book. You must, must, MUST read!!!!


Act of Betrayal (Britt Montero, Bk 4) (Abridged Audio Cassette)
Act of Betrayal (Britt Montero, Bk 4) (Abridged Audio Cassette)
Author: Edna Buchanan, Sandra Burr
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/25/2007


Very well structured little mystery about the Cuban community in and around Miami. I say "little mystery" because I feel it is more a novella than a full-blown novel.


Acts of Love
Acts of Love
Author: Emily Listfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/4/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This is an extremely well written and disturbing book. The subject (murder and/or family survival) are by no means treated lightly. Nearly every chapter gives you something very real to think about.


All the Dead Lie Down
All the Dead Lie Down
Author: Mary Willis Walker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 11/8/2006


True-crime reporter Molly Cates' father died more than twenty-five years ago. His death was ruled a suicide, and Molly's obsessive efforts to prove to prove otherwise led to nothing but anguish and the breakup of hedr family. Now new information comnes her way and she reopens the old investigation with a vengeance, but the answers she finally wrests from the past leave her with a moral dilemma she never anticipated. Her quest becomes even more painful when Molly encounters a homeless woman who insists she knows about a secret plot to kill everyone in the Texas legislature. By the time she convinces Molly it's true, it may be too late to prevent disater!


Amanda's Wedding
Amanda's Wedding
Author: Jenny Colgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 7/23/2008


Didn't really like this one at all. I was only able to read the first 3 or 4 chapters and finally threw it against the wall. But if this author is your thing - go for it.


Ancient Images
Ancient Images
Author: Ramsey Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/3/2006


From back of book: "A colleague's violent death and its apparent cause - a stolen copy of an old, never-released Karloff/Lugosi film - set film editor Sandy Allan on the trail of the film's origins and history...As Sandy learns of the tragedies which haunted its production, she finds herself threatened by an ancient force protecting secrets deeper than the old movie."


An Angel to Die for (Augusta Goodnight, Bk 2)
An Angel to Die for (Augusta Goodnight, Bk 2)
Author: Mignon F. Ballard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 11/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I like Augusta Goodbody and I want to be her when I grow up! A sweet series with very serious undertones. The authors' work with characterization is marvelous. I feel as if I have known these people all my life!


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 823
Review Date: 7/29/2007
Helpful Score: 20


This is possibly one of the best books I've ever read! A slide-show of stories twined around the life stories of women in a bookclub. The book takes you from the day they first met until decades later - in a hospital -waiting. Ms. Landvik use of character development is a marvel. I feel as if I not only really know these women, but I think I'm a charter member of their bookclub. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE READ THIS BOOK! You won't be sorry!


Apologizing to Dogs
Apologizing to Dogs
Author: Joe Coomer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/3/2007


A bunch of not very interesting, goofy people


The Arraignment (Paul Madriani, Bk 7) (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Review Date: 11/29/2006


Defense attorney Paul Madriani tackles the most challenging case of his career - the chilling murder of a friend on a crowded city street! This is a well-told tale and held my attention. Read by Joe Mantegna


Arson and Old Lace (Far Wychwood, Bk 1)
Arson and Old Lace (Far Wychwood, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Harwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 11/8/2006


This is the first of the Wychwood Mysteries. Catherine Penny is a 60ish American, transplanted to what should be a quiet village in England. Murder wakes up the sleep village and Catherine is drawn into the mystery. She is an able protagonist and I'm looking forward to more Wychwood mysteries.


At Home in Covington (Ladies of Covington, Bk 5)
At Home in Covington (Ladies of Covington, Bk 5)
Author: Joan Medlicott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/8/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Once again Ms. Medlicott has tugged hard on my heartstrings! Her characterizations are so real, I want to drive down South to meet these ladies! Change and loss color this book with tears and smiles. A particularly well-written series!


Automatic Vaudeville
Automatic Vaudeville
Author: John Lahr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/12/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I was disappointed because I assumed (incorrectly) that the book would be about the world of his Father, Burt Lahr (the Cowardly Lion)and old Vaudeville. This is a collection of essays re: some of todays entertainers - interesting, but not what I was looking for.


Ava's Man
Ava's Man
Author: Rick Bragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/4/2007


Rick Bragg not only writes Americana - he IS Americana. In this book of collected memories, family stories and Southern essays he tells us the story of his Father and Mother. Coming from a hardscrabble life was not cause of worry for Mr. Bragg - just something that ripened him to what is real in his world. By all means READ THIS BOOK!


Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 4)
Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 4)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 5/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


If there is a place in Heaven for writers who create characters so real that you feel as if you know them, then Debbie Macomber has her spot there already reserved. Obviously written from the heart of someone who really cares! The yarn shop seems to be "the place to be" for an assortment of people whose lives entwine and become better for knowing each other. As I get to know these characters better the writer makes me feel as if I'm not reading fiction, but a group of friendly autobiographies. READ THIS BOOK! You won't regret it! And whoever does the cover art on these books is brilliant also!


The Best Fantasy Stories from the Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction
Review Date: 7/3/2007


This is one of the finest collections of classic stories by fantasy/sci/fi authors from the "Golden Era". Anyone who really loves the genre should not only read this book, but apply it to their psyche! I would give this collection 26 stars if I could!


1 to 20 of 282 - Page:
Want fewer ads?