Facebook

Kathryn B. (kbarr) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Cube Route (Xanth)
Cube Route (Xanth)
Author: Piers Anthony
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/23/2011


I love this series, based on the pun world of Xanth. In this story,a plain Jane makes wonderful new friends, gets her man and learns the real meaning of beauty.


The Godmother
The Godmother
Author: Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 3/26/2011


This book takes a while to really get rolling, but once it does, you have a fairy Godmother Felicity, Socialworker Rose and Police officer Fred trying to make the city of Seattle a bit safer and more hospitable for children, cats and those who just need a spot of luck to improve life.


Hangman's Root (China Bayles, Bk 3)
Hangman's Root (China Bayles, Bk 3)
Author: Susan Wittig Albert
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 10/28/2011


I love learning about plants, as I always to in this series. I love the way Susan's mind works through mysteries and relationships. I enjoy reading about my home state and places I know and love.


Hard Truth (Anna Pigeon, Bk 13)
Hard Truth (Anna Pigeon, Bk 13)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 10/6/2011


Once you get started reading this book, it's hard to put it down. Anna Pigeon takes up her new post in the Rocky Mountain National Park. Heath Jarrod, an angry quadriplegic, meets two young, nearly naked and injured girls who have been lost for weeks. The story that links them together will tug at your heart, chill your blood and keep you guessing.


Mad Mary Workbook
Mad Mary Workbook
Author: Liz Curtis Higgs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/11/2016


Mad Mary and the Mad Mary Workbook provide the perfect preparation leading up to Easter. However, if it isn't Lent, you can still learn a great deal from this study and improve your Christian walk.

The workbook is an excellent companion to the Mad Mary book, expounding on the questions in the study guide. You will need both to get the best results.


Milk Glass Moon (Big Stone Gap, Bk 3)
Milk Glass Moon (Big Stone Gap, Bk 3)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 10/28/2011


A mother grows up and changes as her daughter grows up. This book reminds me what it means to be a mother, loving her child and letting her find her own path in the world. It reminds me that one of the hardest lessons in parenting is how to let go and accept that your child is no longer a child.


Moving Target (Rarities Unlimited, Bk 1)
Moving Target (Rarities Unlimited, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Lowell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 4/1/2011


Someone torched Serena's grandmother's home with her in it. All Serena has left are some pages from a 12th century illuminated manuscript and a cryptic from her G'mom warning her to trust no man with her inheritance.
Erik has the expertise to certify the documents as authentic and a fascination with their source and the woman who now holds them. Can he keep her safe until they work out the weaving of history? Can they decipher the waking memories of their 12th century namesakes and keep moving until the mystery is solved and their survival is ensured?
Moves fast and hard to put down.


The Myth of the A.D.D Child:50 Ways to Improve Your Child's Behavior and Attention Span Without Drugs, Labels, or Coercion
Review Date: 7/18/2015


I enjoy this book, both as the parent and grandparent of ADD/ADHD children and as an educational consultant. The strategies are practical and can be used with anyone!


The Rescue
The Rescue
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1033
Review Date: 10/12/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Love triumphs over pain. I know we all have some, but we get mired in it and forget to celebrate the blessings. This book reminds me not put off talking and trying.


Witches' Bane (China Bayles, Bk 2)
Witches' Bane (China Bayles, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Wittig Albert
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 10/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I love learning about plants, as I always to in this series. I love the way Susan's mind works through mysteries and relationships. I enjoy reading about my home state and places I know and love.


1 to 10 of 10