Sallianne D. (traveller) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 73 - Page:
Away from Her
Away from Her
Author: Alice Munro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/7/2007


I really liked this story, with all its emotions and realism of a long marriage, but I felt it was too short! I wanted it to continue and to find out what happened to the characters. I will be interested to see the movie, now.


Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 278
Review Date: 5/22/2016


I struggled with this book, but liked it, despite some rather repetitive sections, and parts that did not seem to flow well. The reasons I persisted were the glowing reviews and awards, and to reach the ending which, as reported, was depressing.


Belong to Me
Belong to Me
Author: Marisa De Los Santos
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 2/1/2015


I am trying very hard to like this book, but find myself skimming over pages to get the main thread of the storyline. Some writing is good, but then it weaves around all over the place, and one quickly can lose interest. Not a book I would recommend; maybe I should read the first book by this author. I must be missing something as so many readers love it!


The Blood of Flowers
The Blood of Flowers
Author: Anita Amirrezvani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 7/6/2010


I found this book to be an interesting insight into the life of Persian society in the 17th century. However, at 367 pages it seemed, at times, to be long and repetitious, and rather depressing.


The Busconductor Hines
The Busconductor Hines
Author: James Kelman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/1/2014


I tried very hard to read this book, but could not justify the bad language, which constantly invaded the story line. I gave up after almost 100 pages of offensive dialogue. By being awarded the 1994 Booker Prize, it must contain a high standard of literature which sadly I could not appreciate.


Caribbean Handbook: The Virgin, Leeward, and Windward Islands (Moon Handbooks : Caribbean)
Review Date: 4/2/2010


This was a most useful, easily packed, travel book used on a recent 2010 Caribbean cruise. I would highly recommend it.


The Cat's Table
The Cat's Table
Author: Michael Ondaatje
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/8/2015


I liked this book, especially since many years ago, as a young adult, I sailed under similar circumstances from South Africa to London. However, my voyage took five weeks on a cargo/passenger vessel, but the characters of passengers and events are comparable, despite occurring a few years later.


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 783
Review Date: 3/26/2007


Once you start reading this book, you can't put it down - extremely readable and entertaining.


Cutting for Stone
Cutting for Stone
Author: Abraham Verghese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/26/2011


I tried very hard to like this book, due to the fantastic reviews on the back cover. However, I found it very difficult to digest, especially the vivid descriptions of surgery, and finally I gave up after the first 100 pages!


The Danger
The Danger
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/2/2007


A compulsive page turner! Here is vintage Dick Francis, brimming with mystery, romance, and utterly stunning suspense!


Days of Grace
Days of Grace
Author: Catherine Hall
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/14/2013


Initially I found this novel a totally engrossing story of a young girl evacuee in war-torn Britain. However, as the narrative unfolds, it bacomes more and more disturbing, but despite leaving one feeling depressed, it is a well-written saga.


Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Author: Alexandra Fuller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 258
Review Date: 2/23/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I was mesmerized by this story, mainly because I lived in South Africa many years ago and can imagine the situations described in this book. Africa sings to one, despite the horrific happenings described by the author (which no doubt happened during independence of the various countries). However, it brings current situations into focus for those of us interested in this incredible continent and the progress made.


Driving Over Lemons : An Optimist in Spain (Vintage Departures)
Driving Over Lemons : An Optimist in Spain (Vintage Departures)
Author: Chris Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 9/9/2011


I was enchanted by this story describing one family's experiences while remodelling an ancient farmhouse in Spain, and their relationships with the locals. A great read !!


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 2/21/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I heartily agree with other reviews that this book is highly over-rated, although well-written. The author has had more advantages in life than most of us, and continues to expect everything to be perfect, which is impossible. The travel sections were interesting, but I skipped many other parts since it was so boring.

Obviously the excellent marketing of this book put it on the N.Y. Bestseller List for so long, and this was the reason I actually went out and purchased it.


Einstein: The Life and Times
Einstein: The Life and Times
Author: Ronald W. Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/21/2014


I found this book very boring and full of unnecessary detail. Although anxious to learn the story of Einstein's life, I found it impossible to continue realizing the number of pages ahead. A condensed version would be welcome.


Empty Promises
Empty Promises
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 1/19/2008


I enjoy Ann Rule's books so much as she writes brilliantly about true life crimes, which hold one's interest every minute! One can't put her books down!!


The End of the Affair
The End of the Affair
Author: Graham Greene
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 3/26/2007


A must-read for any Graham Greene fan!


Escape
Escape
Author: Carolyn Jessop, Laura Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/1/2010


This is a fascinating account of life inside a polygamous cult,and all true, which can be quite disturbing at times. However, one has to keep on reading since we know that there is a happy ending.


Everyone Worth Knowing
Everyone Worth Knowing
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 9/7/2007


I didn't like this book as much as "The Devil Wears Prada", which was much more believable. In fact I found much of the story line repetitive and rather boring and the characters somewhat artificial in their similarity.


A Far Cry from Kensington
A Far Cry from Kensington
Author: Muriel Spark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/26/2007


I loved this book, as I was living near London in the fifties, and found it funny and entertaining. By the author of "The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie".


1 to 20 of 73 - Page: