Facebook

Robyn M. (artsncrafts) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 53 - Page:
Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 239
Review Date: 10/17/2013


I cannot put down Ms Harris' books once I start them, just want to eat them up as fast as possible. This is another fun, fresh mystery about a young woman who can find dead bodies and sense their cause of death ever since she was struck by lightning at age 15. Sounds a little hokey, but in Ms Harris' hands, it's not. If you liked the Sookie Stackhouse series you'll probably like this somewhat darker book.


Grave Surprise (Harper Connelly, Bk 2)
Grave Surprise (Harper Connelly, Bk 2)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 582
Review Date: 11/9/2013


Another excellent series from author Harris, fresh and fast read. The main character, Harper Connelly, is a damaged but forthright person, and her special (paranormal) ability is the driving force of the series. Harris writes in such a great straightforward style, no superfluous writing. Though not quite as engaging as the Sookie Stackhouse series because Harper is a darker personality, I liked this 2nd book of the series as well as the 1st, also liked the 3rd, and am eagerly looking forward to the 4th and last.


Haunted (Harrison Investigation, Bk 1)
Haunted (Harrison Investigation, Bk 1)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 392
Review Date: 7/25/2016


Really thin plot, ridiculously repetitive to the point of laughability. A romance novel disguised with an attempt to bring supernatural elements in - badly.


The Ice Princess (Patrik Hedstrom, Bk 1)
Review Date: 12/29/2016


This Scandinavian writer will remind you a bit of Steig Larsson (of "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" series) and is translated into English by Steven Murray who also translated Larsson's works, but this story a bit lighter in texture. Ugly secrets and murder in small-town Sweden, a frustrated female author, and an under-utilized police detective all figure strongly into the plot which is Book 1 of a series of 7 about said detective, Patrik Hedstrom. Enjoyable and well-written mystery.


In the Bleak Midwinter (Rev. Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne, Bk 1)
Review Date: 7/9/2014


Had great hopes for this, but got bored 2/3 of the way through, skimmed to the end just to get the solution to the mystery. To wit: baby left on church doorstep, female Episcopalian priest finds it, gets involved with both the investigation and the local police chief, end up solving the mystery. Just did not appeal to me.


The Interestings: A Novel
The Interestings: A Novel
Author: Meg Wolitzer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/30/2014
Helpful Score: 2


Following a group of people and their interweaving, shifting friendships from teenage years through life, particularly two women, Ash and Jules. The characters are not ones I personally related to even though I too was a NYC dweller for almost 20 years, but if I may be so bold, they were "interesting." Not my normal type of read, but it was refreshing to read a book about contemporary people, even if they were not people I cared for very much.


Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, Bk 1)
Review Date: 7/25/2013


It was interesting, but I felt it ended rather abruptly (possibly in view of a sequel?)I did not think the characters were developed as much as they could have been to draw me in as a reader. I was a bit disappointed in what I thought seemed a promising premise.


Mozart's Ghost: A Novel
Mozart's Ghost: A Novel
Author: Julia Cameron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/20/2014


Definitely not a deep book, but a satisfactory light read. The main characters are Anna, a closet medium, and Edward, an aspiring concert pianist. The ghost of Mozart provides some interest as he is connected to both of them for different reasons. The writing is somewhat repetitious, and I didn't feel the author's understanding of either mediums or classical pianists was very inspired. It's really just more of a modern love story; ok if you don't expect a lot of it.


The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane
The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane
Author: Katherine Howe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 303
Review Date: 7/25/2013


I felt like a had read this book - over and over, in fact - that's how unoriginal it is. The writing is unimaginative and shallow, the characters do not develop, the prose is repetitive.


The Pigeon Pie Mystery
The Pigeon Pie Mystery
Author: Julia Stuart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/16/2014
Helpful Score: 2


A light, frothy Victorian murder mystery, quick read. For my taste, it was too lightweight - not enough character development, too much description of era-specific detail. I wanted to hurry to get through reading it to go on to another book. But it was still an enjoyable read with a very unique setting and set of characters.


Promise Not to Tell
Promise Not to Tell
Author: Jennifer McMahon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 556
Review Date: 6/11/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I devoured this book in 2 night's worth of reading - couldn't put it down. It is just my type of mystery story - one with a little paranormal twist thrown in. It's set in Vermont, where I live, so it was easy to imagine the scenery and characters - but even if it had not been, it would have caught me up with its clever storytelling and excellent writing. Recommend it highly if you like a good "ghost story."


The Provence Cure for the Brokenhearted: A Novel
The Provence Cure for the Brokenhearted: A Novel
Author: Bridget Asher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/10/2014


The main character is a grieving widow who is having a hard time moving on, and as impatient as a reader might be for her character to wake up and smell the roses at various points in the story, the author describes the thought processes of a person in that kind of stuck place really well. Maybe the story is a little trite in a way, but there are a few unexpected twists and turns that kept me reading it in just a few sittings. An enjoyable read.


The Quilter's Apprentice (Elm Creek Quilts, Bk 1)
The Quilter's Apprentice (Elm Creek Quilts, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Chiaverini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 273
Review Date: 1/26/2016


Kind of a thin story, a bit too Polly-Annish for me. The bits about the actual quilting the characters do was lacking in detail, the plot was predictable: unemployed young woman hooks up with a wealthy, sharp-tongued older quilt-maker who has family secrets; helps her resolve them while learning quilting from her; everything ends up impossibly rosy.


Real Murders (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 1)
Real Murders (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 10/30/2013


I've read 3 other series of Charlaine Harris. Have to say this is the one I like least. Aurora Teagarden does not seem quite as interesting as Sookie Stackhouse, Lily Bard, or Harper Connelly, the main characters of the 3 other mystery series. She's just a bit tamer, I guess. But the book is written with Harris' usual fresh and straightforward style and is a quick and good read.


Rose Cottage
Rose Cottage
Author: Mary Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 7/26/2013


Pretty, nostalgic story written as only Mary Stewart can do - with beautiful prose, always tightly constructed plots. An international bestseller, and well worth the read.


Ruined (Ruined, Bk 1)
Ruined (Ruined, Bk 1)
Author: Paula Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 9/10/2014


Pretty sure this may be meant for young adults. I'm a sucker for a ghost story, so I ordered it, but the writing seems geared to young people. It's a pretty good mystery with a little supernatural thrown in, and if you are also a sucker for News Orleans lore, it's a good read.


Secondhand Spirits (Witchcraft, Bk 1)
Secondhand Spirits (Witchcraft, Bk 1)
Author: Juliet Blackwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 231
Review Date: 9/26/2014


This is a frothy mystery with a little paranormal thrown in, I'd say it's skimmed milk really. If you're looking for a light read, this could be it, but don't expect much. The story is of a displaced witch trying to settle in San Francisco via a vintage-clothes shop on Haight Street, who ends up dealing with child-stealing demon La Llorona. The plot goes along okay until the rather disappointing climax, which to me was full of holes, writing-wise. Meant to be a series, you can see the story buds that are meant to grow later on. But for this book, those sketchy references leave you with an incomplete feeling. If you want a meatier witch, try Kim Harrison The Hollows series.


Servant of the Bones
Servant of the Bones
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Anne Rice's books are full of the struggle between good and evil and this book is no exception. Meticulously detailed, this sometimes gruesome tale (gruesome in the description of how the main character became the servant of the bones)is full of Kabbalistic-tinged lore brought into modern times by the calling up of the servant of the bones from his journey through time. I always feel a little ambivalent while reading Rice's books, teetering between liking them and hating them, and I think that's the essence of a good horror story. A great read.


Shadow Baby
Shadow Baby
Author: Alison McGhee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 7/9/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This was a superb book. Told from the point of view of a precocious eleven yr old girl, but definitely NOT a kids book. Deals with complex human emotions/relationships, written in excellent style. Highly recommend it.


Sharp Objects (Mass Market): A Novel
Sharp Objects (Mass Market): A Novel
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 7/25/2016


Fabulous book, extremely original. If you read Gone Girl, you will find this quite different from it, but in a very good way. I'd call this a psychological study of some very damaged people, with murder thrown in to drive the story line. A great read, hard to put down.


21 to 40 of 53 - Page: