Kristie O. (kristieao) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
The 19th Wife
The 19th Wife
Author: David Ebershoff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 12/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I knew very little about this side of religion, so to me this book was very interesting! There was a lot of history on one side of a story and on another side a modern day murder mystery. This all intertwines into one great book! This book makes me want to read more about this and more by this author.


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3522
Review Date: 4/3/2009


Of the four books in the series, this one was my second favorite. It was very different from the other 3 books I thought. But overall a very good book.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4422
Review Date: 4/9/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I just did not get this book and did not finish it. I thought I would humor myself and read something a little different than what I am used to but this book was just way to different. I am on the otherhand very happy that many others enjoyed it...I just did not.


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 12/7/2009


Great Book...Learned a lot about the history of the World's Fair in Chicago and Dr. Holmes. The book was a tad bit boring at times but overall a good read.


Eclipse
Eclipse
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 347
Review Date: 4/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I thought this book was just like the the second book. It seems in a way it just repeated itself (from the second book). I would have been just as happy to have skipped this one and read the last book.


A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana
A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana
Author: Haven Kimmel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 525
Review Date: 11/9/2009


A Great Light Hearted Novel! A nice change from the more dramatic stories!


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1279
Review Date: 1/16/2010


I usually do not read books of this sort, but what a great book! A bit drawn out in the first 100 pages but gets more exciting after that! I can't wait to read his next book!


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3410
Review Date: 4/9/2009


Wow, I cannot believe how some people really do live and are okay with it. Jeanette tells this story in such a facinating and lighthearted way too. The kids in this family were really brave and so intelligent and amazing to have survived the life they grew up knowing. This is such a super book and would reccomend this book not only for entertainment but for appreciation of the lifestyle you are currently living with. What a great book!!


Handle with Care
Handle with Care
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 429
Review Date: 6/13/2009


Another great Jodi Picoult novel! This book will leave you thinking days after you have finished it about moral choices. I love Picoults writing style as it never has a dull moment and she covers touchy issues so well. I especially like how she weaves in several different closely related topics in one book. The only minor flaw I would say in this book was I thought how it ended somewhat predictable (but very sad :-( ). It is a "what would you do if it was you" kind of book. I would highly reccomend this book as I think it would grab everyones heart!


Her Last Death
Her Last Death
Author: Susanna Sonnenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 8/11/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I really thought this was a great book. I thought her writing style flowed very easily. A great memoir about a crazy mother and the affects she had on her two girls and others in her life. If you enjoy memoirs I think you will enjoy reading this book!


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 1/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


What an exceptional book! I could not put this book down! It gave me a whole new appreciation for my life in the U.S. I would recommend this book for everyone to read. I really like Hosseini's writing style and the way he wrote the story. Normally, I would not read a story of this type. I can't wait to read more of his books. This is one of my favorite books hands down!


Lavender Morning (Edilean, Bk 3)
Lavender Morning (Edilean, Bk 3)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 9/7/2009


Compared to the rest of Jude Deveraux's books, Lavendar Morning was really not that exciting. It was a good book however, but not one I would be excited about. Hopefully the rest of the series will be more eventful.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2004
Review Date: 1/20/2010


This book weirded me out. It talks about death and murder so lightly at times. And describes unpleasent natures of murders. Although I can say I am glad I did read it. A very unusual book for me though.


Lucky
Lucky
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1359
Review Date: 1/30/2010


This was such a great book...so much different than "Lovely Bones". I would recommend EVERY female read this book. It is an eye opener. Alice has such strength and shows it thoughtout the whole book.


The Lucky One
The Lucky One
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 1/28/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I am an avid Nicholas Sparks fan and this was another one of his books I really enjoyed. This book was hard to put down as it had several "twists" in it and it was exciting to see what would happen next. It is easy to fall in love with at least one of the main characters in his books and this one definatly had a couple of great main characters. It ended on such a great note and in a way that was unexpected. I highly recommend this book!


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5409
Review Date: 12/19/2009


Great Book! Would reccomend to read!


The Memory of Water
The Memory of Water
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 2/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I just could not get into this book. It, to me, was very boring. I ended up not even finishing it. I hope that there are others who read this book and will really enjoy it.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4035
Review Date: 1/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Oh wow, what a page turner! Picoult is such a great author and writes about life changing topics in such an exceptional way. This book is a tear jerker and makes you "feel". You create empathy for all the characters in this book. This book was another one of hers that was extremely hard to put down. It ends in a way that is so unexpected. I highly recommend this book to read!


New Moon (Twilight, Bk 2)
New Moon (Twilight, Bk 2)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 524
Review Date: 3/1/2009


As the second book in the Twilight saga, the story continues for Bella and Edward. I enjoyed this book, but not nearly as much as the first book (Twilight). The book reads really fast as I was always waiting to see what would happen next. I missed not having Edward in the majority of the book, but it was entertaining to read about the La Push Tribe werewolves. Overall another great book in the Twilight saga.


One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
Author: Jim Fergus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 11/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A great book for even those not interested in the history of Indians. This was not a true story, but was written in a way that I would have believed it was. Kept me interested the whole way thru!!


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: