Anne W. (HappyBooker) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The Clueless Gourmet
The Clueless Gourmet
Author: Allison Marx
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/12/2009


From Midwest Book Review

Create a gourmet meal even if you cant tell a saucepan from a frying pan using this practical, easy handbook. While some novices may bemoan the lack of color photos, the simple instructions and attention to dishes which are simple yet elegant create an inviting cookbook.


Cookies Bars and Brownies
Cookies Bars and Brownies
Author: Pillsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/12/2009


This is a great little cookie book in the Pillsbury Classic Cookbook series. Personally I like little cookbooks, it's easier to stuff more of them in my cupboard. There's a Know-How section on How to Choose a Cookie Sheet. A make-over of the Peanut Butter Cookie recipe, and many, many more cookie recipes! Great Fun!


Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 1)
Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 1)
Author: Blaize Clement
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 3/5/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book, and am enjoying the 2nd book in the series right now. This is a great cozy read, but it has a lot more depth than many cozies you pick up! Definitely put this one on your to read list!


Hooked on Murder (Crochet, Bk 1)
Hooked on Murder (Crochet, Bk 1)
Author: Betty Hechtman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 1/8/2010


This is looking like a fun new series. I am a crocheter so I can relate to all the crochet jokes, and I like the quirky female sleuth! Another winner for cozy mystery lovers!


How to Make an American Quilt
How to Make an American Quilt
Author: Whitney Otto
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 10/8/2009


I enjoyed this book very much. It is very well written, great character development. I first saw the movie, which is different from the book, of course. Then I listened to the abridged version on tape, then I read it. It is worth reading!


On Dangerous Ground
On Dangerous Ground
Author: Jack Higgins
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/26/2009


Excellent story, excellent reader, Patrick Macnee! We listened to this in the car on a portable cassette player, and we were glued to our seats! Terriffic and exciting story, but greatly enhanced with the reader! He is gifted with voices!


Patchwork Pocket Palette
Patchwork Pocket Palette
Author: Chronicle Books LLC Staff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/16/2009


From Booklist
Quilters have always pondered why some colors have movement and others do not. They need ponder no longer for, finally, here is a book for quilters (and artists, decorators, and others) on how to best combine colors. The book has a skillful arrangement: 22 principal colors are featured on a double-page chart. Three recognizable quilt patterns are used as examples: pinwheel, chum dash, and the Ohio star. Extra colors are progressively added, and varieties of print and solid fabrics grace the page. There is some text on subjects such as creating an old-fashioned look, using warm and cool colors, and working with pastels and creating texture. Ten full-size quilts enhance the full-color pages. A wonderful resource for quilters and a must for popular collections. Iva Freeman


Purple Cane Road (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 11) (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Review Date: 11/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book is great! Will Patton is a wonderful reader, his southern voices are fabulous! I was transported into the world of Louisiana with this author and his descriptions that are so very realistic. I think the best way to enjoy James Lee Burke is via audio.


A Quilter's Holiday (Elm Creek Quilts, Bk 15)
A Quilter's Holiday (Elm Creek Quilts, Bk 15)
Author: Jennifer Chiaverini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 4/3/2010
Helpful Score: 3


A very heart-warming story, and an easy and quick read. Jennifer Chiaverini is one of my favorite authors, and her Elm Creek Quilts series is like no other. This story is one that she features her modern characters more than the historical ones, although there is a connection made throughout the book with one of Sylvia's long-lost cousins!


The Troubled Man (Kurt Wallander)
The Troubled Man (Kurt Wallander)
Author: Henning Mankell
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/28/2013
Helpful Score: 3


This is an excellent book, however, not for the faint of heart. If you are looking for just an enjoyable read, this is not the book for you. The story is very interesting, and told in a very involving way for the reader. The personal issues faced by Wallander throughout the book are very terrifying and rather bleak. This is my first Kurt Wallander book, and I enjoyed it very much but I would be careful of who I recommended it to!


1 to 10 of 10