Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Alsie W. (hootsannie) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
An April Shroud (Dalziel and Pascoe, Bk 4)
An April Shroud (Dalziel and Pascoe, Bk 4)
Author: Reginald Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/13/2012


Reginald Hill never fails to get my attention early and keep me interested right to the last page. I love British police procedurals in series where I get to know the caracters and follow their carriers case after case. Louise Penny's Canadian series is another excellent choise for fans of this genre. Keep them coming, guys!!!


Black Lotus (Sano Ichiro, Bk 6)
Black Lotus (Sano Ichiro, Bk 6)
Author: Laura Joh Rowland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 3/13/2012


For lovers of police procedurals, these books are a must read! Every culture and every era has its crime and its charm. I find Ms. Rowlands books keep me interested right to the last page.


Breathless
Breathless
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 3/13/2012


When I want a break from police procedurals I often pick up a Koontz. The war between good and evil is eternal and this author is a master at it.I sometimes wish that I could wade around in the minds of Koontz or King, but I would require heavy duty combat boots!! HootsAnnie


Cathedral of the Sea
Cathedral of the Sea
Author: Ildefonso Falcones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 3/13/2012


I found this an excellent read. I will have to try more of Falcones work.


The Coffin Tree (John Coffin, Bk 25)
The Coffin Tree (John Coffin, Bk 25)
Author: Gwendoline Butler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/13/2012


Ms. Butler is so prolific I wonder how she manages to keep from being repetative! Her range is phenominal and full of surprises. I enjoy her work very much. HootsAnnie


The Count of Monte Cristo (Abridged)
The Count of Monte Cristo (Abridged)
Author: Alexandre Dumas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/27/2012


I first read this book my senior year in high school. Now, 51 years later, it remains one of the most compeling, can't-put-it-down, books I have ever read. It is no wonder Dumas has passed down through the generations with avid fans accummulating year after year.


Dark of the Moon (Virgil Flowers, Bk 1)
Dark of the Moon (Virgil Flowers, Bk 1)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 3/13/2012


I have read Sandford's Prey series for many years and only wish he could turn them out faster. This new series with Flowers is proving to be right up there at the top of my wish list. Keep'um coming Mr. Sandford!! HootsAnnie


Death of a Charming Man (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 10) (Large Print)
Death of a Charming Man (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 10) (Large Print)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/13/2012


I am always eager to get my hands on the next Beaton! Hamish or Agatha Raison are always good for a chuckle. Plots are always interesting enough that I will not doze off. At my age that alone is an accomplishment for an author! HootsAnnie


Decadent (Wicked Lovers, Bk 2)
Decadent (Wicked Lovers, Bk 2)
Author: Shayla Black
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/19/2014


Ms. Black's stories are always good and her characters well drawn and articulate. The sex is HOT, HOT, HOT!


Decked with Folly (Pennyfoot Hotel, Bk 17)
Decked with Folly (Pennyfoot Hotel, Bk 17)
Author: Kate Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/13/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I sometimes need a light uncomplicated read just to pass the time in a doctors waiting room. Kingsbury never fails me. Time flies when your having fun!! HootsAnnie


Dove in the Window (Benni Harper, Bk 5)
Dove in the Window (Benni Harper, Bk 5)
Author: Earlene Fowler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 4/27/2012


Benni Harper is who I want to be in my next life!! So much fun and loving family to-boot!


Empress Orchid
Empress Orchid
Author: Anchee Min
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 3/13/2012


Ilove to time-travel and visit other cultures. Ms. Min takes me there and teachs me things I find fascinating! HootsAnnie


The Face
The Face
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 3/13/2012


Another interesting evening with Mr. Koontz!!


A Finer End (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 7)
A Finer End (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 7)
Author: Deborah Crombie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 3/13/2012


I love Duncan, Gemma and the whole gang! Keep'um coming, Ms. Crombie! HootsAnnie


The Judas Strain (Sigma Force, Bk 4)
The Judas Strain (Sigma Force, Bk 4)
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 3/13/2012


Another excellent read from Mr. Rollins. This man has talent from cover to cover and to spare. You will enjoy his work, be ye male or female.


Lighthouse (St. Simons Island, Bk 1)
Lighthouse (St. Simons Island, Bk 1)
Author: Eugenia Price
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/27/2012


My husband's grandfather on his mothers side was a Gould.His ancesters were builders of lighthouses all along the Atlantic coast. This is a lovely look into the past. It is part of every Americans history, we must preserve it in print and in fact.


McBain's Ladies: The Women of the 87th Precinct
McBain's Ladies: The Women of the 87th Precinct
Author: Ed McBain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/13/2012


Mr. McBain was my first experiance of the police genre in the 70s and I have loved them ever since! This man was THE MASTER of his craft. I miss him and the 87th. I read them all. HootsAnnie


The Mermaids Singing (Tony Hill and Carol Jordan, Bk 1)
The Mermaids Singing (Tony Hill and Carol Jordan, Bk 1)
Author: Val McDermid
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/13/2012


Trust McDermid to keep you on your mental toes from cover to cover! Another good one. Enjoy friend reader, enjoy! HootsAnnie


A Morbid Taste for Bones (Brother Cadfael, Bk 1)
A Morbid Taste for Bones (Brother Cadfael, Bk 1)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 3/13/2012


Ellis Peters is new to me but I find this first book refreshing. It is easy to read, uncomplicated but holds my interest throughout. Sometimes brain work is better than technology, at least I find it so. HootsAnnie


Murder at Plum's (Auguste Didier, Bk 3)
Murder at Plum's (Auguste Didier, Bk 3)
Author: Amy Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/13/2012


Sorry, Ms. Myers,I could not get past chapter 5. Just a little too light- weight for me, could not stay interested. Probably a great start for young beginners. HootsAnnie


1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
Want fewer ads?