Peggy F. (pafmarwog) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 44 - Page:
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 9/18/2011
Helpful Score: 2


What Gerald G. said in his review! I agree 100% and couldn't have said it better. This is a lame effort and the writers and editors should be ashamed of themselves for allowing this drivel to be published. Our money can be better spent on authors whose writing has substance. Luckily with PBS we are only paying postage to receive and pass this on to another fool who thinks they should read it.


Bad Blood (Kate Shugak, Bk 20)
Bad Blood (Kate Shugak, Bk 20)
Author: Dana Stabenow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/15/2013


My response to Andrew K Review Bad Blood - Poem - Ending

Adieu
There is no Part 2


Bad Luck and Trouble (Jack Reacher, Bk 11)
Bad Luck and Trouble (Jack Reacher, Bk 11)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 4/13/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Another good Jack Reacher read by Lee Child. I have read every Jack Reacher novel and think they just keep getting better. The story content involves another unique situation Reacher encounters and brings into play his past and present with ex members of his special investigators team. My only complaint would be that it seems a little drawn out in sections and includes too much mathmatical information. This is a well thought out story line beginning to end and flows smoothly.


Blood Trail (Joe Pickett, Bk 8)
Blood Trail (Joe Pickett, Bk 8)
Author: C. J. Box
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/30/2011


This novel follows Free Fire in the Joe Pickett series. They are all good reads. I never get bored reading C. J. Box's depiction of Wyoming's wilderness and the tales are always enthralling and creative. I fear Joe Pickett will be out of a job soon as many of the main series character 'bad' guys seem to be dying off.


Blue-Eyed Devil (Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch, Bk 4)
Blue-Eyed Devil (Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch, Bk 4)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 8/9/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This last tale in the Cole/Hitch series is another fun quick read(276 pages-large print, widely spaced). It is fairly predictable like the other three books Appaloosa, Resolution and Brimstone. I am a huge Robert B Parker fan and will miss his writing.


Bury the Lead   (Andy Carpenter, Bk 3)
Bury the Lead (Andy Carpenter, Bk 3)
Author: David Rosenfelt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 11/15/2009


This is a fairly predictable but well developed storyline. I'm getting a little bored with the constant mental banter Andy Carpenter vocalizes from within. I think the first book by this author, open and shut, was more compelling. It prompted me to order, bury the lead. I was not sorry i read this book. It's a quick read.


The Butcher's Boy
The Butcher's Boy
Author: Thomas Perry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/21/2010


This was an enthralling story about a hit man and a Justice Department Statistician who's lives run on parallel planes throughout the tale but never intersect. I found myself rooting for both sides to win in this adventure. The characters were engaging and believeable and well developed by the writer. I really like this guy Perry. Good job.


By the Sword (Repairman Jack, Bk 12)
By the Sword (Repairman Jack, Bk 12)
Author: F. Paul Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/18/2011


After reading By the Sword I read Black Wind. I wish I had read BW first as it set up the storyline to By the Sword and made everything crystal clear(well to a point:*). I agree that this isn't one of Mr. Wilson's best Repairman Jack novels but it is a fine read. He also explains in the Authors Note why the Jack tales seem to have spawned a life of their own.


Cover of Night
Cover of Night
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 400
Review Date: 12/10/2007


The story line was good with great characters and good plot but every time I read a Linda Howard book I tell myself it will be the last because of all of the superflous information she includes that has no relevance to the story line whatsoever. She tells us what color peoples clothes are and how pretty the storm clouds floating by are and a persons every thought during a suspenseful moment; which isn't needed.


Ford County: Stories
Ford County: Stories
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 10/9/2010


I'm not a John Grisham Courtroom Drama fan but I did enjoy reading Ford County. This book is a series of short stories some humorous and others tragic. Some tales are better than others but none are mundane or boring. They all held my interest and offered something to mull over. It was a quick read.


From Cape Town with Love: A Tennyson Hardwick Novel (Tennyson Hardwick Novels)
Review Date: 5/28/2012


I truly liked the first "Ten" Casanegra novel by Mr Underwood and company. The next "Ten" novel: In the Night of the Heat, was okay. I read half this novel before I connected with this 3rd. "Ten" installment in the series. The violence wasn't overtly offensive. I could do without the sexual innuendo and prowess of Tennyson Hardwick(which I think is a play on words for his much revered little 'ten'). His sexual treatment of women rides on the edge of abusiveness even if you are into S & M. I will not buy South by Southeast which features this character but might put it on my wish list at PBS.


Grave Men (Priest & Lamarr, Bk 1)
Grave Men (Priest & Lamarr, Bk 1)
Author: Tom Piccirilli
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was one of the most poorly written books I have every read. No flow, no enthralling storyline, no endearing cast of characters. No class. I was very disappointed in this book as the author was highly recommended to me. I will not be giving Mr. Piccirilli another read.


Hell at the Breech
Hell at the Breech
Author: Tom Franklin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/25/2013


We both enjoyed reading Hell at the Breech. This is my third Tom Franklin novel. He certainly has a way with the prose and verbage. I like the flow of his writing. Sometimes I feel like I am part of the action because his prose is so compelling and vivid. I read Smonk and hated it(much too graphic). I read Crooked Letter and loved it. Hell at the Breech is on my list of favorites by this author. I am looking forward to reading other Tom Franklin Novels.


In the Night of the Heat: A Tennyson Hardwick Novel
Review Date: 4/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is the second Tenny Hardwick novel. I thought that the first one a better read. This was not as fast paced as Casanegra and the first novel was more believable. This one is like a rewrite of the OJ Simpson senario. I enjoyed reading this novel but there are better reads out there.


The Informant (Butcher's Boy, Bk 3)
The Informant (Butcher's Boy, Bk 3)
Author: Thomas Perry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/28/2012


This is a great follow up to the Butcher's Boy, and Sleeping Dogs. The Informant held my interest throughout the entire book; although it moved a little slow thru some of the chapters. It was not predictable and was a good read. Thomas Perry is one of my favorite authors. In my opinion, Thomas Perry is one of the few authors who consistently write good novels about one time senario characters and situations and Jane Whitefield series stories. I like his writing style. His books hold my interest. He is one of the few authors whose books I searched for and bought instead of waiting my turn thru the PBS system.


The Jaguar (Charlie Hood, Bk 5)
The Jaguar (Charlie Hood, Bk 5)
Author: T. Jefferson Parker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/27/2012


The storyline comes after the L A Outlaws novel. It is about Suzanne Jones son, Bradley. You don't have to read the other novel to 'get' this one. I thought the story just okay. It held my interest but seemed to drag along at times. The premise for the kidnapping was somewhat lame.
I have read most of T J Parkers books. This one was not my favorite.


Killer Smile (Rosato & Associates, Bk 11)
Killer Smile (Rosato & Associates, Bk 11)
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 12/10/2007


This really is a train wreak. You can't help reading it even though you can envision that the outcome will be a disaster. This is a great read.


Kindness Goes Unpunished (Walt Longmire, Bk 3)
Kindness Goes Unpunished (Walt Longmire, Bk 3)
Author: Craig Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 11/30/2009


I have enjoyed the entire Walt Longmire series by Craig Johnson. This is not my favorite tale in the series. It was too melancholy or emotional for me. I guess I am use to a storyline from a tough guy point of view rather than a father who is overwhelmed and all consumed with the fate of his daughter type senario. Nevertheless, I liked the story and will continue to read on about the saga of Sheriff Longmire and company.


Lethal
Lethal
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 3/2/2012


I was disappointed in this Sandra Brown novel. The storyline was interesting but seemed to drag on forever. The 'bookkeeper' turned out to be a person so out of character and made the ending lame and anti-climatic. The main male in the tale would do better in a spy espionage setting rather than a small town domestic situation. Not the best Sandra Brown compared to previous novels.


Lethal Bayou Beauty (Miss Fortune, Bk 2)
Lethal Bayou Beauty (Miss Fortune, Bk 2)
Author: Jana DeLeon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 5/4/2015


Lethal Bayou Beauty follows Louisiana Longshot in the Miss Fortune series. This sometimes humorous and often times inane tale is a short light summer afternoon read and nothing dramatic, romantic, or thought provoking.


1 to 20 of 44 - Page: