LeeAnn S. (acrazycowgirl) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The Angel of Darkness
The Angel of Darkness
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 8/11/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Angel of Darkness is a continuation of the Alienest story by the same author Caleb Carr, but written from the perspective of the errand boy Stevie. It takes them on the next case, but refers back to the prior case frequently. It deals with the concept of a mother's love being a natural state, or is it? When a series of deaths seem to be linked to a woman, the team works diligently to solve the case and save the kidnapped baby of a Spanish diplomat. All a the time when war with Spain seems likely and the case holds political ramifications. Then add Clarence Darrow, one of histories greatest legal minds, to the case and this one gets interesting. Very enjoyable read. I hope Carr writes another with these characters.


Books Can Be Deceiving (Library Lover, Bk 1)
Books Can Be Deceiving (Library Lover, Bk 1)
Author: Jenn McKinlay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 1/16/2015


I enjoyed reading this light fun book.


The Cat Who Said Cheese (Cat Who... Bk 18)
The Cat Who Said Cheese (Cat Who... Bk 18)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 9/10/2017


Excellent


Chasing Rayna
Chasing Rayna
Author: Sylvia Nobel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/8/2014


I enjoyed this story after reading all of Sylvia Nobel's mysteries. She is just a great writer!


Chasing the Dime
Chasing the Dime
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 288
Review Date: 7/30/2012


This one was different from most of Michael Connelly's detective or journalist murders, centered this time on the a victim wrongly accused, set up for reasons not clear in the beginning. It was an enjoyable read with a unique angle that made me cling to every fact and turn the pages faster. The references to other crimes and persons from his other books builds the interest and piques the insiders feeling of knowing more than what was written. Very clever.


Dark Moon Crossing (Kendall O'Dell Mystery series)
Dark Moon Crossing (Kendall O'Dell Mystery series)
Author: Sylvia Nobel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/8/2014


Such a timely topic even though it has been out a few years. Terrific story - I couldn't put it down! Please keep more coming!


Deadly Sanctuary (Kendall O'Dell, Bk 1)
Deadly Sanctuary (Kendall O'Dell, Bk 1)
Author: Sylvia Nobel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/8/2014


So happy to have discovered this series of books. After number one I jumped right into number two. These are great stories!


The Devil's Cradle (Kendall O'Dell , Bk 2) (Large Print)
The Devil's Cradle (Kendall O'Dell , Bk 2) (Large Print)
Author: Sylvia Nobel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/8/2014


I really enjoyed this book. Such an unusual twist ending! She left me wanting more! I will definitely read all of her books.


Diabetes: Fight It with the Blood Type Diet (Dr. Peter J. D'Adamo's Eat Right 4 Your Type Health Library)
Review Date: 7/4/2013


Interesting theories


Double Cross (Alex Cross, Bk 13)
Double Cross (Alex Cross, Bk 13)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 463
Review Date: 5/8/2013


Once again James Paterson brings you to the edge of your seat and makes it impossible to put this book down. Alex Cross pursues an old nemesis as well as a new one and his sister. How do people end up so broken? Another great book and still want to read every single one!


Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
Author: Mindy Kaling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 9/23/2017


I enjoyed it. It dragged a bit in the beginning but I hung in there and it picked up.


Seeds of Vengeance (Kendall O'Dell Mystery series)
Seeds of Vengeance (Kendall O'Dell Mystery series)
Author: Sylvia Nobel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/8/2014


Such a wonderful story. I'm really in love with the characters after reading 4 books about them. Can't wait for more!


Winter Garden
Winter Garden
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 204
Review Date: 6/28/2012


Winter Garden
By Author: Kristin Hannah
The Seasoned Readers Book Club graded this book with an A+.
Several of the women in our Seasoned Readers Book Club agreed it was a slow start getting into the story. But once the fairy tale started to unfold, and you knew it wasnt just a fairy tale, it gets you hooked. How can a woman ever really know her mother when the mother is cold and distant all of her life? This heartbreaking novel displays the delicate nature of the mother-daughter bond. As children, the only connection between two sisters and their mother was the Russian fairy tale Anya sometimes told the girls at night. On his deathbed, their father extracts a promise from his daughters. Get their mother to tell them the fairy tale one last time and completely.
Meredith and Nina are together with their cold, disapproving mother, Anya, who even now, after the fathers death, offers no comfort to her daughters. Thus begins an unexpected journey into the truth of Anyas life in war-torn Leningrad, more than five decades ago. Through telling of the fairy tale, that wasnt a fairy tale, they begin to see their mother in a new light. Starving, trying to care for two children as her husband, the prince, is off at war, and fleeing when one child becomes ill and being torn apart forever, the fairy tale goes beyond the happy to the utterly terrorizing. The story alternates between the past and present, telling their mothers life, and a secret so terrible and terrifying that it will shake the very foundation of their family and change who they believe they are. Through the telling the walls begin to tumble between them.
All of us felt the same about this story. It is so horrifying to think she could have survived. And we all asked what we would do under those circumstances. But more we asked why she, or even her husband, waited all those years to seek counseling for her to come out of a post stress syndrome self-inflicted semi-comatose state she had lived all the years her two daughters were growing up. Was he afraid the memory of the prince would diminish his role in her life? Was the past too ugly to look at in the light of day? Yet you know she was still living it everyday in her head. It was absconding with her true life. It was a tragedy those girls had to grow up without their mother whole which could have likely been accomplished with the right therapy.
All in all we enjoyed the book with all of its sadness and the healing that comes with the truth exposed.


1 to 13 of 13