Facebook

Jessica G. (Jessie) - - Reviews

41 to 60 of 65 - Page:
Marly's Choice (Men of August, Bk 1)
Marly's Choice (Men of August, Bk 1)
Author: Lora Leigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 6/11/2008
Helpful Score: 8


I couldn't finish this one. I was slightly put off by the almost incest factor and the 'I raised her now I want to sleep with her' aspect but really I just didn't find the writing very hot.


Men at Work: Slow Hands / Color Me Wicked / The Fixer Upper
Review Date: 3/17/2006


This book has 3 short stories- the one by Nina Bangs was a little strange, but not awful. The one by Denison was cute. My favorite was the one by Mary Janice Davidson- it was very funny & clever.


Midnight Magic
Midnight Magic
Author: Betina Krahn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/4/2005
Helpful Score: 2


An accident prone girl thinks she is cursed until her jinx forces a handsome man to recuperate at her house


The Misted Cliffs (Lost Continent, Bk 2)
The Misted Cliffs (Lost Continent, Bk 2)
Author: Catherine Asaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 11/14/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book, I read the first book in the series and it seemed to drag a little in places, but I thought this one was much better. The characters were much more compelling and the plot moved quickly. I suppose it is good as a stand-alone, but I do however recommend reading the first in the series (A Charmed Sphere) to learn some more about the history of the countries and better understand the magical aspects. There is also a short story in the anthology Charmed Destinies that inlvolves some of the characters in the series.


New Blood (Blood Magic, Bk 1)
New Blood (Blood Magic, Bk 1)
Author: Gail Dayton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/25/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I very much enjoyed Miss Dayton's new book, New Blood. It is quite different from her previous Rose series but I think fans of that series will enjoy this as well. Amanusa lives a solitary life in the woods, only having contact with others when they need her healing magic, when a strange man (Jax) appears. She is literally unable to get rid of him and begins to believe his tale that she is a blood sorceress and he is her servant; a claim that is very dangerous in a land filled with magic hating Inquisitors. On top of this, Amanusa harbors a dislike of all men based on her past and Jax has suffered plenty at the hands of his last owner. What follows is their tale as they flee the law, explore her new powers and re-introduce blood magic to society. The setting is 1600s in Europe but with a magical twist. It was interesting to see how the author incorporated magic into this society and its rigid rules, especially in regards to women. The magic itself is fascinating and Dayton splits it into unique specialties. My favorite aspect of the story was the development of the relationship between Jax and Amanusa. Both have been abused in the past and learn to trust and eventually love each other. There are many other books with damaged heroes/heroines but often they tend to over react in almost stereotypical ways (anybody who reads romance knows what I mean). Not so here, both characters seemed very real to me and their reactions reasonable given their histories and society. I loved Jax; he never pushed Amanusa around but took charge when he needed to. Amanusa is a strong female but never feisty. There are also several secondary characters I enjoyed and I am looking forward to the next book in the series not only to, hopefully, read their stories but to see how a larger plot issue is solved.

Warning: there are references to rape in this book; nothing graphic but I know some people like to be forewarned


No Humans Involved (Women of the Underworld, Bk 7)
No Humans Involved (Women of the Underworld, Bk 7)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 3/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved the first couple of books in this series but my attention has been waning on the last couple of ones. I feel like this one got back on track. I was never intrigued by Jamie but I liked her character here. We also see a side of Jeremy we haven't seen before; including a couple of very hot scenes.


One Perfect Knight
One Perfect Knight
Author: Judith O'Brien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 3/3/2006


I enjoyed this book, it was a nice light read. If you enjoy stories on Camelot, you should like this.


Playing Easy to Get: Turn Up the Heat / Hunter's Oath / The Warlord Wants Forever
Review Date: 1/2/2007


I got this book because I'm a fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon, but her story was the one I liked least. I find that while I'm a huge fan of her Dark Hunter series, the BAD series isn't to my taste. I really enjoyed the Kresley Cole story and will be looking for more from her. I also liked the Jaid Black story.


The Rogue's Return (Company of Rogues, Bk 12)
The Rogue's Return (Company of Rogues, Bk 12)
Author: Jo Beverley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 1/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Another in Beverley's Rogue collection. I find all her writing wonderful & this is no exception. I really liked both Jancy & Simon.


Shadows Of Destiny
Shadows Of Destiny
Author: Rachel Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/28/2007


Third book in a trilogy, wraps up the saga by showing the Anari army blending with the Bozandari's and marching to meet Ardred. Although I enjoyed the first and second book, this one seemed to drag. There were too many descriptions about the army (formations, tactics, etc) for me. Also seemed a little too preachy. War is bad, I get it. I don't mind books with a message but this one keeps pounding you over the head with it.


Sing to Me of Dreams
Sing to Me of Dreams
Author: Kathryn Lynn Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 9/20/2005


Story of a Native American medicine woman who is sold into slavery


A Soldier's Christmas: I'll Be Home / A Bridge for Christmas / The Wingman's Angel
Review Date: 12/11/2006


Three quick but charming tales involving our service men & women and the holidays.


Stolen (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 2)
Stolen (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 2)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 641
Review Date: 11/1/2005


This is the 2nd bookmin the series and tells how Elaine, a werewolf, is captured and held in a research facility.


Texas Destiny (Texas, Bk 1)
Texas Destiny (Texas, Bk 1)
Author: Lorraine Heath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 9/8/2008


Highly recommend this book. The hero is not your usual type of bossy dominant romance novel hero but is still appealing all the same.


Tie Me Up, Tie Me Down: Captivated / Promise Me Forever / Hunter's Right
Review Date: 10/3/2005


Anthology of erotic tales- Kenyon: based on her series of secret agents, George: football player kidnaps his ex, Black: army woman stumbles on hidden Viking civilization


A Time To Die (Protectors, Bk 29)
A Time To Die (Protectors, Bk 29)
Author: Beverly Barton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 3/18/2008


Great book! Very suspenseful but still romantic.


To Have and to Hold (Wyckerley, Bk 2)
To Have and to Hold (Wyckerley, Bk 2)
Author: Patricia Gaffney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 1/12/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I was surprised by how much I liked this book. the hero is horrible in the beginning, but the book was so well written that I liked him by the end. I highly recommend this book.


Touched By Time (Zebra Regency Romance)
Touched By Time (Zebra Regency Romance)
Author: Leanne Shawler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 6/5/2006
Helpful Score: 6


Jane travels to Bath to escape a bad relationship & discovers the ghost of a murdered man in her hotel room. When she travels back to his time, she decides to save him. A very quick but good read. The characters are well drawn and the plot moves along. I would especially recommend if you like time travel.


Twice a Hero
Twice a Hero
Author: Susan Krinard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 9/20/2005


Time travel romance of a man lost in a jungle


Untamed  (Medieval, Bk 1)
Untamed (Medieval, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Lowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 12/1/2006
Helpful Score: 3


I really enjoyed these characters, they didn't act like the typical stereotypes of conquering knights and helpless maidens. I can't wait to start reading the next in the series


41 to 60 of 65 - Page: