Sharon C. (Mamu) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
Believing the Lie (Inspector Lynley, Bk 17)
Believing the Lie (Inspector Lynley, Bk 17)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/18/2012


Classic Elizabeth George! Familiar characters with some interesting twists and changes. Great sense of place, vivid descriptions. Continuing character development. I found myself irritated with Tommy's infatuation with his boss. Wanted to smack him a bit. :) That was the only thing that brought my rating down but I enjoyed every bit of it.


Blindfold Game
Blindfold Game
Author: Dana Stabenow
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 4/11/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Rather slow paced for first half. Picks up speed and suspence later. Well-drawn characters as is common for this author. Amazing detailing regarding location and settings.


Breakheart Hill
Breakheart Hill
Author: Thomas H. Cook
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/15/2011


I've had this book on my TBR for close to forever. I just finished it. Marvelous writing and an ending that has me wondering, "What did I miss?" It was not a quick easy read. Very literate. Has me wondering if I should read it a again to see if I should have seen the ending coming. Haunting.


Dead Famous (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 7) (aka The Jury Must Die)
Dead Famous (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 7) (aka The Jury Must Die)
Author: Carol O'Connell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 3/13/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Number 7 of the Mallory series. Complex character development in this intelligent series pairs with suberb, complicated plot.


Dead Run (Monkeewrench, Bk 3)
Dead Run (Monkeewrench, Bk 3)
Author: P. J. Tracy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 7/28/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This series continues to suprise me. Except for some occasional dialogue that seems to work a bit hard at being funny, the books just get better and better. Don't get me wrong. It does have humor and usually it's very natural but sometimes just a little awkward. That criticism is outweighed however, by the original plotting, superb writing and generally tight and realistic dialogue. Very hard to put down.

Here's one section, from the p.o.v. of an 8 year old: "He was straddling his old bike across the street from the cafe, staring through the plate-glass window, watching Hazel's broad back hunch and move over the grill plate behind the counter. Even through the dust-streaked window, he could see that great pile of too-black hair wobbling on top of her head, and when she turned aournd to plop a plate down on the counter in front of a customer, he saw the loose skin of remembered chins cascading down over the place where her neck was supposed to be." Writing just doesn't get much more vivid than that. :)


Deviant Ways
Deviant Ways
Author: Chris Mooney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 4/6/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A damaged and struggling main character, wrestling with his own demons, makes this book heart-stopping at times. The other character are equally human and well-developed. It is filled with action twists and turns galore right to the chilling and unexpected finale.


Double Homicide
Double Homicide
Author: Jonathan Kellerman, Faye Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 3/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Non-series book by the Kellermans. Actually two separate books in one cover. Both good, well-developed as you'd expect coming from these two authors. I wished there were more books to come of the characters in these.


The Fallen
The Fallen
Author: T. Jefferson Parker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 3/23/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Every time I read one of Parker's books I wonder why he isn't as well-known as say, James Patterson. He is a remarkable author in that his characters show depth and humanity, and his plotting is suspenceful and real. This is one of his best, IMHO. The premise is so fascinating, that the main character, a police detective, can see others' emotions, projected as colored shapes from their words--a neurological condition called synethesia.

I wanted this to turn into a series so I could continue to be involved in the lives of this protagonist and the cast of characters!


Flight (Irene Kelly, Bk 8)
Flight (Irene Kelly, Bk 8)
Author: Jan Burke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 4/6/2007


This was just excellent! I realized after I read it, that it was one of a series featuring Irene Kelly. I had read two Jan Burke stand-alone mysteries and read this one thinking it was also not a series. Now, I have had to go back and find and read all the first of the series (a worthwhile and enjoyable task!)


Folly (Folly Island, Bk 1)
Folly (Folly Island, Bk 1)
Author: Laurie R. King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 7/22/2007
Helpful Score: 6


This book deserves a full five stars; maybe more if that were possible. The description offered will tell you all about the basic plot. What you have to read to believe is how superbly King envelopes you in this character and situation. Haunting and beautifully accurate stream of consciousness from Rae (the protagonist) as she faces her damaged mind and emotions, her fearful but head-on wrestling with her fears and demons, her devotion to the people in her life that she loves and has loved, as well as her remorse about her frailties and weaknesses, they all come together in a book I'll probably never forget. It is so much more than a "mystery" and yet it is that, too.

In my opinion, Laurie King proved herself a true writing master in this one. I'm having a hard time reposting it, but I'm sure I will. It is too precious not to share.


The Hard Way (Jack Reacher, Bk 10)
The Hard Way (Jack Reacher, Bk 10)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 431
Review Date: 6/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I think this is about the tenth or so Jack Reacher series book. Even though it is part of a series, this one can easily stand alone. I love Child's style and I guess I'd have to admit, I love this character. His "take-no-prisoners" ethic, combined with his intelligence and gusto, makes him hard to resist. This is no exception to the others of the series. Quick-paced and very satisfying.

Occasionally, I knew I should have found some of the situations questionable but Child makes it totally believable. I figured out a crucial element long before Jack did and that made me a bit disappointed in him, but hey, he's only human. I'd definitely want to have Jack Reacher on my side.

I can hardly wait to read the next one!


The Heat of the Moon  (Rachel Goddard, Bk 1)
The Heat of the Moon (Rachel Goddard, Bk 1)
Author: Sandra Parshall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/20/2010


This book was such a surprise! It shouldn't have been since it won the Agatha award for best first novel. I should know that means it's good--really good... It started out as if it were going to be just another fairly predictable, although enjoyable romantic suspense book. And I started out diappointed because I had thought it would have more substance. My disappointment quickly was transformed into delight and tension. This author proves once again that a serial killer theme can't hold a candle to the dark, twisting secrets held by a normal-seeming mind. GREAT book! Happily gave it 4 1/2 stars--I'm very stingy with the stars otherwise it could have easily been five!! :) Highly recommended.


If Angels Fall (Reed-Sydowski  #1)
If Angels Fall (Reed-Sydowski #1)
Author: Rick Mofina
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 2/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I am a totally jaded mystery/thriller reader. I've been there and done that with the best authors in the genre. It takes a lot to impress me and a lot more for me to give a title five stars. Believe me when I tell you that this is not one to miss. I have ordered all of Mofina's other books and I can't believe how long this has been sitting on my to-be-read shelf. Just great on-the-edge-of-your-seat writing, plotting, character development along with twists and turns galore!


Immoral (Jonathan Stride, Bk 1)
Immoral (Jonathan Stride, Bk 1)
Author: Brian Freeman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 5/7/2007
Helpful Score: 7


Jonathan Stride, a detective lieutenant in Duluth, Minnesota, is featured in this first novel of what, I hope, will be a series.

For this book, Freeman won the 2006 Macavity Award for Best First Novel, was a finalist 2005 Edgar Award for Best First Novel, and a finalist 2006 Anthony Award for Best First Novel. That's why I sought it out. One of the web review sites I love is TheMysteryReader.com and they gave it 4+ stars. That would be my personal rating too. Just an excellent book and very exciting author.


Indelible (Grant County, Bk 4)
Indelible (Grant County, Bk 4)
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 9/9/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Karin Slaughter is an author that I was introduced to through PaperBackSwap members. I ordered these books only because of reading information about them here. I am so grateful!! I have read so many of this genre that I'm a tough audience to impress; she more than makes the cut. She is, to me, one of the best writers in this genre: right up there with Jeffery Deaver, T. Jefferson Parker, John Sandford, Carol O'Connell etc.

As someone else commented, this book is, for her, somewhat slower moving at times than her usual hold-your-breath pace. However, it is still very intense and definitely enhances the development and your understanding of the two main characters.

I have the next title in the series on my shelf, but I restrained myself from gobbling it up. I still hear it calling to me; I won't be able to resist very long...probably won't even try.


The Kill Clause  (Tim Rackley, Bk 1)
The Kill Clause (Tim Rackley, Bk 1)
Author: Gregg Hurwitz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 3/7/2008
Helpful Score: 3


An excellent book. It had been sitting on my "to-be-read" mountain for over a year and I'm so glad I finally chose it.

So many things about it that I loved. Tense, tight dialouge, believable characters, elaborate but realistic plotting... I love that the protaganist has well-developed relationships with the supporting characters, that his reactions to the murder of his seven-year old daughter were so realistic and yet he shows more honor and integrity than many would. (Not a spoiler, by the way; the murder happens on the first page.)

I'd recommend it for fans of Lee Child, Greg Iles. In places, a bit bloody. Not for the squeamish.


The Lake of Dead Languages
The Lake of Dead Languages
Author: Carol Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 4/3/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is the first I've read by this author and I definitely enjoyed it. It is primarily a plot driven book but does intimately explore and expand the characters, even though I wouldn't say they show enough growth to give anything but a nod to character development. It had very interesting flashback perspectives to events of twenty years before. I became impatient toward the end when the main character kept overlooking increasingly obvious conclusions about the villain. The author switched occasionally between first and third person, sometimes effectively and sometimes awkwardly. All in all, a solid read in which I found myself quite immersed.


The Law of Similars
The Law of Similars
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 9/3/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This book was so irritating to me and I couldn't wait to finish it. The writing was absolutely excellent, the ingredients (plot, characters, background and setting) were all there. Immersive! (Is that a word?) But I got SO irritated by the main character, Leland. Some of the foreshadowing probably contributed to that because that set up a disaster waiting to happen that really never did happen. Paraphrasing..."the beginning of the end." It should have been a fascinating read and in most ways it was. I was left anxious and unsatisfied though. Not a response I'm usually looking for. The book will stay with me, for sure.


The Lazarus Hotel
The Lazarus Hotel
Author: Jo Bannister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/27/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I had been looking for this book for several months after reading a 4-star (out of five) review of it. It was definitely a 4+ star for me! This title was a "closed room" mystery with a twist -- it took place in the rented penthouse of an unfinished hotel in the heart of London, with the cast isolated and cut-off from electricity and escape for a weekend.

It was difficult to guess who the villain was, was very creepy at times, and had many twists and turns. It didn't have enormous character development but enough for a couple of the character to be more than two-dimensional. It was a quick read. I love Bannister's style and language use.

Definitely recommended!


Leave the Grave Green (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 3)
Leave the Grave Green (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 3)
Author: Deborah Crombie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 11/30/2010


This is one of the authors that I keep forgetting about. I finish one of series and can't figure out why it has been on my shelf gathering dust! Usually, I have the "bad guy" figured out waaaay before the revealing but this one just caught me. Maybe I just wsn't paying attention but I was pleasantly amused. Great read, great writing.


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: