Debi J. (mztrees) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 154 - Page:
14 (Taylor Jackson, Bk 2)
14 (Taylor Jackson, Bk 2)
Author: J. T. Ellison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 11/9/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This book was a thriller from beginning to end. J.T. Ellison is one of the best new mystery/thriller writers around. This is the second in a series of LT. Taylor Jackson whodunits after "All the Pretty Girls." Her next book is due out January 2009 and it is called "Judas Kiss." I await her new book with great anticipation.


The 50/50 Killer
The 50/50 Killer
Author: Steve Mosby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/19/2009


Wow!!! This is a real page turner. I could hardly put this book down. I normally don't care for british writers, but this guy is really excellent. I can't wait to order more of them. The chapters are written as if the characters were writing them. Very cool.


9 Dragons (Harry Bosch, Bk 15)
9 Dragons (Harry Bosch, Bk 15)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 10/30/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Another great Harry Bosch book. Harry's daughter is living in Hong Kong with her mother. Maddy says that she wants to come live with him in the United States and Harry is dubious about his parenting skills. The mystery starts with a killing of a store owner than Harry has met years ago. He vows to catch the killer and puts everything into that endeavor. Lots of twists and turns that make this a very enjoyable book. I read the book in one day and wanted more. Michael Connelly again delivers a Superb read!!!


Abducted (Lizzy Gardner, Bk 1)
Abducted (Lizzy Gardner, Bk 1)
Author: T. R. Ragan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/16/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I'm with Donna. WOW! I have now read all of her books and can hardly wait for more. My new favorite author. Same great writing as Chris Carter and Tania Carver. If you love to read about serial killers, this is the book for you. Actually, any you can find by this author.
She also writes under "Theresa", but I haven't tried any of those. If you stick with T.R. you won't be disappointed. Wish I could give this book more than five stars.


Aberration
Aberration
Author: Lisa Regan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/6/2014


This is one of the best books that I have ever read. Lisa Regan has written three Excellent books and I am on the third one. Great characters, super writing, good plot. Wonderful mystery. I recommend this book without reservation. Wow. I look forward to more books by her.


The Absence of Mercy
The Absence of Mercy
Author: John Burley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/4/2016


This is a great book. It is well written with great characters. I would have liked this book to go on longer, but alas, all good things must end. I have also read his second book and found it to be good also. So I found a third and ordered it too.
The writing in this book is almost magical. It was a real pleasure to find a book that was so well written.
I highly recommend this book.
I predict that John Burley will be one of the greats.


All She Ever Wanted
All She Ever Wanted
Author: Patrick Redmond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/9/2014


This book started out slow, but before I knew it, I was engrossed and could not put it down. A red headed little girl gets picked on by her school mates and has no friends. She grows up to be a beautiful, sharp witted woman who usually gets what she wants. Tina becomes Chrissie and a whole new world opens up. Has she pushed her men too far? You decide. Murder turns everyones world upside down. I will read more of this author.


All the Beautiful Brides (Graveyard Falls, Bk 1)
All the Beautiful Brides (Graveyard Falls, Bk 1)
Author: Rita Herron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/8/2016


Great book. Excellent writing. Lots of suspense. Can't wait to read the rest in this series.


Bad Karma (Criminally Insane, Bk 1)
Bad Karma (Criminally Insane, Bk 1)
Author: Andrew Harper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/19/2013


Okay, this book was not written yesterday, but WOW. It was so darn good! A lot on the graphic side. If you don't like blood and guts, do not order this book. The end of each chapter is a cliff hanger. Why didn't Harper write more books. DARDEN State Hospital is a place for the worst of the worst of the criminally insane. "Gorgon" escapes and goes on a spree. Don't miss this exceptionally well written book.


The Beautiful Mystery (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 8)
The Beautiful Mystery (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 8)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/3/2014


This was my first Louise Penny book, but it won't be my last. Beautiful writing. I enjoyed the characters and also the story about the Gregorian Chants. My husband is a great fan of this music and I just gave the book to him for reading.
I usually read darker mysteries, but this one is something special. This is the 8th Gamache mystery and I have gone back and ordered the first one and plan to read them all. It was hard for me to get into this, but once I did I could not put it down.
Very excellent book.


The Beverly Hills Organizer's Home Organizing Bible: A Pro's Answers to Your Organizing Prayers
Review Date: 10/9/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I first saw Linda Koppersmith on "Clean House" on TV. I was impressed with the way she organized the clutter of the homes.

So, I bought the book. I have read it cover to cover numerous times and always find some new way to organize.

After stocking up on organizing tools (as per her book) my home is getting more organized and less clutter free everyday.

This is one of the best books that I have ever read and will keep it as my organizing bible. I strongly urge you to purchase this book if you need to organize your clutter. It is well worth the money you will spend on it.

Linda is my hero!!!!!


Black Flowers
Black Flowers
Author: Steve Mosby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/11/2014


I really enjoyed this book. It is a little strange in the way that it is written. The story circles around a book that was written some time ago. Is it fiction or is it real? You need to keep reading to find out. Strange twists. I would recommend this to someone who wants a different read. This author writes a good story.


Black Night
Black Night
Author: S. J. Strayhorn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


From the back cover:

NOT ALL NIGHTMARES END IN THE LIGHT OF DAY....
for years Eugenia Fairfax has been haunted by terrifying dreams of her unhappy childhoold at Vandegrift Hall, an orphanage built over a 19th-century army fort. Now she has returned to Kansas with her daughter Lena in the hope of finally exorcising the demons of the past.

I really enjoyed this book and found it hard to put down. Eugenia and Lena's vacation in Kansas turns into a roller coaster ride with romance and terror woven in. The good looking man living next door has just been released from prison. The ghosts of the past catch up to play out the ending in this well done book.


Blood Moon (The Huntress/FBI Thrillers)
Blood Moon (The Huntress/FBI Thrillers)
Author: Alexandra Sokoloff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/8/2016


This is my first Alexandra Sokoloff book and I find her to be a darn good writer. Her characters were well developed and the story line was very well thought out. A thrilling, chilling story with twists and turns. I am also going to try to read her other two books, Cold Moon #3 and, Huntress Moon #1. This book is #2. I'm not sure about her other books which look like they are written in the "Horror" genre. Not quite my thing.
I had a hard time putting this book down. I highly recommend it.


Bloodman
Bloodman
Author: Robert Pobi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/21/2014


Wow, This is one book that is hard to put down. Kind of dark, but a very good story. The characters are very different. Jake comes back to deal with his artist father who has set himself on fire and crashed through a glass door. He has not been home for 30 years. His wife and son come to be with him. A hurricane hits land and is among the worst ever. Jakes family goes missing. Jake must follow his fathers clues to find a killer. Mystery at its best. I highly recommend.


The Bone Keeper
The Bone Keeper
Author: Luca Veste
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/17/2019


I really enjoyed this book. Written sometimes in the serial killers voice and other times with the police officers. Very entertaining.


BoneMan's Daughters
BoneMan's Daughters
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 4/17/2010


Wow. What a ride! This book had me hooked on the first page and never let go. Who is the Bone Man? How many has he killed? What a thriller. This is one of the best books I have read in some time. The characters are rich and there is lots of action.
Rather graphic. View the mind of a serial killer.
I can hardly wait for Dekker's next book.
I highly recommend to those of you who can go into a darker place.


Breaking the Silence
Breaking the Silence
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 6/18/2017


Diane Chamberlain is an excellent writer. This is the second of her books that I have read. I couldn't seem to put this one down. The story is wonderful with ups and downs and rich characters. I'm on my way to order more of her books.


Broken Monsters
Broken Monsters
Author: Lauren Beukes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 11/24/2017


Double YUK. Read 100 pages and gave up. I didn't like anything about the book or characters. On to something much better. Don't know why there are so many people on the wish list.


The Burying Place (Jonathan Stride, Bk 5)
The Burying Place (Jonathan Stride, Bk 5)
Author: Brian Freeman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 12/16/2010


One of the best books I have ever read. Very exciting story. I can hardly put the book down, but I don't want it to end. Freeman's best work.


1 to 20 of 154 - Page: