Janet R. (taryndesigns) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 36 - Page:
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 2/22/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is the worse book of the Women's Murder Club series so far. The plots were thin and boring. The romances were too fluffy. Joe barely existed in this book. The writing seemed so juvenile. I couldn't get past the inconsistencies, ie: the point was made that the doctor looked good in prison orange then later it was said that prison orange didn't suit her. I can't believe that James Patterson wrote this book or for that matter even looked at it.


500 Beaded Objects: New Dimensions in Contemporary Beadwork (Lark Jewelry Book)
Review Date: 8/14/2007
Helpful Score: 2


If the pictures (and there are a lot of them) in this book don't inspire you, nothing will. Stunning artwork, astounding creativity. I LOVE this book.


Agnes and the Hitman
Agnes and the Hitman
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 11/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I liked this book. Typical Crusie. Some of it was pretty far-fetched and if you are picky about that sort of thing, I wouldn't recommend it. But the characters are wonderfully written. I thought this was a throughly enjoyable, easy read!


Bad Boys Over Easy: Fuzzy Logic / The Cupid Curse / Mesmerized
Review Date: 8/14/2007
Helpful Score: 8


I'm glad I didn't spend money on this book. I was so disappointed in the Erin McCarthy and Jordan Summers stories. Being a big fan of Erin McCarthy, I expected more of a story line and great witty comments. There just wasn't much there except sex. The story by Jen Nicholas was really cute and entertaining. The story Mesmerized by Jordan Summer had a good plot line, I just didn't find it very believable. She hypnotized the hero but when she couldn't bring him out of it she brought him home to work on him more??? She kept him for 4 days. Maybe it's just me, but I thought the heroine should have been frantic with worry!


The Dangerous Gentleman (Rogues of Regent Street, Bk 1)
The Dangerous Gentleman (Rogues of Regent Street, Bk 1)
Author: Julia London
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 3/18/2008


At first I didn't like Adrian and felt very sorry for Lilliana and what she had to endure. Then as his story unfolds more I began to understand him. I ended up really rooting for them, even though I knew as a romance they would end up together. I enjoyed reading this and can't wait to get the other books in this triology.


Everlasting
Everlasting
Author: Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 12/12/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this book. As usual she came up with a great romance read. Wonderfully strong characters and a couple of thoroughly despicable villians. I only wish the story could have been longer.


Goddess of the Hunt (Wanton Dairymaid, Bk 1)
Goddess of the Hunt (Wanton Dairymaid, Bk 1)
Author: Tessa Dare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 6/15/2010
Helpful Score: 7


It was cute, it was funny at times and I am definitely getting the sequel. That said, it did tend to go on and on at points. I skipped a few pages here and there without feeling that I missed anything important. The book could probably been about 100 pages shorter making it much more enjoyable.


Hooway for Wodney Wat
Hooway for Wodney Wat
Author: Helen Lester, Lynn Munsinger (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


One of my favorite children's book. The humor is understandable to young children and enjoyable to adults. I laughed most of the way through it!


Hot
Hot
Author: Julia Harper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 2/2/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Good story. I loved how most of their dialogue occurs thru the telephone.


Irresistible (Buchanan Family, Bk 2)
Irresistible (Buchanan Family, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 311
Review Date: 1/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Book 2 of her series, follows Delicious. Great read, very entertaining. I can't wait for the next one!


It's not fair, Jeremy Spencer's parents let him stay up all night! : A Guide to the Tougher Parts of Parenting
Review Date: 8/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Very sound advice and realistic. Great examples of how to deal with all sorts of common situations, like getting your children to bed.


A Killer Crop (Orchard Mystery, Bk 4)
A Killer Crop (Orchard Mystery, Bk 4)
Author: Sheila Connolly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 12/20/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This is my favorite book of the series (so far). While solving the mystery really didn't seem to pick up until the second half, the first half was very good. I loved how we saw Meg mature in her relationship with her mother.


The Last Mermaid
The Last Mermaid
Author: Shana Abe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 10/9/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Not my favorite by her. It was at times, a bit confusing, but still a good read.


Light of the Moon
Light of the Moon
Author: Luanne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 6/5/2008
Helpful Score: 2


One of the best books by this author. It deals with a woman and a young girl both coping with the grief of losing their mothers in different ways. Wonderful foray into the colorful Gypsy world. Just a beautiful, heartwarming story. I couldn't put it down.


Lottery
Lottery
Author: Patricia Wood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 4/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book very much. It was a quick read because it was written as if Perry, a mentally challenged man, was writing it. There is profanity but there is also so much humor and insightfulness. I rooted for Perry the whole way and loved when the people who would take advantage of him were thwarted.


A Matter of Class
A Matter of Class
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 2/4/2010


This novella, though short, is sweet. There was not a lot of in depth characterizations because it was so short but Mary Balogh really wrote such a great story. At first I wasn't sure I was going to like the hero who seemed very shallow. There is a reason for that which is revealed in the twist. I really can't describe this in any other way than just a plain old sweet story.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4034
Review Date: 8/7/2006


I think this is her best book ever. Make sure you have tissues!


Play Dead
Play Dead
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 6/9/2013


Harlan Coben has grown so much as a writer. While this is a great book, it can be very confusing and the plot a little far-fetched. I also grew tired of the line "they didn't know that would be the last time...". The story could probably have been told in half the pages. It was still a good read and the "killer" was a bit of a surprise for me.


Rode Hard, Put Up Wet (Rough Riders, Bk 2)
Rode Hard, Put Up Wet (Rough Riders, Bk 2)
Author: Lorelei James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 1/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


There is plentiful and smokin' hot, wild sex in this book. I like the two stories of Cash and Gemma, and Carter and Macie, and how they intertwined. I especially loved watching Cash and Macie learn the father-daughter relationship almost from ground one. I will say that I didn't really like Carter too much. I found him a selfish, whiny, poor me brat. He is not someone that I would enjoy reading about again. Overall, a good read.


Scandal in Spring (Wallflowers, Bk 4)
Scandal in Spring (Wallflowers, Bk 4)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 697
Review Date: 12/16/2006


I didn't like this one as much as the others in the series.


1 to 20 of 36 - Page: