Janet R. (taryndesigns) - , - Reviews

21 to 36 of 36 - Page:
The Scent of Jasmine (Edilean, Bk 5)
The Scent of Jasmine (Edilean, Bk 5)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 8/30/2011


Good book but not her best. I loved the hero and heroine and their interaction. But I felt like some of the story was glossed over and unbelievable. The whole investigation into the hero's innocence and the process of proving it was done outside of the story and told after the fact. The last 50 pages were so rushed I was glad when it finally ended.


A Secret Affair (Huxtables, Bk 5)
A Secret Affair (Huxtables, Bk 5)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 8/17/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this book. It reminded me why I love Mary Balogh so much. I grew to love the characters especially Hannah. It is a simple but beautiful love story. No great suspense or angst. No fighting, misunderstandings or jealous rages, just a slow journey of two people who are not happy (but not really unhappy either), discovering each other as lovers then as friends.


Secrets of a Proper Lady (Last Man Standing, Bk 3)
Secrets of a Proper Lady (Last Man Standing, Bk 3)
Author: Victoria Alexander
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 271
Review Date: 8/8/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Not my favorite of the series, but still enjoyable. It was witty although I did get tired of everyone muttering comments under their breath. I liked the premise and I was entertained by all the characters. I wouldn't mind hearing the story of her brother, Will, and Sarah, her companion and how they got together.


The Seduction of Scandal (Scandals and Seductions, Bk 5)
The Seduction of Scandal (Scandals and Seductions, Bk 5)
Author: Cathy Maxwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 9/12/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I love Cathy Maxwell but this was not a book I could finish. Corinne was not a character I could like. I found her very selfish and snooty. Maybe she redeemed herself later on in the book but I found that I really didn't care.


Sensation
Sensation
Author: Thea Devine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 5/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Not my favorite by her. It was hard to follow. I felt it just jumped around at times and was confusing. There were secrets that were hinted at that I just didn't care enough to find out about. I didn't finish it.


Silent Melody (Kendrick & Marlowe Siblings, Bk 2)
Silent Melody (Kendrick & Marlowe Siblings, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 1/16/2008


I really liked the characters in this book and the plot was a little more unusual then most of her books. For some reason though, I found some of the speech a little annoying.


Sizzling (Buchanans, Bk 3)
Sizzling (Buchanans, Bk 3)
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 346
Review Date: 2/12/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I like this book best of all the Buchanon family books. She really delved into the characters more.


Starting Yoga: A Step-by-Step Program for Health and Well-being
Starting Yoga: A Step-by-Step Program for Health and Well-being
Author: Doriel Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/4/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Very clear pictures and precise directions.


Sudden Pleasures
Sudden Pleasures
Author: Bertrice Small
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 12/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I couldn't finish this book. I am a fan of her older stuff so I thought I would try a more contemporary book by Small. I thought the characters were flat and Small tried to make everyone witty. The dialogues were boring and the descriptive narratives were uninspired. I really like the story plot but didn't care enough about the characters to read any further.


Table For Five
Table For Five
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 312
Review Date: 8/8/2008


What a great book although I had to keep a box of tissues handy.


Tell Me Your Dreams
Tell Me Your Dreams
Author: Sidney Sheldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 6/5/2008


I guess you have to be a Sidney Sheldon fan to like this book. I thought it was without substance although the story was good.


The Thirteenth Tale
The Thirteenth Tale
Author: Diane Setterfield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 813
Review Date: 1/30/2007
Helpful Score: 9


It took me a little while to get into it, but once I did, Wow! It was so intriguing. Just when you think you have it all figured out, you don't. I love that the ending didn't leave you hanging. She finished all the loose ends.


Virgin River (Virgin River, Bk 1)
Virgin River (Virgin River, Bk 1)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 319
Review Date: 6/27/2007
Helpful Score: 10


I am a new Robyn Carr fan because of this book. It was such a good story. Mel is trying to accept the fact that she is widowed young. This book really delves into how she works through her guilty feelings and learns to trust again. The book is so easy and smooth. There is not too much sex. Just the right amount to be realistic and necessary to the story.


Whale of a Crime (Gray Whale Inn Mysteries) (Volume 7)
Whale of a Crime (Gray Whale Inn Mysteries) (Volume 7)
Author: Karen MacInerney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/15/2019


Very predictable and boring. I found myself wanting to read more about the kitten they found than the crime. The kitten storyline ended up being a dud. I thought the author might use the kitten in an interesting way. I used to love this series, mostly because I love Maine, but I find the same pattern over and over again in her stories. This book has many editing errors that are distracting as well. I might be done with the series.


Where Mercy Flows
Where Mercy Flows
Author: Karen Harter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/21/2009


Good read about a single mother who comes home to her family because of health problems. She has to deal with mistakes she has made in the past and try to understand her relationship with her father. I got very emotional reading this so keep a box of tissues handy. This story definitely has a Christian theme.


A Wicked Lord at the Wedding (Bocastle Family, Bk 8)
A Wicked Lord at the Wedding (Bocastle Family, Bk 8)
Author: Jillian Hunter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 6/1/2010


Not her best Bocastle book. I liked the characters but found the whole story line very weak. She really could have fleshed their story out so much more. I have a feeling that on the whole, this is one book in the series that could be missed.


21 to 36 of 36 - Page: