Facebook

Jessica S. (iluvlibros) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 74 - Page:
The God of Small Things
The God of Small Things
Author: Arundhati Roy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 476
Review Date: 2/16/2007


The language of this book is beautiful. The God of Small Things is, in a word, captivating.


Grow: The Modern Woman's Handbook : How to Connect With Self, Lovers, and Others
Review Date: 6/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book makes you really proud to be a woman. It was full of interesting facts, ideas, and exercises to help you embrace womanhood and find your sense of self. Although I didn't like a lot of the author's anecdotes, this was a fun read.


The Guy Not Taken
The Guy Not Taken
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 468
Review Date: 1/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I never read any of Jennifer Weiner's works before this book, but I loved The Guy Not Taken! I normally don't like "chick lit," but Weiner has such a compelling and interesting way of drawing you into the lives of her characters. She really is a talented writer. I enjoyed every minute of this collection of short stories.


The Haunted: The True Story of One Family's Nightmare
The Haunted: The True Story of One Family's Nightmare
Author: Robert Curran, Lorraine Warren, Ed Warren
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/15/2010


I'm not sure that I totally buy all of the stories told in this book, but regardless, these stories were pretty terrifying and disturbing. I read this book so quickly, since I just couldn't stop turning the page to find out what happened next. I highly recommend it if you're interested in the paranormal.


Heart of the Trail: The Stories of Eight Wagon Train Women
Heart of the Trail: The Stories of Eight Wagon Train Women
Author: Mary Barmeyer O'Brien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book was a short, interesting, and educational read. I am fascinated by the past, and these short stories of eight different women who traveled west from the 1840s to the 1860s are amazing. The author did a great job of weaving in the actual words of the women with their photographs and interesting tidbits of their journeys.


Here's the Story: Surviving Marcia Brady and Finding My True Voice
Review Date: 1/8/2010


McCormick's life was certainly fascinating, but I wasn't too impressed by this book. I would have liked to read more about her days with The Brady Bunch, as most of the book focused on her life afterwards. Also, I had to remind myself that McCormick is an actress, not a writer. The writing wasn't always the best, and she included some scenes and details that I felt were unnecessary.


His Forever Love (Steeple Hill Love Inspired, No 498) (Larger Print)
His Forever Love (Steeple Hill Love Inspired, No 498) (Larger Print)
Author: Missy Tippens
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/10/2010


I don't normally read books like this, but I couldn't help but be enchanted by the characters and the town of Magnolia, GA. This is such a sweet story. I really enjoyed it!


Hour Game (Sean King & Michelle Maxwell, Bk 2)
Hour Game (Sean King & Michelle Maxwell, Bk 2)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 522
Review Date: 5/10/2007


I really liked this book. I was completely enthralled and couldn't put it down.


I Went to Vassar for This?
I Went to Vassar for This?
Author: Naomi Neale
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 10/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


If you don't take this book too seriously, it's really entertaining. It had plenty of laugh out loud moments and had a ton of current pop culture references. I really liked it, surprisingly.


If I Am Missing or Dead: A Sister's Story of Love, Murder, and Liberation
Review Date: 7/25/2007
Helpful Score: 8


To be honest, my jury's still out on this book. There is no doubt that the author is a great writer. She really pulled you onto the emotional rollercoaster that the sisters were on. The book was heartwarming in the sense that it showed a deep, loving relationship between two sisters. But what these sisters endured was also shocking and heartwrenching. It's a tearjerker. Ultimately, the book left me frustrated and saddened at what the two sisters went through.


Insight Compact Guide Costa Rica (Insight Compact Guides Costa Rica)
Review Date: 2/28/2007


This is a great, concise guide to Costa Rica. It's also small, so it's not a burden to travel with.


Ivy Briefs: True Tales of a Neurotic Law Student
Ivy Briefs: True Tales of a Neurotic Law Student
Author: Martha Kimes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/29/2012


As a law student, I found this a lot of this book to be terrifyingly (yet hilariously) true. From the infamous Gunner to obsessively checking grades to the fear of getting cold-called in class, Ivy Briefs captures law school as only a law student can. Though Kimes occasionally comes off as elitist and though not every law school is exactly the same, this book is still thoroughly entertaining. I've already recommended it to my fellow law school friends.


Jonathan Livingston Seagull
Jonathan Livingston Seagull
Author: Richard Bach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 5/13/2007


I didn't love this book as much as I thought I would, but it was still an enlightening and thought-provoking read.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5726
Review Date: 8/1/2007
Helpful Score: 7


I kept hearing good things about this book, and everyone kept telling me I would love it. They were right--The Kite Runner by far lived up to its reputation. The author's writing style is magical--he seamlessly takes you to another world, full of beauty, heartbreak, violence, and triumph. He also did a flawless job of helping the reader feel what the characters felt, whether it was guilt, happiness, or sadness. I couldn't put this book down. I absolutely loved it.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3381
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I LOVE this book! It's really a great book for all ages--good for children since it's a fun adventure and great for adults since you can really delve into the deeper meaning of the story. Life of Pi is one of my favorites. I recommended it to so many friends.


Little Children
Little Children
Author: Tom Perrotta
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 433
Review Date: 5/10/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This book was a good read. It was entertaining, funny, and heartbreaking all at the same time.


The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1047
Review Date: 12/10/2009
Helpful Score: 4


To be honest, I was a bit disappointed by The Lost Symbol. I read and loved both The Davinci Code and Angels & Demons, so I had high expectations for Dan Brown's latest book. However, I felt like the book lacked character development and originality. I probably would not recommend this book to others.


Love Walked In
Love Walked In
Author: Marisa de los Santos
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 974
Review Date: 2/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Marisa de los Santos really has a way with words. Her writing style is so unique and refreshing. That alone had me compelled by this book. But I was also drawn in by the story--you fall in love with the characters and can't seem to put this book down.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 5/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of my favorite books. The perspective (told in the POV of a girl who has been murdered and is looking down on earth from heaven) is so unique and refreshing. I was captivated by this book and couldn't put it down. I recommend it to everyone. Great, great, great read.


The New American Bartender's Guide
The New American Bartender's Guide
Author: John J. Poister
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/28/2007


This is a really good book with tons of recipes for alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. And it's organized by type of liquor, which is helpful.


21 to 40 of 74 - Page: