Georgia L. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
30-Minute Meals
30-Minute Meals
Author: Rachael Ray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 3/11/2011


Let me start off by saying that I enjoy watching Rachael Ray. However, this cookbook didn't impress me. The recipes have a lot of ingredients to buy. Secondly, I only found about six recipes that I liked but even those I already knew how to make. The last item of discontent was the font used for this cookbook. It is very tiny plus the font itself is unlike any I have seen before. It is pretty for a letter but not for a cookbook.


After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 2/5/2014


Very disappointed in this book. It is set up like an encyclopedia. If you like reading encyclopedias then you will probably enjoy it. As for me it was a complete waste of my time. Absolutely awful after all.


Ancient Egypt, Grades 4-6 (History Pockets)
Ancient Egypt, Grades 4-6 (History Pockets)
Author: Marc Tyler Nobleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/3/2009


Great book! Contains detailed information about Ancient Egypt in concise, easy to find pages. Your students will LOVE all of the hands-on activities and learn at the same time.


Becoming a Woman of Prayer: A Bible Study
Becoming a Woman of Prayer: A Bible Study
Author: Cynthia Heald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/7/2013
Helpful Score: 3


I just finished a bible study using this book. The author has wonderful insight on prayer. It strengthened my prayers in content and frequency.


Blink
Blink
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 9/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first Ted Dekker book that I have read. WOW! Loved the storyline, loved the character development, etc. Gives one insight into the life of women in Saudia Arabia. Makes me very thankful to live in the United States.


Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 549
Review Date: 11/1/2015


I need to start off by saying I have enjoyed other books by Kate Atkinson and I am use to her writing style. However, I could not get into this book. I started it several times and just had to stop.


Deep Dish
Deep Dish
Author: Mary Kay Andrews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 8/16/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I could not get interested in this book. The premise was cute but I grew tired of the whining main character. All I wanted to do was yell at her to grow up!! I'm setting this book aside for now and moving on to reading something else--not sure if I will pick it back up again.


The Last Boyfriend (Inn BoonsBoro, Bk 2)
The Last Boyfriend (Inn BoonsBoro, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 237
Review Date: 2/5/2014


I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I read it in one day. The storyline is believable and the characters are developed further. There were some moments that I laughed at loud. I can not wait to read the last book because I really want to see what is going on in Ryder's head. He is so rude to Hope! When his Mom called him out on his rudeness it was so funny to see him squirm!


Magic Hour
Magic Hour
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 9/12/2013


Even though it was predictable in some places, still a beautiful story.


Mistakes that Worked: 40 Familiar Inventions and How They Came to Be
Review Date: 4/13/2010


I got this book for my daughter because she always feels bad about making mistakes. This book shows that sometimes mistakes results in a good thing. My reluctant reader loves this book.


The Next Always (Inn at Boonsboro Trilogy 1)
The Next Always (Inn at Boonsboro Trilogy 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/5/2014


Heartwarming story of a family rebuilding an inn. The Montgomery's (mom and three sons) are pouring their heart and soul into the restoration. Great story and I can not wait for the next book.


No One You Know
No One You Know
Author: Michelle Richmond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 12/22/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I picked up this book because of the math content but don't let that discourage you from reading this wonderful book. I couldn't put it down! It was well written and the characters had depth. Enjoyed it very much.


Raven Black (Shetland Island, Bk 1)
Raven Black (Shetland Island, Bk 1)
Author: Ann Cleeves
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/4/2011


WOW, this was a very good book. I discovered this book at the local library. Hadn't heard of Ann Cleeves but the cover just caught my attention. Usually I figure out "who did it" but I was completely wrong! Engaging author, I will definitely read the other books in this series!


Reptile (Eyewitness Books, No. 27)
Reptile (Eyewitness Books, No. 27)
Author: Colin Mccarthy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/22/2010


My daughter loves this book. It has a lot of information on various reptiles in an easy to read format. We have always enjoyed the Eyewitness Books.


Seize the Fire (Star Trek: Typhon Pact, Bk 2)
Seize the Fire (Star Trek: Typhon Pact, Bk 2)
Author: Michael A. Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/29/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I want to start off by saying that I have enjoyed the Titan series a lot. However, this book dragged for me. The plot was excellent and you learned more about the Gorn but it became tedious with details and dialogue. One hundred pages could of been easily cut from the book and still make a wonderful story. I felt that the author "had to have" a set number of pages much like in school when you were required to write an essay with so many words or pages. Will this stop me from reading the other books in the series? NO! But I hope the other authors treat their story with quality not quantity!


Sink Trap (Georgiana Neverall, Bk 1)
Sink Trap (Georgiana Neverall, Bk 1)
Author: Christy Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 12/22/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Quick read which I thouroughly enjoyed. The relationship between Georgiana and her mother kept me laughing. I will probably get the second book.


Star Trek: Voyager: The Eternal Tide
Star Trek: Voyager: The Eternal Tide
Author: Kirsten Beyer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/5/2014


She's back!


Stolen (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 2)
Stolen (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 2)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 641
Review Date: 6/22/2010


A great follow-up to Ms. Armstrong's first book "Bitten". I enjoyed this one too. Some parts did drag a bit but it didn't stop me from reading the book. I wanted to know how it would end. Ready for the next book!


The Three Weissmanns of Westport
The Three Weissmanns of Westport
Author: Cathleen Schine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 2/6/2013


This book was depressing and boring.


Titan, Book One : Taking Wing (Star Trek: The Next Generation)
Review Date: 8/19/2009


This is by far my favorite Star Trek series. Finally Riker is captain of his own ship...with Troi by his side. I do not want to go into too much detail because I do not want to give away parts of the book (and I hate reviewers that do). If you loved "Star Trek: The Next Generation" then you MUST read this series. Well at least read this book, the characters are rich, the plot fantastic, you will not be disappointed.


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: