Facebook

crackabook - Reviews

1 to 20 of 44 - Page:
American Prometheus : The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer
Review Date: 2/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book very informative concerning all aspects of Robert Oppenheimer from birth to his lead roll of involvement with the atomic bomb and his anti-nuclear stance just after the creation of it. A wonderfully written history of the era/circumstances that has lead mankind to the opening of this "Pandora's Box", use of the atomic bomb, Nuclear Regulatory Commition, NATO, and more. Many interesting points are covered on the pre and post war era of communism in this country that I found fascinating. I also found my self wondering why would a person of such intellect as Oppenheimer have been involved in communism (which is answered nicely), however, the reader comes to realize the ideals of the movement 60-70 years ago were seemingly different then what they evolved into. You will enjoy the effort this takes to read.


Are Universes Thicker Than Blackberries?: Discourses on Godel, Magic Hexagrams, Little Red Riding Hood, and Other Mathematical and Pseudoscientific Topics
Review Date: 12/31/2008


Not what I thought it would be about. I found the essays boring and old news. I was hoping it was about science theories, however, it was about the author page after page trying to let the reader know how he see the topic. A real ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ for me.


The Bluest Eye
The Bluest Eye
Author: Toni Morrison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 2/13/2008


Some may enjoy this one. I have no comment. Not my cup of tea, I stopped reading.


Call It Sleep
Call It Sleep
Author: Henry Roth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/5/2008
Helpful Score: 3


The author writes in the tongue of the people he is letting us look at. The turn of the century time when we are lead to believe of a easier by gone time, however, not in this telling. Reading this book was like watching a train wreck so horrible that you could not stand to see it but were unable to turn away. I became emotionally entwined with the young boy, hated his father, all the emotions a good read should bring out.


The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
Author: James McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 554
Review Date: 7/23/2007
Helpful Score: 14


An interesting read in the manner of how the author writes every other chapter in the voice of his mother. She is an non complicated person who against many odds manages to raise 12 children to responsible adulthood. Easy to read, a nice summer book.


Come to Think of It: Notes on the Turn of the Millennium
Come to Think of It: Notes on the Turn of the Millennium
Author: Daniel Schorr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/31/2008


Well written, the material is Daniel Schorr's commentaries from 1990 to 2006. I found that I did get restless while reading it which surprised me because I love to listen to him or NPR. I suppose it is because I prefer the here and now from him. If you have a need or desire to rethink the last 15 or so years in the news than this book is for you.


David Golder
David Golder
Author: Irene Nemirovsky, Sandra Smith (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/29/2010


The story opens with the word NO! An older Jewish man with the name of David Golder is the main character in this well written book by Irene Nemirovshy. (Never heard of her, neither did I until this book and WOW she is wonderful. She died in 1942 at the hands of the Germans at Auschwitz. From what I see from this book we lost a great author.) He is a wealthy business man whose family we come to know and the man whom you will come to feel sorry for. Fast paced, an easy read between heavy duty books. There is a part of all families in this raw depiction of life. You do not want to miss this one.


The Demon in the Freezer
The Demon in the Freezer
Author: Richard Preston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 3/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Once again Richard Preston takes on a subject and shakes our world of how safe we really are from what we thought was gone, small pocks. What crazy thoughts go through the minds of scientists? Why would they continue to keep this deadly virus alive and change it's DNA structure. Read the book and find out, you will not be disappointed.


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 2/12/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Erik Larson has written a very enlighting nonfiction about the first World's Fair held in the United States and the first serial killer that became known to the police. The author's story starts with the beginnings of bidding for the right to hold it in the city of Chicago to the closing day of the fair. While he does this he intertwines the thread of the first known serial killer in this country and how he feeds on the fair for his own sinister gain. This is done quite brilliantly by means of volleying the chapters. In addition, along the way, you pick up various tid bits of information about skeletons, view of doctors, sanitation and much more. Make time for this one, you will not be disappointed.


Dog Days: Dispatches from Bedlam Farm
Dog Days: Dispatches from Bedlam Farm
Author: Jon Katz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/31/2008


For all animal lovers. Very good read, easy...light hearted. From Elvis the bull to Clem the yellow lab you just get drawn in and wish to stay. Do not miss this one, I look forward to reading more of his books.


E=mc2: A Biography of the World's Most Famous Equation
E=mc2: A Biography of the World's Most Famous Equation
Author: David Bodanis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/31/2007
Helpful Score: 1


What a wonderful book for those of us who want to understand the equation but do not want to take a phyics course to do it. The author gives a informative back round of the beginnings of the concept to the ongoing understanding of it. Great read.


Falling Angel (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Falling Angel (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Author: Tracy Chevalier, Anne Twomey (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/5/2007


In January 1901, two families become inextricably linked when their daughters meet in a fashionable London cemetery. Separated bu spocial class as well as taste, the Waterhouses cling to traditions while the Colemans look ahead to a more modern society. As the girls grow up and the nation emerges from the shadows of oppressive Victorian values, one woman's bid for greater personal freedom....


The Fast Lane (NASCAR Racers, Bk 1)
The Fast Lane (NASCAR Racers, Bk 1)
Author: J. E. Bright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/11/2007


For all Nascar racers young and old.


French Lessons : Adventures with Knife, Fork, and Corkscrew
Review Date: 3/5/2007


Ranging far from his adopted Provence, Peter Mayle now travels to every corner of the country, armed with knife, fork and corkscrew. He takes us to tiny out of the way restaurants, local village markets, annual festivals, and blessed vineyards.


Frindle
Frindle
Author: Andrew Clements, Brian Selznick (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 3/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


My son really enjoyed reading this book and I did also. Funny and entertaining, gives insight as to how a word becomes commonly used.


The Glass Palace
The Glass Palace
Author: Amitav Ghosh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/12/2008


I started to read this book with great expectations, however, I confess I did not finish it. I stopped after the 3rd/4th chaper when the author felt the need to include sexually explicit contents. I truly wish it could be some how stated on the jacket cover that a writer included the use of such material so those of us who do not wish to read such content can chosse not to before buying/swapping a novel. Thus, I write this review for those who feel the way I do in and effort to help you and not to condemn those who choose to read it.


Haunted
Haunted
Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 8/19/2007


This book I did not read, however, a family member gave it to me to post. I understand it was a scary read.


The Hot Zone
The Hot Zone
Author: Richard Preston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 3/26/2007


A great read to be informed of just what really happens when there is a possible out break of a deadly virus. This true story helps us to realize that it could and did happen here in this country. I also recommend "Demon in the Freezer".


The Housekeeper and the Professor
The Housekeeper and the Professor
Author: Yoko Ogawa, Stephen Snyder (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 7/24/2010


Loved it!! Fast read, completed in less than a day and enjoyed every minute of it. A story of a wonderful friendship between three people with one renewing the friendship everyday...can't say more or it will give the book away, just take the chance and read it I am sure you will love it too.


I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being A Woman
I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being A Woman
Author: Nora Ephron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 376
Review Date: 12/31/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was a book I feel would have been better enjoyed if I had lived or live in NYC, however, the references to the changes that happen to our (women's) bodies while we age did give me a smile. There are other discussions of our purses, hair, clothing, and children. I do believe that a younger woman, under 40 would not really get it yet, but all of those 40 or older should crack a smile on some things. Easy to read, for a interim book before diving into something more meaty.


1 to 20 of 44 - Page: