Shawna N. (momiitz) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Anti-Bride Guide: Tying the Knot Outside of the Box
Anti-Bride Guide: Tying the Knot Outside of the Box
Author: Carolyn Gerin, Stephanie Rosenbaum
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 6/18/2009


I got this book when I got married two years ago. It has some excellent suggestions and ideas for all sorts of weddings.


The Backpacker's Handbook
The Backpacker's Handbook
Author: Chris Townsend
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/18/2010


I learned a lot from this book. I have never done any backpacking but had thought I would love to try it. I was looking for a good camping and packing book. Although the gear recommendations may be out of date the brands are not. This book has a wealth of information on the types of gear needed for the different types of backpacking and camping trips you might take. If you are new to backpacking I would recommend this as a good informative first read. I look forward to reading more from this author.


Beautiful Easy Herbs: How to Get the Most from Herbs - In Your Garden and in Your Home
Review Date: 5/20/2009


This book is a great guide for someone just starting out in gardening. It take you from preparing the soil to how to use the herbs you grow. It has lots of good pictures of the herbs and recipes.


Business Black Belt
Business Black Belt
Author: Burke Franklin, Burke Franklin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/29/2009


I thought by the title and the description of the book that it was about running a martial arts school. This is not so. It is a book about how to run a business with the principles he learned from taekwondo lessons. He does talk a lot about himself but it worth reading once for the information. The book does have overtones of you can't run a business properly without a computer and software and he has business software for sale. The last pages of the book are his infomercial for his software. I am glad I did not spend money on this book. I personally think that his lessons are a great starting point if you are looking for information on how to start a small business.


Clark Howard's Consumer Survival Kit (Clark Howard's Consumer Survival Kit)
Review Date: 4/18/2010


I am a big Dave Ramsey fan and my mom introduced me to the Clark Howard radio show. I really like Clark Howard. He has great information on how to save money and how not to get ripped off. He is a great consumer advocate. This book had a lot of information that is timeless. The savings information is still very relevant. I disagree with Clark Howard on one thing...I will never use a credit card again nor will I ever have a car payment again. Cash is king.


Dear Playboy Advisor: Questions from Men and Women to the Advice Column of Playboy Magazine
Review Date: 8/23/2010


I have had a subscription to playboy magazine for over 10 years. The playboy advisor is one of my favorite features. The book was more of the same. The book was a great read and informative. The questions are split up into categories and encompassed many years of their best questions.


Financial Peace: Restoring Financial Hope to You and Your Family
Financial Peace: Restoring Financial Hope to You and Your Family
Author: Dave Ramsey
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/19/2009


This is a great book. I did like the Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey better. This is a no nonsense, no gimmick, book with simple steps on how to get out of debt and stay out of debt. This book also tells the financial story of Dave Ramsey. He went into debt and then bankruptcy about 20 years ago and now he lives debt free.

The baby steps are simple, here is a glimpse of them:

Step 1: Save $1000 as a mini emergency fund
Step 2: List your debts smallest to largest (except for the mortgage) and pay minimums on all but the first one, pay as much extra on the first one until it is paid off. Take all that extra and the minimum of the first debt and start on the second debt. Do this until all the debts are paid off.
Step 3: Finish your emergency fund of 3 to 6 months of expenses.
Steps 4,5, and 6 you do together.
Step 4: Start retirement savings.
Step 5: Start college funds for the kids (if applicable)
Step 6: Pay off the house early.
Step 7: Get wealthy.

The book has a lot more information but this is just the basics. My husband and I have followed the Dave Ramsey plan for two years and we are almost done with step 2. This program has helped my relationship with my husband because we communicate more about money and other aspects of our lives. Anyone can do this plan. Don't let everyone tell you that debt is a part of life. It does not have to be.


Fodor's Walt Disney World® with Kids 2009: with Universal Orlando and SeaWorld (Special-Interest Titles)
Review Date: 12/8/2010


I got this book to help plan our Disney trip that we took in November 2010. I have a 9 year old and a 3 year old. This book was very helpful in choosing which rides were good for the whole family and which ones would be better for just the older one. The book rates each rides scare factor. The book is well written and has lots of tips on traveling around the parks with kids.


Getting Hitched Without a Hitch: How to Plan your Dream Wedding in the Real World
Review Date: 4/18/2010


I found this book when I got engaged and realized we would be on a shoestring budget. This book had really good information on how to have a really nice wedding without a huge bill. Their were great tips on how to get a dress for less, how to negotiate with caterers, photographers, etc. It had good information on how to avoid the most common wedding ripoffs and shady business practices. It is a great book if you are engaged and have a limited budget.


The Laptop Lunch User's Guide: Fresh Ideas for Making Wholesome, Earth-friendly Lunches Your Kids Will Love
Review Date: 8/12/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This book comes with every Laptop Lunch box that you buy. It does have some good recipes if you do not have picky eaters. When I ordered it I thought I was getting a lunch box recipe book. Instead I felt I got more of a how to pack a lunch without waste and an advertisement to buy the lunch box. It is a great idea though. I did end up buying a laptop lunch box for myself and my second grader. Hopefully it will keep us more organized than we use to be. It's a good informational book and it does have a good recipe section. It is worth a look.


The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing
Review Date: 2/1/2015
Helpful Score: 6


I got the audio version of this book thru my library. I listened to it twice it was so good. It starts out a little slow with the author talking about her childhood and obsession with tidying.

Her philosophy is very different from the mainstream and is insightful and wonderful. Start with getting rid of everything you do not love or does not bring you joy. Instead of working from room to room, she has you gather everything in one category. She starts with clothes, then books, then papers...etc. I cannot remember all of them.

Her methods are simple but very effective. I have already got rid of all the clothes I was hanging on to that honestly I was never going to wear again. She has a chapter on folding clothes properly. I am now excited to fold my laundry and do it willingly because Marie's folding method makes it fun.

I am going to gather all of my books and sort those next.


The Lunchbox Book
The Lunchbox Book
Author: Penny Stanway, Sara Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/19/2011


This book has some good recipes for non traditional lunches. It has options for both meat eaters and vegetarians. Some of the recipes include; bean & feta falafel, mini pasta salad, chicken wrap, cheese and oatmeal rolls, and oat and apple muffins. The book is easy to follow and the recipes are pretty easy to make with mostly ingredients you have on hand or can get at the grocery store.


Pillsbury Classic Cookbook Grilling, Picnics & Camping #207
Review Date: 5/1/2013


When I received this book it looked a little slim. It's one of those little cookbooks that you find at the grocery store checkout line.

It has some good recipe ideas. There are three recipe categories; grilling, picnics, and camping. I was looking for camping recipes mostly. It has some really good camping recipes. Of course the first recipe in the camping section is for s'mores. They have lots of s'mores recipe variations that I never thought to do. Such as peanut butter s'mores substituting chocolate covered peanut butter cups for the candy bar and scotchie s'mores substituting chocolate graham crackers for regular graham crackers and drizzle butterscotch ice cream toppings over the candy bars before adding the marshmallows.

Some of the other camping recipes include choco cherry toasted treats, peanut butter banana boats, cinnamon swirls, granola griddlecakes, chicken and noodles supper, apple packets, and chili. These recipes would not be good for backpack camping. We mostly do car camping so these recipes are perfect for us.

The other two sections grilling and picnics have some really good recipes as well. Some of the grilling recipes include beef and shrimp kebabs, sausage and garlic bread kebabs, honey maple porkchops, sweet and sassy ribs, old-fashioned brats in beer, lemon rosemary salmon, and grilled herb and cheese pizza. That is just a few recipes in that section.

In the picnic recipe section, the recipes include apricot glazed chicken, Parmesan cheese loaf, marinated antipasto tray, berry fizz punch, orange chocolate cake, hot ham and cheese subs, Summer fruit slaw, speedy baked beans, and caramelicious brownies.

It will take me a while to work through all the recipes but I am looking forward to trying many of them.


Tiptionary
Tiptionary
Author: Mary Hunt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 3/19/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This book has some great tips on saving money. Some of the tips were things I knew like when your kids want a new video game rent it first to see if they will really like and play it. But a lot of the tips were new to me. Like where to buy replacement pieces for board games and how to make sidewalk chalk. The book has many categories; family, food, home, money & finance, and travel & auto. I felt I learned some great money saving tips from Mary's book.


1 to 14 of 14