Jennifer S. (jenptcfan) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 40 - Page:
At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 690
Review Date: 10/5/2005


This is the first book in a very heartwarming series.


Babyhood
Babyhood
Author: Paul Reiser
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 10/1/2006


Funny and touching memoir about becoming a first time parent.


Bee Season
Bee Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 5/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting book. More and more information about each character seeps out in each chapter. They all have secrets they're keeping from one another.


Behaving Like Adults : A Novel
Behaving Like Adults : A Novel
Author: Anna Maxted
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 8/27/2005


I read this book with high hopes after enjoying another of Anna Maxted's books. It was OK, but not funny like the "Getting Over It"


Bitterroot Landing
Bitterroot Landing
Author: Sheri Reynolds
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/3/2005
Helpful Score: 2


I became a big fan of Sheri Reynolds after reading The Rapture of Canaan, so when I found this book I was eager to read it. It left me disappointed and disgusted at times. It's a quick, easy read, but in the end I felt like reading it was a total waste of time.


Boy-Crazy Stacey (Baby-Sitters Club, Bk #8)
Boy-Crazy Stacey (Baby-Sitters Club, Bk #8)
Author: Ann M. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/25/2006


I loved Baby Sitters Club books when I was young.


The Bridges of Madison County
The Bridges of Madison County
Author: Robert James Waller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 797
Review Date: 10/5/2005


This book was so powerful that I continued thinking about it and mourning for the characters for days after I had finished it. It was hard to believe that it was only fiction.


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1953
Review Date: 9/6/2005


This is a story of one little boy's survival and triumph over his abusive mother and his passive father.


A Confederacy of Dunces
A Confederacy of Dunces
Author: John Kennedy Toole
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 596
Review Date: 9/24/2006


I couldn't get into this book. Parts of it were funny, but not funny enough to make up for how obnoxious the characters were.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4423
Review Date: 12/13/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I had heard a lot of hype about this book. Maybe I went into it with my expectations too high, but I didn't like it that much.


Daughter of Fortune
Daughter of Fortune
Author: Isabel Allende, Margaret Sayers Peden (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 8/16/2005


It took me awhile to get into this book, but it was decent. It's not my favorite book ever, but if you're interested in California in this time period, it will be interesting to you.


The Drowning Season
The Drowning Season
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 11/17/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Not as good as I thought it was going to be. I expected more lighthearted moments. The book just doesn't flow well.


The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing
The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing
Author: Melissa Bank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 618
Review Date: 11/9/2005


Funny and interestingly written.


Harriet the Spy
Harriet the Spy
Author: Louise Fitzhugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/15/2005


I loved this book when I was young.


Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, Bk 5)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, Bk 5)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1343
Review Date: 8/26/2005
Helpful Score: 1


This is possibly the best in the Harry Potter series to date.


The Joy Luck Club
The Joy Luck Club
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 925
Review Date: 8/15/2005


I like Amy Tan's writing. It's not the best book I've ever read from her, but it's pretty good.


Just In Case You Ever Wonder
Just In Case You Ever Wonder
Author: Max Lucado, Rosanne Kaloustian (Illustrator)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/25/2006


Max Lucado is the best.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 9/8/2005


I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. This has been moved into my list of all time favorites.


Lady: My Life as a Bitch
Lady: My Life as a Bitch
Author: Melvin Burgess
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/24/2006


I really didn't enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. As a dog lover,I liked the concept of it, but I just didn't really get into it.

I guess I hoped for the author to give more of a variety of things a dog might be thinking, but he seemed to just harp on the same things over and over again. It got a little old.


A Light in the Window (Mitford Years, Bk 2)
A Light in the Window (Mitford Years, Bk 2)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 493
Review Date: 10/5/2005


The second book in the Bestselling Mitford Series.


1 to 20 of 40 - Page: